The Green Papers
2012 Presidential Primaries, Caucuses, and Conventions
Copyright North Dakota Democrat
Presidential Nominating Process
Legislative District Caucus: Tuesday 5 June 20121
State Delegate Selection Meeting: Saturday 16 June 2012
Delegate Votes
Hard TotalFloor Vote
Obama, Barack Hussein  25.0  92.59%
Uncommitted 5.0  18.52% 
(available) 22.0  81.48% 
Not Announced  2.0   7.41%
Total 27.0 100.00%27.0 100.00%

States Chronologically   States Alphabetically     Democratic Convention     North Dakota Republican    
North Dakota Primaries for Statewide offices and Congress
North Dakota State and Local Government


The delegate selection processes herein was updated 25 April 2011 per the Draft 2012 Delegate Selection Plan as of April 2011.

The state received a 20% pledged delegate bonus for starting in Stage III (May and June).

Starting on Tuesday 20 March 2012, a 15% pledged delegate bonus is awarded when clusters of 3 or more neighboring states (Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota) begin on the same date (5 June 2012).


Participation in North Dakota's delegate selection process is open to all voters who wish to participate as Democrats. North Dakota has neither party nor any voter registration.

Tuesday 5 June 2012: 22 of 27 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are pledged to presidential contenders based upon the support for each contender receives at the Legislative District Caucuses. A mandatory 15 percent threshold at the statewide level is required in order for a presidential contender to be pledged National Convention delegates.

  • 15 district delegates are to be pledged proportionally to presidential contenders based on the preferences according to the statewide results. North Dakota has a single statewide congressional district.
  • In addition, 7 delegates are to be pledged to presidential contenders according to the preferences of the district-level delegates.
    • 5 at-large National Convention delegates
    • 2 Pledged PLEOs

A fine point: The At-Large and Pledged PLEO delegates are pledged to presidential contenders based on the presidential preferences of the 15 district level delegates pledged at the Legislative District Caucuses. Hence, the National Convention District delegates are pledged from the preferences expressed at the Caucuses while the National Convention statewide delegates are pledged using the preferences of the National Convention District delegates.

Tuesday 5 June 2012 Caucus
CD  15
At-Large  5
Delegates  22

Saturday 16 June 2012: State Delegate Selection Meeting.

National Convention Delegates are elected according to the results of the Legislative District Caucus. Note: In previous election cycles, the party pledged and elected candidates at the State Convention. This year, the delegates are pledged at the Legislative District Caucuses.

The remaining 5 National Convention delegates consist of

  • 5 Unpledged PLEO delegates:
    • 4 Democratic National Committee members.
    • 1 Member of Congress (1 Senator and 0 Representatives).
    • 0 Governors.
    • 0 Distinguished Party Leaders.

These 5 delegates and will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

Delegation to the National Convention

North Dakota Delegation (as posted at, 20 August 2012)

Renae AarforFargo
Glenda Baker EmbryParshall
Joshua BoscheeFargo
Joshua D BrackGrand Forks
Margaret S BrackGrand Forks
Kent ConradWashington
Lois DelmoreGrand Forks
Sandra DonaldsonGrand Forks
Rick EngenFargo
David A FunstonBismarck
Reuben "Ben" GumsJamestown
Gwen B HeilAmenia
William A HejlAmenia
Gregory A HodurFargo
Nancy HodurFargo
Phyllis HowardNew Town
Ronald HuffBismarck
Brenda HuffBismarck
Timothy "Tim" C LambGrand Forks
Bruce MaylathFargo
Kjersten NelsonFargo
Chad NodlandBismarck
Esther OmotundePark River
Renee PfenningBismarck
Rick PfenningBismarck
James A RileyGrand Forks
Kathi RischBismark
Becky RonkowskiGrand Forks
Prairie Rose SerrindeFargo
Jackie StebbinsBismarck
Sharon Swan TieszenFargo
Lonny WinrichGrand Forks
Barb ZahrtFargo
Curtis ZahrtFargo
Steve ZaiserFargo

Links Links to other web sites

Election Authority
  North Dakota Secretary of State
  North Dakota Secretary of State - Elections and Voting
Legislature   Links to State Legislatures
  North Dakota Legislative Branch
  North Dakota Democratic-NPL Party
Media & others
  Bismarck Tribune
  Devils Lake Journal
  Grand Forks Herald
  In-Forum - Fargo - Grand Forks
  KFYR TV - NBC - Bismarck
  KXMB - KXMA - KXMC - KXMD - CBS - Bismarck, Minot
  KXMB / KXMA / KXMC / KXMD - CBS - Bismarck - Minot
  NDx Plains - Fargo
  NorthDecoder - political blog - North Dakota
  Praire Public Television - North Dakota Public Radio
  The Minot Daily News
  The Williston Daily Herald
  Valley City Times-Record
  Wahpeton Daily News
  WDAY TV - Fargo
  WDAZ TV - ABC - Grand Forks

1 Democratic Party's "First Determining Step" of the delegate selection process.


  Election 2012 - Presidential Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
  Presidential Candidates  
Rule Making and Process
  30 December 2009 - Democratic Change Commission's Recommendations for the 2012 Presidential Nominating Process  
  20 August 2010 - Democratic National Committee approves 2012 Call To Convention and Delegate Selection Rules  
  6 August 2010 - Republican Temporary Delegate Selection Committee's Recommendations for the 2012 Presidential Nominating Process  
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
  Weekly Delegate Distribution and Availability  
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  Democratic Detailed Delegate Allocation   --   Republican Detailed Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
  Primaries at a Glance  
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Statutory Election Information of the Several states / Presidential Primary  
  Dates of PRESIDENTIAL PRIMARIES re: selection and/or allocation/distribution of Delegates to Major Party National Conventions  
  Major Third Party (Constitution, Green, Libertarian) Presidential Nomination Process  
  Straw Polls