The Green Papers
2004 Presidential Primaries, Caucuses, and Conventions
Copyright New Mexico Democrat
Presidential Nominating Process
Presidential Preference Caucus: Tuesday 3 February 20041
District Conventions: Saturday 17 April 2004
State Central Committee: Saturday 24 April 2004
Delegate Votes
Hard TotalFloor Vote
Kerry, John F.43,553   42.6%14.   37.8%37.  100.0%
Clark, Wesley K.20,883   20.4%8.   21.6% 
Dean, Howard16,747   16.4%4.   10.8% 
Edwards, John11,440   11.2%  
Kucinich, Dennis J.5,638    5.5%  
Lieberman, Joe2,578    2.5%  
Gephardt, Richard "Dick"653    0.6%  
Uncommitted479    0.5%11.   29.7% 
(write-in/others)176    0.2%  
Penna, Fern84    0.1%  
Total102,231  100.0%37.  100.0%37.  100.0%

States Chronologically   States Alphabetically     Democratic Convention     New Mexico Republican    
New Mexico Primaries for Statewide offices and Congress


NOTE: The 3 February 2004 NEW MEXICO Democratic National Convention delegate allocation event described, at the time, as a "Presidential Preference Caucus" has been seen, by many political observers after the fact, as having actually functioned as more like a Party-run Primary.

26 May 2004 Unpledged delegate preference update: Kerry: 3. Unpledged delegates appear in the "Soft Unpledged" column.

Results from a party source. Last updated 21 February 2004. The delegate count is computed as follows:

  1. A candidate must receive 15% or more of the total popular vote to qualify for delegates. Discard votes cast for those candidates who do not qualify.
  2. Allocate Congressional District delegates from the qualified vote in each district. Allocate Pledged PLEO and At-Large delegates using the state-wide qualified vote.
  3. In each jurisdiction (CD and statewide):
    1. Total qualified vote = total votes cast for the qualifying candidates in the jurisdiction.
    2. Allocation = (delegates for the jurisdiction) (candidate's popular vote) (total qualified vote).
    3. Assign each candidate the WHOLE NUMBER of delegates.
    4. If delegates remain, allocate each of the remaining delegates to those candidates with the LARGEST REMAINDERS.



Tuesday 3 February 2004: 26 of 37 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders based on the results of the voting in today's New Mexico Caucus. A mandatory 15 percent threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates at either the congressional district or statewide level. The caucuses are called to order at noon MST and adjourn at 7 PM MST.

  • 17 district delegates are to be allocated proportionally to presidential contenders based on the caucus results in each of the State's 3 congressional districts.
    • CD 1: 6
    • CD 2: 5
    • CD 3: 6
  • In addition, 9 delegates are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the caucus vote statewide.
    • 6 at-large National Convention delegates
    • 3 Pledged PLEOs

The State Chair shall notify each district chair by 13 February 2004 of the delegate allocation by presidential preference.


Saturday 17 April 2004 - District Conventions


Saturday 24 April 2004 - State Central Committee - election of unpledged delegates

The remaining 11 National Convention delegates consist of

  • 10 Unpledged PLEO delegates:
    • 6 Democratic National Committee members
    • 2 Members of Congress (1 Senator and 1 Representative)
    • 1 Governor
    • 1 Distinguished Party Leader
  • 1 Unpledged "add-on" (selected by the State Central Committee).

These 11 delegates and will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

Delegation to the National Convention

New Mexico Delegation (as posted by, 4 July 2004)

Pledged District521017
Pledged PLEO1113
Pledged At-Large2136
Total Pledged841426
Alternate Pledged District0033
Alternate Pledged PLEO0000
Alternate Pledged At-Large0011
Total Alternates0044
Unpledged   11
Pages   0
Pledged District 1KerryErnest ChavezAlbuquerque, NM
Pledged District 1ClarkBrian ColonAlbuquerque, NM
Pledged District 1ClarkKatherine DuffyAlbuquerque, NM
Pledged District 1KerryEric GriegoAlbuquerque, NM
Pledged District 1DeanHon. Danice PicrauxAlbuquerque, NM
Pledged District 1KerryChristine TrujilloAlbuquerque, NM
Pledged District 2KerryJudy BakerLas Cruces, NM
Pledged District 2KerryWilliam BarnhouseLa Union, NM
Pledged District 2ClarkJoshua DavisLas Cruces, NM
Pledged District 2KerryHon. Emma OrtizLas Cruces, NM
Pledged District 2KerryHon. J. Paul TaylorMesilla, NM
Pledged District 3KerryBrian EgolfSanta Fe, NM
Pledged District 3KerryHelen Laura LopezRancho de Taos, NM
Pledged District 3KerryHon. Ben LujanSanta Fe, NM
Pledged District 3DeanConny MakiSanta Fe, NM
Pledged District 3ClarkSamuel SandersSanta Fe, NM
Pledged District 3ClarkBarbara de WeeverSanta Fe, NM
Pledged PLEO
Delegation Chair
KerryHon. Diane DenishAlbuquerque, NM
Pledged PLEOClarkHon. Mary Jane GarciaDona Ana, NM
Pledged PLEODeanHon. Sheryl Williams StapletonAlbuquerque, NM
Pledged At-LargeDeanRamona BlaberSante Fe, NM
Pledged At-LargeKerryRosemary GibsonAlbuquerque, NM
Pledged At-LargeKerryIrvin HarrisonSante Fe, NM
Pledged At-LargeKerryGilbert LopezLas Vegas, NM
Pledged At-LargeClarkEdward RomeroAlbuquerque, NM
Pledged At-LargeClarkFrances WilliamsLas Cruces, NM
Alternate Pledged DistrictKerryRose PetersAlbuquerque, NM
Alternate Pledged DistrictKerryMaria SalazarSanta Fe, NM
Alternate Pledged DistrictKerryDuane YazzieShiprock, NM
Alternate Pledged At-LargeKerryBernard SanchezAlbuquerque, NM
Unpledged Add-on Hon. Martin ChavezAlbuquerque, NM
Unpledged Congressman Hon. Tom UdallWashington, DC
Unpledged Distinguished Party Leader Fred HarrisAlbuquerque, NM
Unpledged DNC Member George GillilandAlbuquerque, NM
Unpledged DNC Member Mary Gail GwaltneyLas Cruces, NM
Unpledged DNC Member Hon. Patricia MadridAlbuquerque, NM
Unpledged DNC Member Gloria NietoSanta Fe, NM
Unpledged DNC Member Bill RichardsonSanta Fe, NM
Unpledged DNC Member Annadelle SanchezEspanola, NM
Unpledged DNC Member John WertheimAlbuquerque, NM
Unpledged Senator Hon. Jeff BingamanWashington, DC

1 Democratic Party's "First Determining Step" of the delegate selection process.


  Election 2004 - Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Poll Closing Times  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
Delegate Counts
  State by State Summary  
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  Democratic Detailed Delegate Allocation   --   Republican Detailed Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
  Primaries at a Glance  
Ballot Access
  Democratic Candidates   --   Republican Candidates  
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Third Parties (Green, Libertarian, Reform)