2004 Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates

  • Democratic jurisdictions are listed in chronological order according to their First Determining Step.
  • Republican jurisdictions are listed in chronological order according to the first Major Delegate Selection event.
  • The cumulative delegate counts reflect the total number of delegates assigned to the states whose process has begun.
  • The Connecticut Republicans, Florida Republicans, Mississippi Republicans, Puerto Rico Democrats, Puerto Rico Republicans, and South Dakota Republicans cancelled their normal process as the nomination was uncontested. The date of the first event is set to the date the process would have begun.
 
Donkey and Elephant Democratic Republican
Jurisdiction
(delegates)
Delegates
each Date
Cumulative
Delegates
Cumulative
Percent
Jurisdiction
(delegates)
Delegates
each Date
Cumulative
Delegates
Cumulative
Percent
Saturday 17 January 2004    South Carolina (46)46461.83%
Monday 19 January 2004Iowa (57)57571.32%Iowa (32)32783.11%
Tuesday 27 January 2004New Hampshire (27)27841.94%New Hampshire (32)321104.38%
Tuesday 3 February 2004Arizona (64),
Delaware (23),
Missouri (88),
New Mexico (37),
North Dakota (22),
Oklahoma (47),
South Carolina (55)
3364209.72%Missouri (57),
Oklahoma (41),
Wyoming (28)
1262369.41%
Friday 6 February 2004Democrats Abroad (9)94299.93%    
Saturday 7 February 2004Michigan (155),
Washington (95)
25067915.71%    
Sunday 8 February 2004Maine (35)3571416.52%    
Tuesday 10 February 2004Tennessee (85),
Virginia (98)
18389720.75%District of Columbia (19),
Tennessee (55)
7431012.36%
Saturday 14 February 2004District of Columbia (39),
Nevada (32)
7196822.40%    
Tuesday 17 February 2004Wisconsin (87)871,05524.41%Wisconsin (40)4035013.95%
Saturday 21 February 2004    Guam (9)935914.31%
Tuesday 24 February 2004Hawaii (29),
Idaho (23),
Utah (29)
811,13626.28%    
Saturday 28 February 2004    American Samoa (9),
Virgin Islands (9)
1837715.03%
Sunday 29 February 2004    Puerto Rico (23)2340015.94%
Monday 1 March 2004    Kansas (39)3943917.50%
Tuesday 2 March 2004California (441),
Connecticut (62),
Georgia (101),
Maryland (99),
Massachusetts (121),
Minnesota (86),
New York (284),
Ohio (159),
Rhode Island (32),
Vermont (22)
1,4072,54358.84%California (173),
Connecticut (30),
Georgia (69),
Maryland (39),
Massachusetts (44),
New York (102),
Ohio (91),
Rhode Island (21),
Vermont (18)
5871,02640.89%
Saturday 6 March 2004Wyoming (19)192,56259.28%    
Monday 8 March 2004American Samoa (6)62,56859.42%    
Tuesday 9 March 2004Florida (201),
Louisiana (72),
Mississippi (41),
Texas (232)
5463,11472.05%Florida (112),
Louisiana (45),
Mississippi (38),
Texas (138)
3331,35954.17%
Saturday 13 March 2004Kansas (41)413,15573.00%    
Tuesday 16 March 2004Illinois (186)1863,34177.30%Illinois (73)731,43257.07%
Saturday 20 March 2004Alaska (18)183,35977.72%North Carolina (67)671,49959.74%
Thursday 1 April 2004    North Dakota (26)261,52560.78%
Tuesday 13 April 2004Colorado (63)633,42279.18%    
Saturday 17 April 2004North Carolina (107),
Virgin Islands (6)
1133,53581.79%    
Saturday 24 April 2004Guam (5)53,54081.91%    
Tuesday 27 April 2004Pennsylvania (178)1783,71886.02%Pennsylvania (75)751,60063.77%
Thursday 29 April 2004    Nevada (33)331,63365.09%
Saturday 1 May 2004    Minnesota (41)411,67466.72%
Tuesday 4 May 2004Indiana (81)813,79987.90%Indiana (55)551,72968.91%
Friday 7 May 2004    Virginia (64)641,79371.46%
Saturday 8 May 2004    Arizona (52),
Utah (36)
881,88174.97%
Tuesday 11 May 2004Nebraska (31),
West Virginia (39)
703,86989.52%West Virginia (30)301,91176.17%
Friday 14 May 2004    Delaware (18)181,92976.88%
Saturday 15 May 2004    Maine (21)211,95077.72%
Tuesday 18 May 2004Arkansas (47),
Kentucky (57),
Oregon (59)
1634,03293.29%Arkansas (35),
Kentucky (46),
Oregon (31)
1122,06282.18%
Thursday 20 May 2004    Alaska (29)292,09183.34%
Friday 21 May 2004    Michigan (61)612,15285.77%
Saturday 22 May 2004    Colorado (50)502,20287.76%
Tuesday 25 May 2004    Idaho (32)322,23489.04%
Friday 28 May 2004    Washington (41)412,27590.67%
Tuesday 1 June 2004Alabama (62),
South Dakota (22)
844,11695.23%Alabama (48),
New Mexico (24),
South Dakota (27)
992,37494.62%
Friday 4 June 2004    Hawaii (20)202,39495.42%
Sunday 6 June 2004Puerto Rico (57)574,17396.55%    
Tuesday 8 June 2004Montana (21),
New Jersey (128)
1494,322100.00%New Jersey (52)522,44697.49%
Thursday 10 June 2004    Montana (28)282,47498.61%
Saturday 26 June 2004    Nebraska (35)352,509100.00%
July 2004Unassigned (0)       
 
 


  Election 2004 - Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
 
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Poll Closing Times  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
 
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
 
Delegate Counts
  State by State Summary  
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
 
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  Democratic Detailed Delegate Allocation   --   Republican Detailed Delegate Allocation  
 
  Democratic Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
 
  Primaries at a Glance  
 
Ballot Access
  Democratic Candidates   --   Republican Candidates  
 
Documentation
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
 
  Third Parties (Green, Libertarian, Reform)  


The Green Papers Home