The Green Papers
2004 Presidential Primaries, Caucuses, and Conventions
Copyright Guam Democrat
Presidential Nominating Process
Territorial Convention: Saturday 24 April 20041
Delegate Votes
Hard TotalFloor Vote
Kerry, John F.808   77.0%3.   60.0%5.  100.0%
(write-in/others)241   23.0%  
Uncommitted 2.   40.0% 
Total1,049  100.0%5.  100.0%5.  100.0%

States Chronologically   States Alphabetically     Democratic Convention     Guam Republican    
Guam Primaries for Statewide offices and Congress


19 March 2004 update: The date of the Territorial Convention was moved from 20 March to 24 April 2004.

Democratic Party Chairman Willy Flores stepped down 24 February 2004 after he was named as an "unindicted co-conspirator" in a scheme to fraudently obtain money from the Bank of Guam. Upon Flores resignation, Becky Lujan became acting chairperson. Mike Philips was elected to fill the Chairman postion at the 24 April 2004 Convention.

26 April 2004 update: Senator John Kerry received 77% of the vote at the Territorial Convention. Since no other preferences have reached the 15% threshold as prescribed by the Guam Delegate Selection Plan, all pledged delegates are awarded to Senator John Kerry of Massachusetts.

Media articles:
The official Guam Delegation to the 2004 Democratic National Convention
Mike Phillips voted as Democratic Party chairman
Democratic chairman Willy Flores resigns


Saturday 24 April 2004: A Territorial Convention made up of all interested voters meets to choose 6 of Guam's 11 delegates to the Democratic National Convention (together representing 3 of Guam's 5 delegate votes at the National Convention).

  • "These 6 at-large delegates to the National Convention are elected in 'preference caucuses' at the Territorial Convention. These delegates are allocated to the presidential contenders in a way which reflects the percentage of support for the candidates at the Territorial Convention- a mandatory 15 percent threshold being necessary in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates."
  • Each of these 6 pledged delegates will only cast ½ (or 0.5) of a vote on the floor of the Democratic National Convention.

The remaining 5 delegates (representing Guam's remaining 2 delegate votes) are Unpledged PLEOs who will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

  • This territory's Democratic Member of Congress (Territorial Delegate Madeleine Bordallo) (=a non-voting Delegate in the House of Representatives); the territorial Delegate is an "Unpledged PLEO" and casts 1 delegate vote.
  • This territory's 4 Democratic National Committee members: each of these territorial DNC members casts ¼ (=0.25 vote) apiece for a total of 1 delegate vote.

Delegation to the National Convention

Guam Delegation (as posted by, 4 July 2004)

Pledged District00
Pledged PLEO00
Pledged At-Large66
Total Pledged66
Alternate Pledged District00
Alternate Pledged PLEO00
Alternate Pledged At-Large11
Total Alternates11
Unpledged 5
Pages 1
Pledged At-LargeKerryPacita AguonHagatna, GU
Pledged At-LargeKerryJulita AlictoGMF, GU
Pledged At-LargeKerryHon. Jaime PaulinoInarajan, GU
Pledged At-LargeKerryTyrone TaitanoHagatna, GU
Pledged At-LargeKerryJohn TerlajeHagatna, GU
Pledged At-LargeKerryTherese TerlajeHagatna, GU
Alternate Pledged At-LargeKerryFrederick HoreckyHagatna, GU
Unpledged Congressman
Delegation Chair
 Hon. Madeleine BordalloWashington, DC
Unpledged DNC Member Benjamin J. F. CruzPiti, GU
Unpledged DNC Member Isabel S. A. LujanBarrigada, GU
Unpledged DNC Member Michael PhillipsHagatna, GU
Unpledged DNC Member Taling TaitanoBarrigada, GU
Page Chris DuenasHagatna, GU

1 Democratic Party's "First Determining Step" of the delegate selection process.


  Election 2004 - Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Poll Closing Times  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
Delegate Counts
  State by State Summary  
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  Democratic Detailed Delegate Allocation   --   Republican Detailed Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
  Primaries at a Glance  
Ballot Access
  Democratic Candidates   --   Republican Candidates  
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Third Parties (Green, Libertarian, Reform)