2024 Presidential Primaries,
Caucuses, and Conventions
Democratic "First Determining Step"
Chronologically

Subscribe to iCalendar Feed

Donkey and Elephant Democratic
Convention
Tuesday 23 January 2024*New Hampshire Non Binding Advisory Primary1
Saturday 3 February 2024*South Carolina Primary1
Tuesday 6 February 2024*Nevada Primary1
Tuesday 27 February 2024*Michigan Primary1
Tuesday 5 March 2024*Alabama Primary1
*Arkansas Primary1
*American Samoa Territorial Caucus1
*California Primary1
*Colorado Primary1
*Iowa President Preference Cards (Party run Primary)1
*Massachusetts Primary1
*Maine Primary1
*Minnesota Primary1
*North Carolina Primary1
*Oklahoma Primary1
*Tennessee Primary1
*Texas Primary1
*Utah Primary and neighborhood caucuses1
*Virginia Primary1
*Vermont Primary1
Tuesday 5 March - Tuesday 12 March 2024*Democrats Abroad Global Party Run Primary1
*Northern Marianas Party-run Primary1
Wednesday 6 March 2024*Hawaii Caucus1
Tuesday 12 March 2024*Georgia Primary1
*Mississippi Primary1
*Washington Primary1
Tuesday 19 March 2024*Arizona Primary1
*Florida Primary (cancelled because uncontested)1
*Illinois Primary1
*Kansas Primary1
*Ohio Primary1
Saturday 23 March 2024*Louisiana Primary1
*Missouri Party-run Primary1
Saturday 30 March 2024*North Dakota Party-Run Primary1
Tuesday 2 April 2024*Connecticut Primary1
*Delaware Primary (cancelled because uncontested)1
*New York Primary1
*Rhode Island Primary1
*Wisconsin Primary1
Saturday 13 April 2024*Alaska Party-Run Primary / Tier 1 Caucuses1
*Wyoming Presidential Preference County Caucuses1
Tuesday 23 April 2024*Pennsylvania Primary1
Sunday 28 April 2024*Puerto Rico Party-run Primary1
Tuesday 7 May 2024*Indiana Primary1
Tuesday 14 May 2024*Maryland Primary1
*Nebraska Primary1
*West Virginia Primary1
Tuesday 21 May 2024*Kentucky Primary1
*Oregon Primary1
Thursday 23 May 2024*Idaho County Caucuses1
Tuesday 4 June 2024*District of Columbia Primary1
*Montana Primary1
*New Jersey Primary1
*New Mexico Primary1
*South Dakota Primary1
Saturday 8 June 2024*Guam Caucus1
*Virgin Islands Party-run Primary1
 

* Major event or National Convention delegates allocated.
1 Democratic Party's "First Determining Step" of the delegate selection process.

 


  Election 2024 - Presidential Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
 
  Presidential Candidates  
 
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
  Poll Closing Times Chronologically   --   Poll Closing Times Alphabetically  
  Subscribe to iCalendar Feed  
 
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
  Weekly Delegate Distribution and Availability  
 
Delegate Counts
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Soft Summary   --   Republican Hard and Soft Summary  
Commentary: THE TIES THAT BIND-- OR DO THEY? or, Politicus Unbound
 
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  The Math Behind the Democratic Delegate Allocation   --   The Math Behind the Republican Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Timing Penalties and Bonuses   --   Republican Timing Penalties  
 
  Democratic Delegate Pledging and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
 
  Primaries at a Glance  
 
  Results Status and Date Retrieved  
....
  Estimating the Delegate Count  
....

 
Documentation
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Statutory Election Information of the Several states / Presidential Primary  
  Dates of PRESIDENTIAL PRIMARIES re: selection and/or allocation/distribution of Delegates to Major Party National Conventions  
 
  (download)