The Green Papers
2004 Presidential Primaries, Caucuses, and Conventions
Copyright Mississippi Democrat
Presidential Nominating Process
Primary: Tuesday 9 March 20041
State Convention: Saturday 29 May 2004
Delegate Votes
Hard TotalFloor Vote
Kerry, John F.59,815   78.4%33.   80.5%40.   97.6%
Edwards, John5,582    7.3%  
Sharpton, Alfred C. "Al"3,933    5.2%  
Dean, Howard1,997    2.6%  
Clark, Wesley K.1,878    2.5%  
Uncommitted1,370    1.8%8.   19.5% 
Kucinich, Dennis J.768    1.0%  
Lieberman, Joe716    0.9%  
LaRouche, Lyndon H., Jr.239    0.3%  
(not voting)  1.    2.4%
Total76,298  100.0%41.  100.0%41.  100.0%

States Chronologically   States Alphabetically     Democratic Convention     Mississippi Republican    
Mississippi Primaries for Statewide offices and Congress


26 May 2004 Unpledged delegate preference update: Kerry: 3. Unpledged delegates appear in the "Soft Unpledged" column.

The Popular Vote above is based on official returns from the Mississippi Secretary of State for the 2 March Primary. CD results from a media source. This Presidential Primary coincides with a state/local primary. These coinciding primaries tend to have an impact upon voter turnout.Note: Carol Moseley Braun and Richard Gephardt withdrew from the primary.

Certified statewide results from an official source:

Results from a media source:

Here's how we compute the delegate count:

  1. A candidate must receive 15% or more of the total popular vote to qualify for delegates. Discard votes cast for those candidates who do not meet the threshold.
  2. Allocate Congressional District delegates from the qualified vote in each district. Allocate Pledged PLEO and At-Large delegates using the state-wide qualified vote.
  3. In each jurisdiction (CD and statewide):
    1. Total qualified vote = total votes cast for the qualifying candidates in the jurisdiction.
    2. Allocation = (delegates for the jurisdiction) (candidate's popular vote) (total qualified vote).
    3. Assign each candidate the WHOLE NUMBER of delegates.
    4. If delegates remain, allocate each of the remaining delegates to those candidates with the LARGEST REMAINDERS.




Tuesday 9 March 2004: 33 of 41 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders based on the results of the voting in today's Mississippi Presidential Primary. A mandatory 15 percent threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates at either the congressional district or statewide level.

  • 22 district delegates are to be allocated proportionally to presidential contenders based on the primary results in each of the State's 4 congressional districts.
    • CD 1: 5
    • CD 2: 7
    • CD 3: 5
    • CD 4: 5
  • In addition, 11 delegates are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary vote statewide.
    • 7 at-large National Convention delegates
    • 4 Pledged PLEOs

Saturday 29 May 2004 - State Convention

The remaining 8 National Convention delegates consist of

  • 7 Unpledged PLEO delegates:
    • 5 Democratic National Committee members
    • 2 Members of Congress (0 Senators and 2 Representatives)
    • 0 Governors
    • 0 Distinguished Party Leaders
  • 1 Unpledged "add-on" (selected by the State Convention).

These 8 delegates and will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

Delegation to the National Convention

Mississippi Delegation (as posted by, 4 July 2004)

Pledged District2222
Pledged PLEO44
Pledged At-Large77
Total Pledged3333
Alternate Pledged District55
Alternate Pledged PLEO00
Alternate Pledged At-Large11
Total Alternates66
Unpledged 8
Pages 2
Pledged District 1KerryGary BaileyTupelo, MS
Pledged District 1KerryHon. Leroy BrooksColumbus, MS
Pledged District 1KerryDavid DarwinCorinth, MS
Pledged District 1KerryMary GrahamHouston, MS
Pledged District 1KerryShirley PerryOxford, MS
Pledged District 2KerryCindy Ayers-ElliottJackson, MS
Pledged District 2KerryHon. Earle BanksJackson, MS
Pledged District 2KerryJessie BanksTchula, MS
Pledged District 2KerryBarbara BlackmonCanton, MS
Pledged District 2KerryMary Katherine BrownVicksburg, MS
Pledged District 2KerryHon. David JordanGreenwood, MS
Pledged District 2KerryCharles TillmanJackson, MS
Pledged District 3KerryMelba Baird ClarkMeridian, MS
Pledged District 3KerryHon. Darryl GrennellNatchez, MS
Pledged District 3KerryDeanna Sue LivingstonPearl, MS
Pledged District 3KerrySean PerkinsJackson, MS
Pledged District 3KerryBrad PigottJackson, MS
Pledged District 4KerryCurley ClarkPascagoula, MS
Pledged District 4KerryLarry ColemanEllisville, MS
Pledged District 4KerryEmily LinerBay St. Louis, MS
Pledged District 4KerrySheila MakiMoss Point, MS
Pledged District 4KerryHon. Omeria ScottLaurel, MS
Pledged PLEOKerryHon. Alice HardenJackson, MS
Pledged PLEOKerryHon. Jim HoodBrandon, MS
Pledged PLEOKerryHon. Sampson JacksonDeKalb, MS
Pledged PLEOKerryHon. Thomas ReynoldsWater Valley, MS
Pledged At-LargeKerryHon. Gary AndersonJackson, MS
Pledged At-LargeKerryZelma CarsonJackson, MS
Pledged At-LargeKerryMildred ConleyTunica, MS
Pledged At-LargeKerryKelly JacobsHernando, MS
Pledged At-LargeKerryKellie SanchezTupelo, MS
Pledged At-LargeKerryEmma SandersJackson, MS
Pledged At-LargeKerryLinda ShemperHattiesburg, MS
Alternate Pledged DistrictKerryHon. Cono CarannaBiloxi, MS
Alternate Pledged DistrictKerryVallena GreerJackson, MS
Alternate Pledged DistrictKerryMagers JaniceSaltillo, MS
Alternate Pledged DistrictKerryCarlos PalmerGreenwood, MS
Alternate Pledged DistrictKerryPeggy RogersStarkville, MS
Alternate Pledged At-LargeKerryWilliam ChandlerJackson, MS
Unpledged Add-on Melton HarrisPascagoula, MS
Unpledged Congressman Hon. Gene TaylorHattiesburg, MS
Unpledged Congressman
Delegation Chair
 Hon. Bennie ThompsonWashington, DC
Unpledged DNC Member Rickey ColeOvett, MS
Unpledged DNC Member Carnelia Pettis FondrenOxford, MS
Unpledged DNC Member Hon. Harvey JohnsonJackson, MS
Unpledged DNC Member Johnnie PattonJackson, MS
Unpledged DNC Member Hon. William WheelerGolden, MS
Page Jazmin GargoumJackson, MS
Page Joel SmithGulfport, MS

1 Democratic Party's "First Determining Step" of the delegate selection process.


  Election 2004 - Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Poll Closing Times  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
Delegate Counts
  State by State Summary  
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  Democratic Detailed Delegate Allocation   --   Republican Detailed Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
  Primaries at a Glance  
Ballot Access
  Democratic Candidates   --   Republican Candidates  
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Third Parties (Green, Libertarian, Reform)