The Green Papers
2008 Poll Closing Times
for Statewide offices and Congress
General Election Alphabetically

Primary Elections Chronologically
4 November 2008 General Election Alphabetically
4 November 2008 General Election Chronologically
4 November 2008 Electoral College Chronologically

 
Copyright www.flags.net/UNST.htm UTC Eastern Central Mountain Pacific Alaska Hawaii
Tuesday 4 November 2008
Alabama0100
UTC
8:00p
EST
7:00p
CST
6:00p
MST
5:00p
PST
4:00p
AKST
3:00p
ALST
3:00p
HIST
Alaska (AKST) *A0500
UTC
12:00a
EST
11:00p
CST
10:00p
MST
9:00p
PST
8:00p
AKST

7:00p
ALST
7:00p
HIST
Alaska (ALST) *A0600
UTC
1:00a
EST
12:00a
CST
11:00p
MST
10:00p
PST
9:00p
AKST
8:00p
ALST
8:00p
HIST
American Samoa0500
UTC
12:00a
EST
11:00p
CST
10:00p
MST
9:00p
PST
8:00p
AKST
7:00p
ALST
7:00p
HIST
Arizona0200
UTC
9:00p
EST
8:00p
CST
7:00p
MST
6:00p
PST
5:00p
AKST
4:00p
ALST
4:00p
HIST
Arkansas0130
UTC
8:30p
EST
7:30p
CST
6:30p
MST
5:30p
PST
4:30p
AKST
3:30p
ALST
3:30p
HIST
California0400
UTC
11:00p
EST
10:00p
CST
9:00p
MST
8:00p
PST
7:00p
AKST
6:00p
ALST
6:00p
HIST
Colorado0200
UTC
9:00p
EST
8:00p
CST
7:00p
MST
6:00p
PST
5:00p
AKST
4:00p
ALST
4:00p
HIST
Connecticut0100
UTC
8:00p
EST
7:00p
CST
6:00p
MST
5:00p
PST
4:00p
AKST
3:00p
ALST
3:00p
HIST
Delaware
District of Columbia
Florida (EST) *A0000
UTC
7:00p
EST
6:00p
CST
5:00p
MST
4:00p
PST
3:00p
AKST
2:00p
ALST
2:00p
HIST
Florida (CST) *A0100
UTC
8:00p
EST
7:00p
CST
6:00p
MST
5:00p
PST
4:00p
AKST
3:00p
ALST
3:00p
HIST
Georgia0000
UTC
7:00p
EST
6:00p
CST
5:00p
MST
4:00p
PST
3:00p
AKST
2:00p
ALST
2:00p
HIST
Guam1000
UTC
5:00a
EST
4:00a
CST
3:00a
MST
2:00a
PST
1:00a
AKST
12:00a
ALST
12:00a
HIST
Hawaii0400
UTC
11:00p
EST
10:00p
CST
9:00p
MST
8:00p
PST
7:00p
AKST
6:00p
ALST
6:00p
HIST
Idaho (MST) *A0300
UTC
10:00p
EST
9:00p
CST
8:00p
MST
7:00p
PST
6:00p
AKST
5:00p
ALST
5:00p
HIST
Idaho (PST) *A0400
UTC
11:00p
EST
10:00p
CST
9:00p
MST
8:00p
PST
7:00p
AKST
6:00p
ALST
6:00p
HIST
Illinois0100
UTC
8:00p
EST
7:00p
CST
6:00p
MST
5:00p
PST
4:00p
AKST
3:00p
ALST
3:00p
HIST
Indiana (EST) *A2300
UTC
6:00p
EST
5:00p
CST
4:00p
MST
3:00p
PST
2:00p
AKST
1:00p
ALST
1:00p
HIST
Indiana (CST) *A0000
UTC
7:00p
EST
6:00p
CST
5:00p
MST
4:00p
PST
3:00p
AKST
2:00p
ALST
2:00p
HIST
Iowa0300
UTC
10:00p
EST
9:00p
CST
8:00p
MST
7:00p
PST
6:00p
AKST
5:00p
ALST
5:00p
HIST
Kansas (CST) *A0200
UTC
9:00p
EST
8:00p
CST
7:00p
MST
6:00p
PST
5:00p
AKST
4:00p
ALST
4:00p
HIST
Kansas (MST) *A0300
UTC
10:00p
EST
9:00p
CST
8:00p
MST
7:00p
PST
6:00p
AKST
5:00p
ALST
5:00p
HIST
Kentucky (EST) *A2300
UTC
6:00p
EST
5:00p
CST
4:00p
MST
3:00p
PST
2:00p
AKST
1:00p
ALST
1:00p
HIST
Kentucky (CST) *A0000
UTC
7:00p
EST
6:00p
CST
5:00p
MST
4:00p
PST
3:00p
AKST
2:00p
ALST
2:00p
HIST
Louisiana0200
UTC
9:00p
EST
8:00p
CST
7:00p
MST
6:00p
PST
5:00p
AKST
4:00p
ALST
4:00p
HIST
Maine *S0100
UTC
8:00p
EST
7:00p
CST
6:00p
MST
5:00p
PST
4:00p
AKST
3:00p
ALST
3:00p
HIST
Maryland
Massachusetts *S
Michigan (EST) *A
Michigan (CST) *A0200
UTC
9:00p
EST
8:00p
CST
7:00p
MST
6:00p
PST
5:00p
AKST
4:00p
ALST
4:00p
HIST
Minnesota *S
Mississippi0100
UTC
8:00p
EST
7:00p
CST
6:00p
MST
5:00p
PST
4:00p
AKST
3:00p
ALST
3:00p
HIST
Missouri
Montana0300
UTC
10:00p
EST
9:00p
CST
8:00p
MST
7:00p
PST
6:00p
AKST
5:00p
ALST
5:00p
HIST
Nebraska (CST) *S0200
UTC
9:00p
EST
8:00p
CST
7:00p
MST
6:00p
PST
5:00p
AKST
4:00p
ALST
4:00p
HIST
Nebraska (MST) *S0200
UTC
9:00p
EST
8:00p
CST
7:00p
MST
6:00p
PST
5:00p
AKST
4:00p
ALST
4:00p
HIST
Nevada0300
UTC
10:00p
EST
9:00p
CST
8:00p
MST
7:00p
PST
6:00p
AKST
5:00p
ALST
5:00p
HIST
New Hampshire *S0100
UTC
8:00p
EST
7:00p
CST
6:00p
MST
5:00p
PST
4:00p
AKST
3:00p
ALST
3:00p
HIST
New Jersey
New Mexico0200
UTC
9:00p
EST
8:00p
CST
7:00p
MST
6:00p
PST
5:00p
AKST
4:00p
ALST
4:00p
HIST
New York *S0200
UTC
9:00p
EST
8:00p
CST
7:00p
MST
6:00p
PST
5:00p
AKST
4:00p
ALST
4:00p
HIST
North Carolina *S0130
UTC
8:30p
EST
7:30p
CST
6:30p
MST
5:30p
PST
4:30p
AKST
3:30p
ALST
3:30p
HIST
North Dakota (CST) *A0300
UTC
10:00p
EST
9:00p
CST
8:00p
MST
7:00p
PST
6:00p
AKST
5:00p
ALST
5:00p
HIST
North Dakota (MST) *A0400
UTC
11:00p
EST
10:00p
CST
9:00p
MST
8:00p
PST
7:00p
AKST
6:00p
ALST
6:00p
HIST
Northern Marianas0900
UTC
4:00a
EST
3:00a
CST
2:00a
MST
1:00a
PST
12:00a
AKST
 
 
Ohio0030
UTC
7:30p
EST
6:30p
CST
5:30p
MST
4:30p
PST
3:30p
AKST
2:30p
ALST
2:30p
HIST
Oklahoma0100
UTC
8:00p
EST
7:00p
CST
6:00p
MST
5:00p
PST
4:00p
AKST
3:00p
ALST
3:00p
HIST
Oregon (MST) *A0300
UTC
10:00p
EST
9:00p
CST
8:00p
MST
7:00p
PST
6:00p
AKST
5:00p
ALST
5:00p
HIST
Oregon (PST) *A0400
UTC
11:00p
EST
10:00p
CST
9:00p
MST
8:00p
PST
7:00p
AKST
6:00p
ALST
6:00p
HIST
Pennsylvania0100
UTC
8:00p
EST
7:00p
CST
6:00p
MST
5:00p
PST
4:00p
AKST
3:00p
ALST
3:00p
HIST
Puerto Rico1900
UTC
2:00p
EST
1:00p
CST
12:00p
MST
11:00a
PST
10:00a
AKST
9:00a
ALST
9:00a
HIST
Rhode Island *S0200
UTC
9:00p
EST
8:00p
CST
7:00p
MST
6:00p
PST
5:00p
AKST
4:00p
ALST
4:00p
HIST
South Carolina0000
UTC
7:00p
EST
6:00p
CST
5:00p
MST
4:00p
PST
3:00p
AKST
2:00p
ALST
2:00p
HIST
South Dakota (CST) *A0100
UTC
8:00p
EST
7:00p
CST
6:00p
MST
5:00p
PST
4:00p
AKST
3:00p
ALST
3:00p
HIST
South Dakota (MST) *A0200
UTC
9:00p
EST
8:00p
CST
7:00p
MST
6:00p
PST
5:00p
AKST
4:00p
ALST
4:00p
HIST
Tennessee (EST) *S0100
UTC
8:00p
EST
7:00p
CST
6:00p
MST
5:00p
PST
4:00p
AKST
3:00p
ALST
3:00p
HIST
Tennessee (CST) *S0100
UTC
8:00p
EST
7:00p
CST
6:00p
MST
5:00p
PST
4:00p
AKST
3:00p
ALST
3:00p
HIST
Texas (CST) *A
Texas (MST) *A0200
UTC
9:00p
EST
8:00p
CST
7:00p
MST
6:00p
PST
5:00p
AKST
4:00p
ALST
4:00p
HIST
Utah0300
UTC
10:00p
EST
9:00p
CST
8:00p
MST
7:00p
PST
6:00p
AKST
5:00p
ALST
5:00p
HIST
Vermont *S0000
UTC
7:00p
EST
6:00p
CST
5:00p
MST
4:00p
PST
3:00p
AKST
2:00p
ALST
2:00p
HIST
Virgin Islands2300
UTC
6:00p
EST
5:00p
CST
4:00p
MST
3:00p
PST
2:00p
AKST
1:00p
ALST
1:00p
HIST
Virginia0000
UTC
7:00p
EST
6:00p
CST
5:00p
MST
4:00p
PST
3:00p
AKST
2:00p
ALST
2:00p
HIST
Washington0400
UTC
11:00p
EST
10:00p
CST
9:00p
MST
8:00p
PST
7:00p
AKST
6:00p
ALST
6:00p
HIST
West Virginia0030
UTC
7:30p
EST
6:30p
CST
5:30p
MST
4:30p
PST
3:30p
AKST
2:30p
ALST
2:30p
HIST
Wisconsin0200
UTC
9:00p
EST
8:00p
CST
7:00p
MST
6:00p
PST
5:00p
AKST
4:00p
ALST
4:00p
HIST
Wyoming0200
UTC
9:00p
EST
8:00p
CST
7:00p
MST
6:00p
PST
5:00p
AKST
4:00p
ALST
4:00p
HIST
 
 

Notes

Polling places in states that span multiple time zones will close either synchronously or asynchronously.

  • (Note *S) With synchronized closing, all the polls close at the same GMT/UTC time. For states with multiple time zones-- when polls close in the advanced local time zone, they will close one hour earlier in the lagging local time zone.
  • (Note *A) With asynchronous closing, the polls close at different GMT/UTC times in different parts of the state. Media outlets might decide to declare a winner before all the polls have closed.

Alaska General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 8:00p AKST (0500 UTC) / 8:00p ALST (0600 UTC). Alaska Time covers most of the state except for the Aleutian Islands west of Umnak Island (approximately half of Aleutian Islands). The media considers Alaska's polls to close at 8 PM Alaska Time and, thus, considers the State "callable" after that hour.

Florida General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 7:00p EST (0000 UTC) / 7:00p CST (0100 UTC). Relatively small portions of this state are in CST and so the vast majority of the polls are closed by the time indicated EST.

Idaho General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 8:00p MST (0300 UTC) / 8:00p PST (0400 UTC). Local option allows polling places to open at 7 AM. A sizable part of IDAHO is in PST but, as the MST section is the much more populated portion of the state, the networks consider that "most of the polls in IDAHO" are closed by 8 PM MST.

Indiana General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 6:00p EST (2300 UTC) / 6:00p CST (0000 UTC). Although much of this state is in CST, the majority of the polls are closed by the time indicated EST when the networks feel they can project.

Kansas General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 8:00p MST (0300 UTC) / 8:00p CST (0200 UTC). Most polls in the State close at either 7 pm or 8 pm local time in the Central Time Zone by local option; the remaining polls in the Mountain Time Zone close at either 6 pm or 7 pm local time by local option. The time noted as the "official" poll closing time is the statutory poll closing time and is that at which the networks generally consider the polls in the State to have closed.

Kentucky General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 6:00p EST (2300 UTC) / 6:00p CST (0000 UTC). Poll closing time could be rather problematic in KENTUCKY. A large chunk of the state is in CST [but the networks consider that "most of the polls have closed" in KENTUCKY by 6 PM EST and so, if they can, project at the same time they project INDIANA]. CST voters in KENTUCKY may note the networks' willingness/eagerness to project a winner as early as 6 PM EST.

Maine General Election: Polls close synchronously at 8:00p EST (0100 UTC). Voting places open between 6:00a EST and 10:00a EST depending on the size of the town.

Massachusetts General Election: Polls close synchronously at 8:00p EST (0100 UTC). By local option, municipalities may open their polls as early as 5:45 a.m.

Michigan General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 8:00p EST (0100 UTC) / 8:00p CST (0200 UTC). Relatively small portions of this state are in CST and so the vast majority of the polls are closed by the time indicated EST, when the networks feel they can project.

Minnesota General Election: Polls close synchronously at 8:00p CST (0200 UTC). Voting begins at 10:00 AM in some townships.

Nebraska General Election: Polls close synchronously at 8:00p CST (0200 UTC) / 7:00p MST (0200 UTC). The polls open and close at the same GMT/UTC time, that is, polls open and close at a particular local time in the advanced time zone and open and close one hour earlier local time in the lagging time zone.

New Hampshire General Election: Polls close synchronously at 8:00p EST (0100 UTC). Polls must open by 11 AM however most open between 7 AM and 8 AM. NEW HAMPSHIRE permits its 13 cities to keep their polls open until 8 PM EDT by local option- however, as there ARE only 13 cities among New Hampshire's 234 County subdivisions [the 221 "non-cities", of course, being the proverbial New England Town(ship)], the fact is that the vast majority of NH's polls have closed by 7 PM EST and the networks have no problem considering this hour as the earliest hour of potential projection.

New York General Election: Polls close synchronously at 9:00p EST (0200 UTC). Polls are open from 6:00a to 9:00p in NYC and the counties of Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, Orange, Putnam and Erie. All other counties, polls are open from 12:00 noon - 9:00p.

North Carolina General Election: Polls close synchronously at 8:30p EST (0130 UTC). NORTH CAROLINA allows its County Boards of Elections to decide whether to keep polls open until 8:30 p.m. EST but, outside of metropolitan areas, this local option is not often utilized and so 7:30 p.m. EST is the networks' earliest time of projection beacuse the vast majority of that state's polls will have closed by that hour.

North Dakota General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 9:00p CST (0300 UTC) / 9:00p MST (0400 UTC). Voting places open between 7:00a to 12:00n and remain open until 7:00p to 9:00p depending on the size of the town. The western half of the state is in MST but that is, of course, the more sparsely populated part of the state, so it is not as problematic to the networks as might be otherwise suggested by simple geography.

Oregon General Election / Special Election Labor Commissioner: Polls close asynchronously at 8:00p MST (0300 UTC) / 8:00p PST (0400 UTC). OREGON is the reverse of the norm because the by far largest portion of the state is in the lagging time zone and the networks have no choice but to not consider the OREGON polls closed until 8 PM PST.

Rhode Island General Election: Polls close synchronously at 9:00p EST (0200 UTC). Polls open 7a to 9a by location.

South Dakota General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 7:00p CST (0100 UTC) / 7:00p MST (0200 UTC).

Tennessee General Election: Polls close synchronously at 8:00p EST (0100 UTC) / 7:00p CST (0100 UTC). The polls close at the same GMT/UTC time, that is, polls close at a particular local time in the advanced time zone and close one hour earlier local time in the lagging time zone.

Texas General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 7:00p CST (0100 UTC) / 7:00p MST (0200 UTC). Only the area around El Paso is in MST, so the vast majority of polls have closed in TX by 7 PM CST.

Vermont General Election: Polls close synchronously at 7:00p EST (0000 UTC). Polls may open as early as 5:00a and no later than 10:00a as set by the Board of Civil Authority.

 
 

Time zone abbreviations


UCT: Universal Coordinated Time, Greenwich England
AST: Atlantic Standard Time, UCT - 4 hours
EST: Eastern Standard Time, UCT - 5 hours
EDT: Eastern Daylight Time, UCT - 4 hours
CST: Central Standard Time, UCT - 6 hours
CDT: Central Daylight Time, UCT - 5 hours
MST: Mountain Standard Time, UCT - 7 hours
MDT: Mountain Daylight Time, UCT - 6 hours
PST: Pacific Standard Time, UCT - 8 hours
PDT: Pacific Daylight Time, UCT - 7 hours
AKST: Alaska Standard Time, UCT - 9 hours
AKDT: Alaska Daylight Time, UCT - 8 hours
ALST: Aleution Standard Time, UCT - 10 hours
ALDT: Aleution Daylight Time, UCT - 9 hours
HIST: Hawaii Time, UCT - 10 hours
MPST: Northern Marianas Time, UCT + 10 hours
GUST: Guam Time, UCT + 10 hours
VIST: Virgin Islands Time, UCT - 4 hours
ASST: American Samoa Time, UCT - 11 hours
m: midnight
a: AM
p: PM

 
 


  2008 General Election Home  
 
  U.S. Senate Popular Vote and FEC Total Receipts by Party  
  Gubernatorial Popular Vote by Party  
  U.S. House Popular Vote and FEC Total Receipts by Party  
  Close Contests Summary - Decision by 2% or less  
  Contests Where No Candidate Received a Majority  
 
Electoral College
  Allocation       How Appointed       Meeting Place (15 December)  
  Duly Appointed Electors       Tabulation by Congress (8 January 2009)  
  THE "FAITHLESS ELECTORS" - Presidential Electors who have defected in the past  
  May Electors Defect?  
  DATES OF U.S. PRESIDENTIAL ELECTION "EVENTS": 1789 to the present  
  "APPARENT" ELECTORAL VOTE for President of the United States: 1856 to present  
  ELECTORAL VOTE for President of the United States (as pledged and as officially counted)  
  ELECTORAL VOTE for Vice President of the United States (as pledged and as officially counted)  
 
  Contests to Watch and Polling Data  
 
2008 Primaries and Runoffs for Statewide offices/Congress
  Alphabetically   --   Chronologically   --   Poll Closing Times  
....
General Election Poll Closing Times
  Alphabetically   --   Chronologically   --   Electoral College  
....
  President (Details)     Governors     Senate     House  
....
  Senators by 'Class'  
  Governors by election 'cycle'  
....
  Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance   --   Senatorial Primaries at a Glance  
....
  Open Governor's Chairs, Senate and House Seats (the incumbent is not running for re-election)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with no incumbent running for them  
  Uncontested Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats (one candidate running for office)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with multiple incumbents running for them  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with only one major party candidate running for office  
....
  2008 Partisan Composition by State  
....
  Political Parties  
....
  Senate Electoral Classes  
....
  1976-2004 Presidential Election State Voting Trends  
  Relative Political Party Strength in each State per Federal/State Elections  
....
  Explanation of the Debate Scoring System  


The Green Papers Home