The Green Papers
2004 Presidential Primaries, Caucuses, and Conventions
Copyright Maine Democrat
Presidential Nominating Process
Municipal Caucuses: Sunday 8 February 20041
State Convention.: Saturday 22 May 2004
Delegate Votes
Hard TotalFloor Vote
Kerry, John F.1,580   47.1%11.   31.4%28.   80.0%
Dean, Howard911   27.1%7.   20.0% 
Kucinich, Dennis J.462   13.8%6.   17.1%6.   17.1%
Edwards, John236    7.0%  
Clark, Wesley K.122    3.6%  
Uncommitted41    1.2%11.   31.4% 
Sharpton, Alfred C. "Al"4    0.1%  
(write-in/others)2    0.1%  
Gephardt, Richard "Dick"   
Lieberman, Joe   
(not voting)  1.    2.9%
Total3,358  100.0%35.  100.0%35.  100.0%

States Chronologically   States Alphabetically     Democratic Convention     Maine Republican    
Maine Primaries for Statewide offices and Congress


26 May 2004 Unpledged delegate preference update: Kerry: 4. Unpledged delegates appear in the "Soft Unpledged" column.

22 May 2004 Unofficial vote tally at the State Convention: Kerry: 1033 (46%); Dean: 616 (28%); Kucinich: 587 (26%); Edwards: 7; Uncommitted: 5; Clark: 1.

Final delegate count from the Maine Democratic Party:


Precint caucus popular vote results from the Maine Democratic Party source. 99.6% of the delegates apportioned. Last updated 29 February 2004.
Results from a media source:
Results from a media source:

CandidateTotal Caucus
State Convention



Sunday 8 February 2004: The Municipal Caucuses choose delegates to the State Convention. Such Municipal delegates are allocated to presidential contenders in proportion to the percentage of the support each candidate receives at the Municipal Caucus.

Municipal Caucuses will determine the apportionment of delegates to the State Convention based on declared presidential preference. The apportionment of delegates to the National Convention will be determined by presidential preference groups in attendance at the State Convention.


Saturday 22 May 2004 - State Convention. 24 of 35 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders based on the presidential preference of the delegates in attendance at the State Convention. A mandatory 15 percent threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates at either the congressional district or statewide level.

  • 16 district delegates are to be allocated proportionally based on the delegates presidential preferences in each of the State's 2 congressional districts.
    • CD 1: 8
    • CD 2: 8
  • In addition, 8 delegates are to be allocated to presidential contenders based the support for the presidential contenders in the State Convention as a whole.
    • 5 at-large National Convention delegates
    • 3 Pledged PLEOs

The remaining 11 National Convention delegates consist of

  • 10 Unpledged PLEO delegates:
    • 5 Democratic National Committee members
    • 2 Members of Congress (0 Senators and 2 Representatives)
    • 1 Governor
    • 2 Distinguished Party Leaders (former Senate Majority Leader George Mitchell; former DNC Chairman Kenneth Curtis)
  • 1 Unpledged "add-on" (selected during the State Convention).

These 11 delegates and will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

Delegation to the National Convention

Maine Delegation (as posted by, 4 July 2004)

Pledged District48416
Pledged PLEO1113
Pledged At-Large2215
Total Pledged711624
Alternate Pledged District1203
Alternate Pledged PLEO0000
Alternate Pledged At-Large0011
Total Alternates1214
Unpledged   11
Pages   2
Pledged District 1KucinichLu BauerWindham, ME
Pledged District 1KerryCarla BrysonPortland, ME
Pledged District 1KucinichPaul CunninghamS. Portland, ME
Pledged District 1DeanMelanie DeesPortland, ME
Pledged District 1KerryJill DusonPortland, ME
Pledged District 1KerryNeil JamiesonScarborough, ME
Pledged District 1DeanMichael MacLeod-BallKennebunkport, ME
Pledged District 1KerryMark OuelletteScarborough, ME
Pledged District 2KerryHon. Mary CathcartOrono, ME
Pledged District 2KerryLeslie HarlowSullivan, ME
Pledged District 2KerryBruce KingBradley, ME
Pledged District 2DeanJim MartinOrono, ME
Pledged District 2DeanRoxanne MunksgaardBangor, ME
Pledged District 2KucinichCheryl NealeBangor, ME
Pledged District 2KucinichScott RuffnerBangor, ME
Pledged District 2KerryHon. Sam ShapiroWaterville, ME
Pledged PLEOKucinichShlomit AucielloWarren, ME
Pledged PLEODeanEd DesgrosseilliersAuburn, ME
Pledged PLEOKerryHon. Steve RowePortland, ME
Pledged At-LargeKucinichEd CohenWaterville, ME
Pledged At-LargeDeanElizabeth EhrenfeldFalmouth, ME
Pledged At-LargeKerryBetty JohnsonLincolnville, ME
Pledged At-LargeKerryHon. Elaine MakasLewiston, ME
Pledged At-LargeDeanAlison SmithPortland, ME
Alternate Pledged DistrictKerryMaggie AllenBath, ME
Alternate Pledged DistrictKerryMichael BroderickBethel, ME
Alternate Pledged DistrictDeanRobert O'BrienPeaks Island, ME
Alternate Pledged At-LargeKucinichGulley DunlapSurry, ME
Unpledged Add-on Jennifer DeChantBath, ME
Unpledged Congressman Hon. Thomas AllenPortland, ME
Unpledged Congressman Hon. Mike MichaudWashington, DC
Unpledged Distinguished Party Leader Hon. Kenneth CurtisPortland, ME
Unpledged Distinguished Party Leader Hon. George MitchellWashington, DC
Unpledged DNC Member William BryanBowdoinham, ME
Unpledged DNC Member David GarrityPortland, ME
Unpledged DNC Member Hon. Dale McCormickAugusta, ME
Unpledged DNC Member
Delegation Chair
 Dorothy MelansonFalmouth, ME
Unpledged DNC Member Gwethalyn PhillipsBangor, ME
Unpledged Governor Hon. John BaldacciAugusta, ME
Page John HennesseyPortland, ME
Page Karen SudbayPortland, ME

1 Democratic Party's "First Determining Step" of the delegate selection process.


  Election 2004 - Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Poll Closing Times  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
Delegate Counts
  State by State Summary  
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  Democratic Detailed Delegate Allocation   --   Republican Detailed Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
  Primaries at a Glance  
Ballot Access
  Democratic Candidates   --   Republican Candidates  
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Third Parties (Green, Libertarian, Reform)