2012 Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates

  • Democratic jurisdictions are listed in chronological order according to their First Determining Step.
  • Republican jurisdictions are listed in chronological order according to the first Major Delegate Selection event.
  • The cumulative delegate counts reflect the total number of delegates assigned to the states whose process has begun.
  • The delegate selection information is only intended to be a rough guide to the chronological accumulation of delegate pledges. Please review the individual state's page for more detailed information as to EXACTLY how/when delegates are being pledged to candidates.
 
Donkey and Elephant Democratic Republican
Jurisdiction
(delegates,
delegate
selection)
Delegates
each Date
Cumulative
Delegates
Cumulative
Percent
Jurisdiction
(delegates,
delegate
selection)
Delegates
each Date
Cumulative
Delegates
Cumulative
Percent
Tuesday 3 January 2012Iowa (65.0)65.065.01.17%Iowa (28)28281.22%
Tuesday 10 January 2012New Hampshire (35.0)35.0100.01.80%New Hampshire (12)12401.75%
Saturday 21 January 2012Nevada (44.0)44.0144.02.59%South Carolina (25)25652.84%
Saturday 28 January 2012South Carolina (62.0)62.0206.03.71%    
Sunday 29 January 2012    Maine (24)24893.89%
Tuesday 31 January 2012    Florida (50)501396.08%
Saturday 4 February 2012    Nevada (28)281677.31%
Tuesday 7 February 2012Missouri (102.0)102.0308.05.55%Colorado (36);
Minnesota (40)
7624310.63%
Tuesday 28 February 2012    Arizona (29);
Michigan (30)
5930213.21%
Saturday 3 March 2012    Washington (43)4334515.09%
Tuesday 6 March 2012American Samoa (12.0);
Colorado (86.0);
Georgia (124.0);
Maine (37.0);
Massachusetts (136.0);
Minnesota (107.0);
Ohio (191.0);
Oklahoma (50.0);
Tennessee (91.0);
Vermont (27.0);
Virginia (124.0)
985.01,293.023.29%Alaska (27);
Georgia (76);
Idaho (32);
Massachusetts (41);
North Dakota (28);
Ohio (66);
Oklahoma (43);
Tennessee (58);
Vermont (17);
Virginia (49);
Wyoming (29)
46681135.48%
Wednesday 7 March 2012Hawaii (35.0)35.01,328.023.92%    
Saturday 10 March 2012    Guam (9);
Kansas (40);
Northern Marianas (9);
Virgin Islands (9)
6787838.41%
Tuesday 13 March 2012Alabama (69.0);
Mississippi (45.0);
Utah (34.0)
148.01,476.026.59%Alabama (50);
American Samoa (9);
Hawaii (20);
Mississippi (40)
11999743.61%
Thursday 15 March 2012    Missouri (52)521,04945.89%
Sunday 18 March 2012    Puerto Rico (23)231,07246.89%
Tuesday 20 March 2012Illinois (215.0)215.01,691.030.46%Illinois (69)691,14149.91%
Saturday 24 March 2012Louisiana (72.0)72.01,763.031.75%Louisiana (46)461,18751.92%
Saturday 31 March 2012Arizona (80.0)80.01,843.033.20%    
Tuesday 3 April 2012District of Columbia (45.0);
Maryland (124.0);
Wisconsin (111.0)
280.02,123.038.24%District of Columbia (19);
Maryland (37);
Wisconsin (42)
981,28556.21%
Tuesday 10 April 2012Alaska (24.0)24.02,147.038.67%    
Saturday 14 April 2012Idaho (31.0);
Kansas (53.0);
Nebraska (44.0);
Wyoming (22.0)
150.02,297.041.37%    
Sunday 15 April 2012Washington (120.0)120.02,417.043.53%    
Saturday 21 April 2012Texas (287.0)287.02,704.048.70%    
Tuesday 24 April 2012Connecticut (88.0);
New York (384.0);
Pennsylvania (250.0);
Rhode Island (40.0)
762.03,466.062.43%Connecticut (28);
Delaware (17);
New York (95);
Pennsylvania (72);
Rhode Island (19)
2311,51666.32%
Tuesday 1 May 2012Delaware (33.0);
Democrats Abroad (19.0)
52.03,518.063.36%    
Saturday 5 May 2012Florida (300.0);
Guam (12.0);
Michigan (203.0)
515.04,033.072.64%    
Tuesday 8 May 2012Indiana (105.0);
North Carolina (157.0);
West Virginia (47.0)
309.04,342.078.21%Indiana (46);
North Carolina (55);
West Virginia (31)
1321,64872.09%
Tuesday 15 May 2012Oregon (84.0)84.04,426.079.72%Oregon (28)281,67673.32%
Tuesday 22 May 2012Arkansas (55.0);
Kentucky (73.0)
128.04,554.082.02%Arkansas (36);
Kentucky (45)
811,75776.86%
Tuesday 29 May 2012    Texas (155)1551,91283.64%
Saturday 2 June 2012Virgin Islands (13.0)13.04,567.082.26%    
Sunday 3 June 2012Puerto Rico (67.0)67.04,634.083.47%    
Tuesday 5 June 2012California (609.0);
Montana (31.0);
New Jersey (172.0);
New Mexico (50.0);
North Dakota (27.0);
South Dakota (29.0)
918.05,552.0100.00%California (172);
New Jersey (50);
New Mexico (23);
South Dakota (28)
2732,18595.58%
Thursday 14 June 2012    Montana (26)262,21196.72%
Tuesday 26 June 2012    Utah (40)402,25198.47%
Saturday 14 July 2012    Nebraska (35)352,286100.00%
August 2012Unassigned (0.0)       
 
Democratic Delegate Selection
KeyDelegate SelectionJurisdictionsDelegates
in these
Jurisdictions
Percentage
of
Delegates
PPProportional Primary373,975.071.60%
CCCaucus/Convention191,374.024.75%
APAdvisory Primary1203.03.66%
 
Republican Delegate Selection
KeyDelegate SelectionJurisdictionsDelegates
in these
Jurisdictions
Percentage
of
Delegates
WTAPWinner-Take-All1152422.92%
CCCaucus/Convention1848921.39%
PPProportional Primary1044219.34%
WTAP:D+WTA/PP:SDistrict: Winner-Take-All Primary, Statewide: if winner receives a majority Winner-Take-All Primary otherwise Proportional Primary525511.15%
WTAP/T2P+PPDistrict: Winner-Take-All or top two; Statewide: Proportional31566.82%
LPLoophole Primary21416.17%
WTAP/PPIf winner receives a majority Winner-Take-All Primary otherwise Proportional Primary31215.29%
WTA+PP+CCCombined Selection [Winner-Take-All Primary for District Delegates with Caucus/Convention]1462.01%
PP+CCCombined Selection [Proportional Primary with Caucus/Convention]1462.01%
APAdvisory Primary1351.53%
DSPDelegate Selection Primary1311.36%
 
 


  Election 2012 - Presidential Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
 
  Presidential Candidates  
 
Rule Making and Process
  30 December 2009 - Democratic Change Commission's Recommendations for the 2012 Presidential Nominating Process  
  20 August 2010 - Democratic National Committee approves 2012 Call To Convention and Delegate Selection Rules  
  6 August 2010 - Republican Temporary Delegate Selection Committee's Recommendations for the 2012 Presidential Nominating Process  
 
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
 
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
  Weekly Delegate Distribution and Availability  
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
 
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  Democratic Detailed Delegate Allocation   --   Republican Detailed Delegate Allocation  
 
  Democratic Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
 
  Primaries at a Glance  
 
Documentation
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Statutory Election Information of the Several states / Presidential Primary  
  Dates of PRESIDENTIAL PRIMARIES re: selection and/or allocation/distribution of Delegates to Major Party National Conventions  
 
  Major Third Party (Constitution, Green, Libertarian) Presidential Nomination Process  
 
  Straw Polls