2024 Presidential Primaries,
Caucuses, and Conventions
Major Events
Chronologically

Subscribe to iCalendar Feed

Donkey and Elephant Democratic
Convention

*Monday 19 August - Thursday 22 August 2024: 49th Democratic National Convention
Republican
Convention

*Wednesday 23 August 2023: 1st Debate: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
*Wednesday 27 September 2023: 2nd Debate: Simi Valley, California
*Wednesday 8 November 2023: 3rd Debate: Miami, Florida
*Wednesday 6 December 2023: 4th Debate: Tuscaloosa, Alabama
*Monday 15 July - Thursday 18 July 2024: 43rd Republican National Convention
Monday 15 January 2024 *Iowa Precinct Caucuses
Tuesday 23 January 2024*New Hampshire Non Binding Advisory Primary1*New Hampshire Primary
Saturday 3 February 2024*South Carolina Primary1 
Tuesday 6 February 2024*Nevada Primary1 
Thursday 8 February 2024 *Nevada Precinct Caucuses
*Virgin Islands Territorial Caucus
Saturday 24 February 2024 *South Carolina Primary
Tuesday 27 February 2024*Michigan Primary1*Michigan state run Primary
Friday 1 March - Sunday 3 March 2024 *District of Columbia Party-run Primary
Saturday 2 March 2024 *Idaho Presidential Preference Caucus
*Michigan State Convention
Monday 4 March 2024 *North Dakota Presidential Preference Caucus
Tuesday 5 March 2024*Alabama Primary1
*Arkansas Primary1
*American Samoa Territorial Caucus1
*California Primary1
*Colorado Primary1
*Iowa President Preference Cards (Party run Primary)1
*Massachusetts Primary1
*Maine Primary1
*Minnesota Primary1
*North Carolina Primary1
*Oklahoma Primary1
*Tennessee Primary1
*Texas Primary1
*Utah Primary and neighborhood caucuses1
*Virginia Primary1
*Vermont Primary1
*Alaska Presidential Preference Caucus (Party run primary)
*Alabama Primary
*Arkansas Primary
*California Primary
*Colorado Primary
*Massachusetts Primary
*Maine Primary
*Minnesota Primary
*North Carolina Primary
*Oklahoma Primary
*Tennessee Primary
*Texas Primary
*Utah Precinct Caucuses
*Virginia Primary
*Vermont Primary
Tuesday 5 March - Tuesday 12 March 2024*Democrats Abroad Global Party Run Primary1
*Northern Marianas Party-run Primary1
 
Wednesday 6 March 2024*Hawaii Caucus1 
Friday 8 March 2024 *American Samoa Territorial Caucus
Tuesday 12 March 2024*Georgia Primary1
*Mississippi Primary1
*Washington Primary1
*Georgia Primary
*Hawaii Precinct Caucuses
*Mississippi Primary
*Washington Primary
Friday 15 March 2024 *Northern Marianas Commonwealth Convention
Saturday 16 March 2024 *Guam Territorial Convention
Tuesday 19 March 2024*Arizona Primary1
*Florida Primary (cancelled because uncontested)1
*Illinois Primary1
*Kansas Primary1
*Ohio Primary1
*Arizona Primary
*Florida Primary
*Illinois Primary
*Kansas Primary
*Ohio Primary
Saturday 23 March 2024*Louisiana Primary1
*Missouri Party-run Primary1
*Louisiana Primary
Saturday 30 March 2024*North Dakota Party-Run Primary1 
Tuesday 2 April 2024*Connecticut Primary1
*Delaware Primary (cancelled because uncontested)1
*New York Primary1
*Rhode Island Primary1
*Wisconsin Primary1
*Connecticut Primary
*Delaware Primary (cancelled because uncontested)
*New York Primary
*Rhode Island Primary
*Wisconsin Primary
Saturday 13 April 2024*Alaska Party-Run Primary / Tier 1 Caucuses1
*Wyoming Presidential Preference County Caucuses1
 
Thursday 18 April - Saturday 20 April 2024 *Wyoming State Convention
Sunday 21 April 2024 *Puerto Rico Primary
Tuesday 23 April 2024*Pennsylvania Primary1*Pennsylvania Primary
Sunday 28 April 2024*Puerto Rico Party-run Primary1 
Circa May 2024 (date not set) *South Dakota National Convention Delegate Selection Meeting
Wednesday 1 May 2024 *New Mexico State Convention
Saturday 4 May 2024 *Missouri State Convention
Tuesday 7 May 2024*Indiana Primary1*Indiana Primary
Tuesday 14 May 2024*Maryland Primary1
*Nebraska Primary1
*West Virginia Primary1
*Maryland Primary
*Nebraska Primary
*West Virginia Primary
Saturday 18 May 2024 *Montana Delegate Convention
Tuesday 21 May 2024*Kentucky Primary1
*Oregon Primary1
*Kentucky Primary
Thursday 23 May 2024*Idaho County Caucuses1 
Thursday 23 May - Saturday 25 May 2024 *Texas State Convention
Saturday 25 May 2024 *Oregon State Convention
Tuesday 4 June 2024*District of Columbia Primary1
*Montana Primary1
*New Jersey Primary1
*New Mexico Primary1
*South Dakota Primary1
*New Jersey Primary
Saturday 8 June 2024*Guam Caucus1
*Virgin Islands Party-run Primary1
 
 

* Major event or National Convention delegates allocated.
1 Democratic Party's "First Determining Step" of the delegate selection process.

 


  Election 2024 - Presidential Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
 
  Presidential Candidates  
 
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
  Poll Closing Times Chronologically   --   Poll Closing Times Alphabetically  
  Subscribe to iCalendar Feed  
 
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
  Weekly Delegate Distribution and Availability  
 
Delegate Counts
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Soft Summary   --   Republican Hard and Soft Summary  
Commentary: THE TIES THAT BIND-- OR DO THEY? or, Politicus Unbound
 
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  The Math Behind the Democratic Delegate Allocation   --   The Math Behind the Republican Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Timing Penalties and Bonuses   --   Republican Timing Penalties  
 
  Democratic Delegate Pledging and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
 
  Primaries at a Glance  
 
  Results Status and Date Retrieved  
....
  Estimating the Delegate Count  
....

 
Documentation
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Statutory Election Information of the Several states / Presidential Primary  
  Dates of PRESIDENTIAL PRIMARIES re: selection and/or allocation/distribution of Delegates to Major Party National Conventions  
 
  (download)