The Green Papers
2012 Presidential Primaries, Caucuses, and Conventions
Copyright Montana Democrat
Presidential Nominating Process
Primary: Tuesday 5 June 20121
County Caucuses: Thursday 7 June 2012
State Convention: Saturday 9 June 2012
Delegate Votes
Hard TotalFloor Vote
Obama, Barack Hussein79,537  90.54%24.0  77.42%30.0  96.77%
No Preference8,306   9.46%  
Uncommitted 7.0  22.58% 
Not Announced  1.0   3.23%
Total87,843 100.00%31.0 100.00%31.0 100.00%

States Chronologically   States Alphabetically     Democratic Convention     Montana Republican    
Montana Primaries for Statewide offices and Congress
Montana State and Local Government


The delegate selection processes herein was updated 28 May 2012 per the 2012 Delegate Selection Plan.

The state received a 20% pledged delegate bonus for starting in Stage III (May and June).

Starting on Tuesday 20 March 2012, a 15% pledged delegate bonus is awarded when clusters of 3 or more neighboring states (Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota) begin on the same date (5 June 2012).


Tuesday 5 June 2012: 24 of 31 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are pledged to presidential contenders based on the results of the voting in today's Montana Presidential Primary. A mandatory 15 percent threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be pledged National Convention delegates at either the congressional district or statewide level.

  • 16 district delegates are to be pledged proportionally to presidential contenders based on the results of the primary. For the purposes of electing delegates, Montana's single congressional district is divided into an Eastern and a Western District with each district choosing 8 delegates.
    • The Western district consists of Montana's "old 1980 CD 1" (when Montana had 2 Congressional districts). The region includes: Beaverhead, Broadwater, Silver Bow, Deer Lodge, Flathead, Gallatin, Glacier, Granite, Jefferson, Lake, Lewis and Clark, Lincoln, Madison, Mineral, Missoula, Park, Powell, Ravalli, and Sanders counties.
    • The Eastern district consists of Montana's "old 1980 CD 2" (when Montana had 2 Congressional districts). The region includes: Big Horn, Blaine, Carbon, Carter, Cascade, Chouteau, Custer, Daniels, Dawson, Fallon, Fergus, Garfield, Golden Valley, Hill, Judith Basin, Liberty, McCone, Meagher, Musselshell, Petroleum, Phillips, Pondera, Powder River, Prairie, Richland, Roosevelt, Rosebud, Sheridan, Stillwater, Sweet Grass, Teton, Toole, Treasure, Valley, Wheatland, Wibaux, and Yellowstone counties.
  • In addition, 8 delegates are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary vote statewide.
    • 6 at-large National Convention delegates
    • 2 Pledged PLEOs
Tuesday 5 June 2012 Primary
Western  8
Eastern  8
At-Large  6
Delegates  24

Thursday 7 June 2012: County Caucuses meet to elect delegates to the State Convention according to the results of the primary.


Saturday 9 June 2012: State Convention

National Conventions delegates are elected according to the results of the primary.

The remaining 7 National Convention delegates consist of

  • 7 Unpledged PLEO delegates:
    • 4 Democratic National Committee members.
    • 2 Members of Congress (2 Senators and 0 Representatives).
    • 1 Governor.
    • 0 Distinguished Party Leaders.

These 7 delegates and will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

Delegation to the National Convention

Montana Delegation (as posted at, 20 August 2012)

Nancy AndersonGreat Falls
Ashley BarberMissoula
Max BaucusWashington
Bryce BennettMissouca
Ann BussHelena
Linda CarlsonHelena
Alexandra CorcoranHelena
Brent CromleyBillings
Tom CurryBillings
Rachael DeMarceSaints Central
Carl J DonovanGreat Falls
Jim ElliottTrove Creek
Carol Farris StahlBozeman
Kurt GrossHelena
Jacquie HeltHelena
Ellie HillMissoula
David HunterHelena
Barb JenikerButte
Carol JuneauGreat Falls
Denise JuneauHelena
Barrett KaiserBillings
Caryn KallayRonan
Patrick KellyMiles City
Chris KlothBozeman
Todd LaBountaHelena
Jean Lemire DahlmanForsyth
Daniel LourieBozeman
Mary Jo O'RourkeDillon
Latonna Old ElkCrow Agency
Stacey OtterstomHelena
Susan QuarlesBozeman
Jorge QuintanaHelena
Chris SaegerHelena
Brian SchweitzerHelena
Anna ScottNew York
Catherine "Buffy" StewartCrow Agency
Sharon Stewart PeregoyCrow Agency
Carson G TaylorBozeman
Raymond "Jon" TesterBillings
Michael WesslerHelena
Cara WilderBozeman

Links Links to other web sites

Constitution   Links to State Constitutions
Election Authority
  Montana Secretary of State
  Montana Secretary of State Elections
  Montana Democratic Party
Media & others
  Bigfork Eagle
  Billings Gazette
  Great Falls Tribune
  Havre Daily News
  KECI TV Missoula; KTVM TV Bozeman, Butte; KCFW TV Kalispell - NBC
  KPAX TV - CBS - Missoula
  KRTV TV - CBS - Great Falls
  KURL TV - NBC - Billings
  KXLF TV - CBS - Butte
  Laurel Outlook (Weekly)
  Lewistown News-Argus
  Make it Missoula
  Missoulian News Online - Western Montana
  Northern Broadcasting System - Montana
  Ravalli Republic - Hamilton
  The Bozeman Daily Chronicle
  The Daily Inter Lake - Kalispell
  The Independent Record - Helena
  The Leader Advertiser - Polson
  The Montana Standard - Butte
  The Whitefish Pilot
  Tobacco Valley News

1 Democratic Party's "First Determining Step" of the delegate selection process.


  Election 2012 - Presidential Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
  Presidential Candidates  
Rule Making and Process
  30 December 2009 - Democratic Change Commission's Recommendations for the 2012 Presidential Nominating Process  
  20 August 2010 - Democratic National Committee approves 2012 Call To Convention and Delegate Selection Rules  
  6 August 2010 - Republican Temporary Delegate Selection Committee's Recommendations for the 2012 Presidential Nominating Process  
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
  Weekly Delegate Distribution and Availability  
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  Democratic Detailed Delegate Allocation   --   Republican Detailed Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
  Primaries at a Glance  
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Statutory Election Information of the Several states / Presidential Primary  
  Dates of PRESIDENTIAL PRIMARIES re: selection and/or allocation/distribution of Delegates to Major Party National Conventions  
  Major Third Party (Constitution, Green, Libertarian) Presidential Nomination Process  
  Straw Polls