The Green Papers: Northern Marianas 2008 General Election
This page is for offices up for election in 2008. Find 2009 elections here.
Flag images courtesy of The World Flag Database. Copyright Northern Marianas
Elections for Statewide offices and Congress
Primary: Saturday 12 July 2008 (cancelled)
General Election: Tuesday 4 November 2008
2002-2010 Representatives:0(0.00% of 435)
Estimated Voting age population (November 2000): 
Capital:island of Saipan
Tuesday 4 November 2008 polling hours 7:00a MPST (2100 UTC) to 7:00p MPST (0900 UTC).

  Alabama    Alaska    American Samoa    Arizona    Arkansas    California    Colorado    Connecticut    Delaware    District of Columbia    Florida    Georgia    Guam    Hawaii    Idaho    Illinois    Indiana    Iowa    Kansas    Kentucky    Louisiana    Maine    Maryland    Massachusetts    Michigan    Minnesota    Mississippi    Missouri    Montana    Nebraska    Nevada    New Hampshire    New Jersey    New Mexico    New York    North Carolina    North Dakota    Northern Marianas    Ohio    Oklahoma    Oregon    Pennsylvania    Puerto Rico    Rhode Island    South Carolina    South Dakota    Tennessee    Texas    Utah    Vermont    Virgin Islands    Virginia    Washington    West Virginia    Wisconsin    Wyoming 

Northern Marianas State and Local Government

Northern Marianas 2008 Presidential Primaries, Caucuses, and Conventions:
Republicans, Third Parties

14 January 2009: The Commonwealth Election Commission - 2008 Election Results

The NORTHERN MARIANAS is currently not directly represented in the U.S. Congress and generally relies on the Delegate from GUAM to represent the Commonwealth's interests in Washington. Effective 4 November 2008, however, the NORTHERN MARIANAS will elect their own non-voting Delegate to the House of Representatives for the first time.


Governor  4 year term, Final Election Cycle: 2009. Territorial Governor

  Covenant Governor Benigno Repeki "Ben" Fitial
First elected: 2005
Seat up for election: Saturday 7 November 2009
Lt. Governor: Timothy Pangelinan Villagomez

Delegate to the House of Representatives  2 year term, Election Cycle: 2008, 2010. President George W. Bush signed S. 2739 on 8 May 2008 creating this office.

Seat up for election
  Territorial Delegate [vacant office]
Seat up for election: Tuesday 4 November 2008
Vacant Office - Seat first up for Election 4 November 2008.
 Polls: Republican Representative Pedro Agulto "Pete" Tenorio
 ** Open Office (no incumbent) **
  Elected Independent; (Democratic) 2,474 24.35% Commissioner Gregorio Kilili Camacho "Kilili" Sablan
FEC H8MP00041: $22,931
  Candidate Republican 2,117 20.83% Representative Pedro Agulto "Pete" Tenorio
Party nominee

FEC H8MP00017: $54,565
  Candidate Independent 1,855 18.26% John Oliver Delos Reyes (DLR) Gonzales
FEC H8MP00033: $21,165
  Candidate Independent; (Republican) 1,819 17.90% Associate Judge Juan Tudela Lizama
Filed with the FEC as an Independent

FEC H8MP00025: $75,302
  Candidate Independent; (Democratic) 946 9.31% territorial Senator Luis Palacios Crisostimo, Jr.
FEC H8MP00074: Financial report not available
  Candidate Democratic 307 3.02% former territorial Senator David Mendiola Cing
Party nominee

FEC H8MP00058: $10,756
  Candidate Independent; (Republican) 249 2.45% Felipe Quitugua Atalig
FEC H8MP00066: Financial report not available
  Candidate Independent 230 2.26% Chong Man Won
FEC H8MP00090: Financial report not available
  Candidate Independent 164 1.61% John Henry Davis, Jr.
FEC H8MP00082: Financial report not available
Total 10,161 100.00%  

President George W. Bush signed S. 2739 on 8 May 2008 creating this office.

S 2739. Subtitle B--Northern Mariana Islands Delegate. SEC. 711. DELEGATE TO HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES FROM COMMONWEALTH OF THE NORTHERN MARIANA ISLANDS. The Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands shall be represented in the United States Congress by the Resident Representative to the United States authorized by section 901 of the Covenant To Establish a Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands in Political Union With the United States of America (approved by Public Law 94-241 (48 U.S.C. 1801 et seq.)). The Resident Representative shall be a nonvoting Delegate to the House of Representatives.... SEC. 712. ELECTION OF DELEGATE. (a) Electors and Time of Election- The Delegate shall be elected-- 1) by the people qualified to vote for the popularly elected officials of the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands; and (2) at the Federal general election of 2008 and at such Federal general election every 2d year thereafter.

Political Parties    Parties appear in parenthesis and italics when a candidate receives the endorsement of a given Party and/or official sources indicate a candidate's association with a particular Party but only where the Party in question does not appear on the actual ballot as such.

Major Parties
  Democratic (affiliates): 3 candidates
  Republican: 3 candidates
Other Third Parties
  Covenant: 1 incumbent
  Independent: 7 candidates
Candidates running under the banner of more than one party are counted towards each party's total. A candidate who has lost a primary or is apparently no longer a candidate is not counted.


Candidates for office appear on this page in italics where 'The Green Papers' does not yet have independent confirmation from an election authority that the person so listed will actually appear on the ballot.
FEC indicates the Federal Election Commission (FEC) Campaign Finance Summary "Total Receipts" for candidates for Federal Office.


  2008 General Election Home  
  U.S. Senate Popular Vote and FEC Total Receipts by Party  
  Gubernatorial Popular Vote by Party  
  U.S. House Popular Vote and FEC Total Receipts by Party  
  Close Contests Summary - Decision by 2% or less  
  Contests Where No Candidate Received a Majority  
Electoral College
  Allocation       How Appointed       Meeting Place (15 December)  
  Duly Appointed Electors       Tabulation by Congress (8 January 2009)  
  THE "FAITHLESS ELECTORS" - Presidential Electors who have defected in the past  
  May Electors Defect?  
  "APPARENT" ELECTORAL VOTE for President of the United States: 1856 to present  
  ELECTORAL VOTE for President of the United States (as pledged and as officially counted)  
  ELECTORAL VOTE for Vice President of the United States (as pledged and as officially counted)  
  Contests to Watch and Polling Data  
2008 Primaries and Runoffs for Statewide offices/Congress
  Alphabetically   --   Chronologically   --   Poll Closing Times  
General Election Poll Closing Times
  Alphabetically   --   Chronologically   --   Electoral College  
  President (Details)     Governors     Senate     House  
  Senators by 'Class'  
  Governors by election 'cycle'  
  Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance   --   Senatorial Primaries at a Glance  
  Open Governor's Chairs, Senate and House Seats (the incumbent is not running for re-election)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with no incumbent running for them  
  Uncontested Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats (one candidate running for office)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with multiple incumbents running for them  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with only one major party candidate running for office  
  2008 Partisan Composition by State  
  Political Parties  
  Senate Electoral Classes  
  1976-2004 Presidential Election State Voting Trends  
  Relative Political Party Strength in each State per Federal/State Elections  
  Explanation of the Debate Scoring System