The Green Papers: 2021 General Election
Copyright 117th Congress
House Seats by State

This is a list of the current House seats and the incumbents occupying them. All 435 of these seats are up for election on 8 November 2022.

There has been 2 deaths, 1 resignation, and 0 changes of party affiliation in the 117th House.

  • Member of Congress-elect Luke Joshua Letlow (Republican, Louisiana, CD 5) died on 29 December 2020.
  • Member of Congress Cedric L. Richmond (Democratic, Louisiana, CD 2) resigned effective 15 January 2021 to become Senior Adviser to the President and White House Public Engagement Director in the Biden Administration.
  • Member of Congress Ron Wright (Republican, Texas, CD 5) died on 7 February 2021.
  • Member of Congress Claudia Tenney (Republican, New York, CD 22) was sworn on 11 February 2021 after a contested 3 November 2020 election.

  Alabama    Alaska    Arizona    Arkansas    California    Colorado    Connecticut    Delaware    Florida    Georgia    Hawaii    Idaho    Illinois    Indiana    Iowa    Kansas    Kentucky    Louisiana    Maine    Maryland    Massachusetts    Michigan    Minnesota    Mississippi    Missouri    Montana    Nebraska    Nevada    New Hampshire    New Jersey    New Mexico    New York    North Carolina    North Dakota    Ohio    Oklahoma    Oregon    Pennsylvania    Rhode Island    South Carolina    South Dakota    Tennessee    Texas    Utah    Vermont    Virginia    Washington    West Virginia    Wisconsin    Wyoming 

Legislative Links


Louisiana  2-year term. Election Cycle 2020, 2024. No Term Limit.
Partisan Composition: 4 Republican, 2 Vacancies

Special Election - 117th Congress
CD 2
Seat up for special election
Special Election
Seat up for special election: Saturday 20 March 2021
Special Election - Caused by the 17 November 2020 resignation of Member of Congress Cedric L. Richmond to become Senior Adviser to the President and White House Public Engagement Director in the Biden Administration.
All candidates from all parties appear on the 20 March 2021 open primary ballot. If no candidate receives a majority (50% of the vote plus 1), a 24 April runoff will be held between the top two vote getters.
  Candidate Republican     Chelsea Ardoin
FEC H2LA02172
  Candidate Independent     Belden "Noonie Man" Batiste
FEC H8LA02161
  Candidate Republican     Claston Bernard
FEC H2LA02206
  Candidate Democratic     state Senator  Troy A. Carter
FEC H2LA02149
  Candidate Democratic     state Senator  Karen Carter Peterson
FEC H2LA02131
  Candidate Democratic     Gary Chambers, Jr.
Also FEC H2LA02214

FEC H0LA02275
  Candidate Democratic     Harold John, Sr.
FEC H2LA02271
  Candidate Democratic     Jordan Christopher "J. Christopher" Johnson
FEC H2LA02180
  Candidate No Party     Brandon Jolicoeur
FEC H2LA02230
  Candidate Democratic     Lloyd M. Kelly
FEC H2LA02248
  Candidate Republican     Gregory "Greg" Lirette
FEC H2LA02156
  Candidate Libertarian     Mindy McConnell
FEC H2LA02198
  Candidate Democratic     Desiree Ontiveros
FEC H2LA02164
  Candidate Democratic     Jenette M. Porter
FEC H2LA02255
  Candidate Republican     Sheldon C. Vincent, Sr.
FEC H2LA02263

Candidate Inquiry from the Louisiana Department of State.

Political Parties    Parties appear in parenthesis and italics when a candidate receives the endorsement of a given Party and/or official sources indicate a candidate's association with a particular Party but only where the Party in question does not appear on the actual ballot as such.

Major Parties
  Democratic-Farmer Labor
Major Third Parties
Other Third Parties
  Legal Marijuana Now
  No Party
  No Party Affiliation
  No Party Preference
  Non Affiliated


  2021 General Election Home  
2021 Primaries and Runoffs for Statewide offices/Congress
  Alphabetically   --   Alphabetically with Filing Deadlines  
  Chronologically   --   Chronologically with Filing Deadlines  
  Poll Closing Times (with time zones)  
General Election Poll Closing Times (with time zones)
  Alphabetically   --   Chronologically  
Poll Closing Times (list)
  All Elections     Primary/Special Elections     General Elections  
  Governors     Senate     House  
  Senators by 'Class'  
  Governors by election 'cycle'  
  Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance  
  Open Governor's Chairs, Senate and House Seats (the incumbent is not running for re-election)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with no incumbent running for them  
  Uncontested Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats (one candidate running for office)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with multiple incumbents running for them  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with only one major party candidate running for office  
  2021 Partisan Composition by State  
  Political Parties  
  Senate Electoral Classes  
  Comparative Political Party Predominance in each State, 2000 thru 2016  
  Political Party Floor Leaders in the Congress of the United States  
  Dates of DIRECT PRIMARY Elections re: Major Party Nominations for Statewide and/or Federal Office  
  Length of Terms of Office of STATE Governors throughout American History