The Green Papers
2004 Senatorial Primaries at a Glance


This "at a glance" look at the Senatorial Primary in each State simply lists the winner (and, in many cases, the candidate who came in second) in each Primary in chronological order.

boldface followed by (inc) indicates the incumbent

2004 Senatorial Primaries at a Glance
(Class 3 seats only)
Date State Democrat
     Winner % Second %      Winner % Second %
2 March California   Boxer (inc) U       Jones 45 Marin 20
Maryland   Mikulski (inc)         Pipkin N Stafford  
Ohio   Fingerhut L Dennerll     Voinovich (inc)      
9 March Mississippi                    
16 March Illinois   Obama D Hynes     Ryan 35 Oberweis 24
Ryan withdrew on 25 June
30 March Mississippi R         R        
13 April Texas R         R        
27 April Pennsylvania   Hoeffel U       Specter(inc) N Toomey  
4 May Indiana   Bayh(inc) U       Scott U    
11 May Nebraska                    
West Virginia                    
18 May Arkansas   Lincoln (inc)         Holt L Lee  
Kentucky   Mongiardo L Williams     Bunning (inc)      
Oregon   Wyden (inc) U       King 36 Broussard 22
25 May Idaho   (no candidate)   Crapo (inc) U    
1 June Alabama   Sowell C       Shelby (inc) U    
New Mexico                    
South Dakota   Daschle (inc) U       Thune U    
8 June Iowa   Small U       Grassley (inc) U    
New Jersey                    
North Dakota   Dorgan (inc) U       Liffrig U    
South Carolina   Tenenbaum         Advance to runoff: Beasley (37%) vs DeMint (26%)
22 June South Carolina R         R DeMint D Beasley  
Utah   Dam C       Bennett (inc) C    
29 June Alabama R         R        
20 July Georgia   Advance to runoff: Majette (41%) vs Oxford (21%)   Isakson D Cain  
North Carolina   Bowles P       Burr      
27 July Oklahoma   Carson         Coburn D Humphreys  
3 August Kansas   Conroy D Jones     Brownback (inc)      
Missouri   Farmer L Berry 19   Bond (inc)      
5 August Tennessee                    
10 August Colorado   Salazar L Miles     Coors D Schaffer  
Connecticut   Dodd (inc) C       Orchulli C    
Georgia R Majette D Cliff   R        
17 August North Carolina R         R        
24 August Alaska   Knowles         Murkowski (inc) D Miller  
Oklahoma R         R        
31 August Florida   Castor D Deutsch     Martinez 45 McCollum 31
7 September Arizona   Starky U       McCain (inc) U    
Nevada   Reid (inc) P       Ziser 38% Brown 21%
11 September Delaware                    
14 September Massachusetts                    
New Hampshire   Haddock U       Gregg (inc)      
New York   Schumer (inc) P       Mills P    
Rhode Island                    
Vermont   Leahy (inc)         McMullen L Moss  
Washington   Murry (inc)         Nethercutt      
Wisconsin   Feingold (inc) U       Michels 43 Darrow 30
18 September Hawaii   Inouye (inc)         Cavasso 50 Payne 22


  • If a senatorial candidate wins 75.5% or more of the primary vote, the second place finisher is not listed.
  • U means that this senatorial candidate ran in the primary unopposed (that is, with no other candidates appearing on the ballot but him/her). Please note that write-ins do NOT count as such "other candidates on the ballot" but the appearance of "Uncommitted" (or equivalent, such as "None of the Above") on a ballot DOES.
  • L indicates a landslide majority [60.5 to 75.4% of the primary vote] for the winner.
  • D indicates a decisive majority [52.5 to 60.4% of the primary vote] for the winner.
  • N indicates a narrow majority [50.0(+1 vote) to 52.4% of the primary vote] for the winner.
  • Where a winning (or, in a runoff State, leading) senatorial candidate has failed to gain at least a majority of the primary vote, the winner(leader) of the primary and the candidate who came in second are both listed with their respective percentages of the primary vote rounded up or down to the nearest whole integer.
  • R indicates any Runoff which has been scheduled for this date.
  • C indicates the Party's nominee was chosen by a Party-run process other than the Primary (State Convention, Party Central Committee or equivalent).
  • P indicates Primary cancelled / nomination by default because nominee was the only candidate to have filed for this Party's Primary for this office.

  2004 General Election Home  
Electoral College
  Allocation     How Appointed     Meeting Place (13 December)  
  Duly Appointed Electors     Tabulation by Congress (6 January)  
  May Electors Defect?  
  THE "FAITHLESS ELECTORS" - Presidential Electors who have defected in the past  
  Contests to Watch and Polling Data  
2 November Poll Closing Times:   Alphabetically   --   Electoral College Chronologically  
2004 Primary/Runoff dates:   Alphabetically   --   Chronologically   --   Poll Closing Times  
  President (Details)     Governors     Senate     House  
  Senators by 'Class'   --   Senate Seats by Region and Subregion  
  Governors' by election 'cycle'   --   Governors by Region and Subregion  
  Senatorial Primaries at a Glance     Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance  
  Open Governor's Chairs, Senate and House Seats (the incumbent is not running for re-election)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with no incumbent running for them  
  Uncontested Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats (one candidate running for office)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with multiple incumbents running for them  
  2004 Partisan Composition by State  
  2004 Congressional Districts  
  Senate Electoral Classes  
  Relative Political Party Strength / Sectional and Regional Politics in Presidential Elections  
  1972-2000 Presidential Election State Voting Trends  
  Statewide Political Party Strength