2004 Presidential Primaries,
Caucuses, and Conventions
Democratic "First Determining Step"

Donkey and Elephant Democratic
Monday 19 January 2004*Iowa Caucus1 
Tuesday 27 January 2004*New Hampshire Primary1 
Tuesday 3 February 2004*Arizona Primary1
*Delaware Primary1
*Missouri Primary1
*New Mexico Presidential Preference Caucus1
*North Dakota Precinct Caucuses1
*Oklahoma Primary1
*South Carolina Party-run Primary1
Friday 6 February - Monday 9 February 2004*Democrats Abroad Local Caucuses1 
Saturday 7 February 2004*Washington Precinct Caucuses1
*Michigan Party-run Primary1
Sunday 8 February 2004*Maine Municipal Caucuses1 
Tuesday 10 February 2004*Tennessee Primary1
*Virginia Primary1
Saturday 14 February 2004*District of Columbia Ward Caucus1
*Nevada Precinct Caucuses1
Tuesday 17 February 2004*Wisconsin Primary1 
Tuesday 24 February 2004*Hawaii Precinct Caucus1
*Idaho County Caucus1
*Utah Party Run Primary1
Tuesday 2 March 2004*California Primary1
*Connecticut Primary1
*Georgia Primary1
*Maryland Primary1
*Massachusetts Primary1
*Minnesota Precinct Caucuses1
*New York Primary1
*Ohio Primary1
*Rhode Island Primary1
*Vermont Primary1
Saturday 6 March - Saturday 20 March 2004*Wyoming County Caucuses1 
Monday 8 March 2004*American Samoa Territorial Convention1 
Tuesday 9 March 2004*Florida Primary1
*Louisiana Primary1
*Mississippi Primary1
*Texas Primary1
Saturday 13 March 2004*Kansas Local Unit Caucuses1 
Tuesday 16 March 2004*Illinois Primary1 
Saturday 20 March 2004*Alaska Precinct Caucuses and District Caucuses1 
Tuesday 13 April 2004*Colorado Precinct Caucus1 
Saturday 17 April 2004*Virgin Islands Territorial Convention1
*North Carolina County Caucuses and Conventions1
Saturday 24 April 2004*Guam Territorial Convention1 
Tuesday 27 April 2004*Pennsylvania Primary1 
Tuesday 4 May 2004*Indiana Primary1 
Tuesday 11 May 2004*Nebraska Primary1
*West Virginia Primary1
Tuesday 18 May 2004*Arkansas Primary1
*Kentucky Primary1
*Oregon Primary1
Tuesday 1 June 2004*Alabama Primary1
*South Dakota Primary1
Sunday 6 June 2004Puerto Rico Caucus (cancelled)1 
Tuesday 8 June 2004*Montana Primary1
*New Jersey Primary1

* Major event or National Convention delegates allocated.
1 Democratic Party's "First Determining Step" of the delegate selection process.

Notes: Monday 1 March 2004: Democratic unpledged delegates are automatically selected.


  Election 2004 - Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Poll Closing Times  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
Delegate Counts
  State by State Summary  
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  Democratic Detailed Delegate Allocation   --   Republican Detailed Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
  Primaries at a Glance  
Ballot Access
  Democratic Candidates   --   Republican Candidates  
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Third Parties (Green, Libertarian, Reform)