The Green Papers
2004 Presidential Primaries, Caucuses, and Conventions
Copyright American Samoa Democrat
Presidential Nominating Process
Territorial Convention: Monday 8 March 20041
Delegate Votes
Hard TotalFloor Vote
Kerry, John F. 83.0%2.5  41.7%6.  100.0%
Kucinich, Dennis J. 17.0%0.5   8.3% 
Uncommitted 3.   50.0% 
Total 100.0%6.  100.0%6.  100.0%

States Chronologically   States Alphabetically     Democratic Convention     American Samoa Republican    
American Samoa Primaries for Statewide offices and Congress


American Samoa News Source:
Media source:

9 March 2004 update: USA Today and report that Kerry received 83% and Kucinich received 17% of the caucus vote.

Here's how we compute the delegate count (note that each of the 6 delegates casts of a delegate vote):

  1. A candidate must receive 15% or more of the total popular vote to qualify for delegates. Discard votes cast for those candidates who do not meet the threshold.
  2. Allocate Congressional District delegates from the qualified vote in each district. Allocate Pledged PLEO and At-Large delegates using the state-wide qualified vote.
  3. In each jurisdiction (CD and statewide):
    1. Total qualified vote = total votes cast for the qualifying candidates in the jurisdiction.
    2. Allocation = (delegates for the jurisdiction) (candidate's popular vote) (total qualified vote).
    3. Assign each candidate the WHOLE NUMBER of delegates.
    4. If delegates remain, allocate each of the remaining delegates to those candidates with the LARGEST REMAINDERS.




Monday 8 March 2004: A Territorial Convention made up of all interested voters meets to choose 6 of American Samoa's 12 delegates to the Democratic National Convention (together representing 3 pledged delegates of American Samoa's 6 total delegate votes at the National Convention).

  • "These 6 at-large delegates to the National Convention are elected in 'preference caucuses' at the Territorial Convention which allocate these delegates to the presidential contenders in a way which reflects the percentage of support for the candidates at the Territorial Convention- a mandatory 15 percent threshold being necessary in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates."
  • Each of these 6 Pledged delegates will only cast ½ (or .5) of a vote on the floor of the Democratic National Convention.

The remaining 6 delegates (representing American Samoa's remaining 3 delegate votes) are Unpledged PLEOs who will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

The 3 "Unpledged" votes are cast by 6 actual delegates as follows:

  • This territory's Democratic Member of Congress (Territorial Delegate Eni Faleomavaega) (=a non-voting Delegate in the House of Representatives); the territorial Delegate is an "Unpledged PLEO" and casts 1 delegate vote.
  • This territory's Democratic Governor (Governor Togiola Tulafono); the territorial Governor is an "Unpledged PLEO" and casts 1 delegate vote.
  • This territory's 4 Democratic National Committee members: each of these territorial DNC members casts ¼ vote (=.25 vote) apiece for a total of 1 delegate vote.

Delegation to the National Convention

American Samoa Delegation (as posted by, 4 July 2004)

Pledged District000
Pledged PLEO000
Pledged At-Large516
Total Pledged516
Alternate Pledged District000
Alternate Pledged PLEO000
Alternate Pledged At-Large112
Total Alternates112
Unpledged  6
Pages  1
Pledged At-LargeKucinichHon. Tenari FuimaonoPago Pago, AS
Pledged At-LargeKerryTherese HunkinPago Pago, AS
Pledged At-LargeKerryMarie Ma'oPago Pago, AS
Pledged At-LargeKerryBarry RosePago Pago, AS
Pledged At-LargeKerrySuavai TagaloaPago Pago, AS
Pledged At-LargeKerryOreta TogafauPago Pago, AS
Alternate Pledged At-LargeKucinichSalamo LaumoliPago Pago, AS
Alternate Pledged At-LargeKerryTumua Matu'uHouston, TX
Unpledged Congressman Hon. Eni FaleomavaegaWashington, DC
Unpledged DNC Member Deanna FuimaonoPago Pago, AS
Unpledged DNC Member Fagafaga LangkildePago Pago, AS
Unpledged DNC Member Clara ReidPago Pago, AS
Unpledged DNC Member
Delegation Chair
 Allimau ScanlanPago Pago, AS
Unpledged Governor Hon. Togiola TulafonoPago Pago, AS
Page Dennis FuimaonoPago Pago, AS

1 Democratic Party's "First Determining Step" of the delegate selection process.


  Election 2004 - Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Poll Closing Times  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
Delegate Counts
  State by State Summary  
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  Democratic Detailed Delegate Allocation   --   Republican Detailed Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
  Primaries at a Glance  
Ballot Access
  Democratic Candidates   --   Republican Candidates  
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Third Parties (Green, Libertarian, Reform)