The Green Papers
The Green Papers
2022 Poll Closing Times
for Statewide offices and Congress
General Election Alphabetically

Primary/Runoff/Special Elections Chronologically
8 November 2022 General Election Alphabetically
8 November 2022 General Election Chronologically

related pages...
Polling Hours All Elections
Polling Hours Primary/Runoff/Special Elections
Polling Hours General Elections


This chart reflects the poll closing times used by the networks and other media outlets on Election Night. There is an "unenforced pledge" to not project a winner in a state until that state's polls have closed (which, to the media, means "most of the state's polls have closed").

Below the chart is an outline of potential difficulties which may occur where a state spans time zones. (Poll closing times are extended for voters still in line when the hour of poll closing has arrived.)


 
Copyright www.flags.net/UNST.htmUTCEasternCentralMountainPacificAlaska
Hawaii
Atlantic
Chamorro
Samoa
Tuesday 8 November 2022
Alabama
reportedly
0100 UTC8:00p EST7:00p CST6:00p MST5:00p PST4:00p AKST
3:00p HAST
9:00p AST
11:00a ChST
2:00p SST
Alaska (AKST) *A0500 UTC12:00a EST11:00p CST10:00p MST9:00p PST8:00p AKST
7:00p HAST
1:00a AST
3:00p ChST
6:00p SST
Alaska (HAST) *A0600 UTC1:00a EST12:00a CST11:00p MST10:00p PST9:00p AKST
8:00p HAST
2:00a AST
4:00p ChST
7:00p SST
American Samoa
reportedly
0500 UTC12:00a EST11:00p CST10:00p MST9:00p PST8:00p AKST
7:00p HAST
1:00a AST
3:00p ChST
6:00p SST
Arizona
reportedly
0200 UTC9:00p EST8:00p CST7:00p MST6:00p PST5:00p AKST
4:00p HAST
10:00p AST
12:00p ChST
3:00p SST
Arkansas0130 UTC8:30p EST7:30p CST6:30p MST5:30p PST4:30p AKST
3:30p HAST
9:30p AST
11:30a ChST
2:30p SST
California
reportedly
0400 UTC11:00p EST10:00p CST9:00p MST8:00p PST7:00p AKST
6:00p HAST
12:00a AST
2:00p ChST
5:00p SST
Colorado0200 UTC9:00p EST8:00p CST7:00p MST6:00p PST5:00p AKST
4:00p HAST
10:00p AST
12:00p ChST
3:00p SST
Connecticut0100 UTC8:00p EST7:00p CST6:00p MST5:00p PST4:00p AKST
3:00p HAST
9:00p AST
11:00a ChST
2:00p SST
Delaware
District of Columbia
Florida (EST) *A0000 UTC7:00p EST6:00p CST5:00p MST4:00p PST3:00p AKST
2:00p HAST
8:00p AST
10:00a ChST
1:00p SST
Florida (CST) *A0100 UTC8:00p EST7:00p CST6:00p MST5:00p PST4:00p AKST
3:00p HAST
9:00p AST
11:00a ChST
2:00p SST
Georgia0000 UTC7:00p EST6:00p CST5:00p MST4:00p PST3:00p AKST
2:00p HAST
8:00p AST
10:00a ChST
1:00p SST
Guam1000 UTC5:00a EST4:00a CST3:00a MST2:00a PST1:00a AKST
12:00a HAST
6:00a AST
8:00p ChST
11:00p SST
Hawaii0500 UTC12:00a EST11:00p CST10:00p MST9:00p PST8:00p AKST
7:00p HAST
1:00a AST
3:00p ChST
6:00p SST
Idaho (MST) *A0300 UTC10:00p EST9:00p CST8:00p MST7:00p PST6:00p AKST
5:00p HAST
11:00p AST
1:00p ChST
4:00p SST
Idaho (PST) *A0400 UTC11:00p EST10:00p CST9:00p MST8:00p PST7:00p AKST
6:00p HAST
12:00a AST
2:00p ChST
5:00p SST
Illinois0100 UTC8:00p EST7:00p CST6:00p MST5:00p PST4:00p AKST
3:00p HAST
9:00p AST
11:00a ChST
2:00p SST
Indiana (EST) *A2300 UTC6:00p EST5:00p CST4:00p MST3:00p PST2:00p AKST
1:00p HAST
7:00p AST
9:00a ChST
12:00p SST
Indiana (CST) *A0000 UTC7:00p EST6:00p CST5:00p MST4:00p PST3:00p AKST
2:00p HAST
8:00p AST
10:00a ChST
1:00p SST
Iowa0200 UTC9:00p EST8:00p CST7:00p MST6:00p PST5:00p AKST
4:00p HAST
10:00p AST
12:00p ChST
3:00p SST
Kansas (CST) *A0100 UTC8:00p EST7:00p CST6:00p MST5:00p PST4:00p AKST
3:00p HAST
9:00p AST
11:00a ChST
2:00p SST
Kansas (MST) *A0200 UTC9:00p EST8:00p CST7:00p MST6:00p PST5:00p AKST
4:00p HAST
10:00p AST
12:00p ChST
3:00p SST
Kentucky (EST) *A2300 UTC6:00p EST5:00p CST4:00p MST3:00p PST2:00p AKST
1:00p HAST
7:00p AST
9:00a ChST
12:00p SST
Kentucky (CST) *A0000 UTC7:00p EST6:00p CST5:00p MST4:00p PST3:00p AKST
2:00p HAST
8:00p AST
10:00a ChST
1:00p SST
Louisiana0200 UTC9:00p EST8:00p CST7:00p MST6:00p PST5:00p AKST
4:00p HAST
10:00p AST
12:00p ChST
3:00p SST
Maine0100 UTC8:00p EST7:00p CST6:00p MST5:00p PST4:00p AKST
3:00p HAST
9:00p AST
11:00a ChST
2:00p SST
Maryland
reportedly
Massachusetts
Michigan (EST) *A
Michigan (CST) *A0200 UTC9:00p EST8:00p CST7:00p MST6:00p PST5:00p AKST
4:00p HAST
10:00p AST
12:00p ChST
3:00p SST
Minnesota
Mississippi0100 UTC8:00p EST7:00p CST6:00p MST5:00p PST4:00p AKST
3:00p HAST
9:00p AST
11:00a ChST
2:00p SST
Missouri
Montana0300 UTC10:00p EST9:00p CST8:00p MST7:00p PST6:00p AKST
5:00p HAST
11:00p AST
1:00p ChST
4:00p SST
Nebraska (CST) *S0200 UTC9:00p EST8:00p CST7:00p MST6:00p PST5:00p AKST
4:00p HAST
10:00p AST
12:00p ChST
3:00p SST
Nebraska (MST) *S0200 UTC9:00p EST8:00p CST7:00p MST6:00p PST5:00p AKST
4:00p HAST
10:00p AST
12:00p ChST
3:00p SST
Nevada0300 UTC10:00p EST9:00p CST8:00p MST7:00p PST6:00p AKST
5:00p HAST
11:00p AST
1:00p ChST
4:00p SST
New Hampshire0100 UTC8:00p EST7:00p CST6:00p MST5:00p PST4:00p AKST
3:00p HAST
9:00p AST
11:00a ChST
2:00p SST
New Jersey
New Mexico0200 UTC9:00p EST8:00p CST7:00p MST6:00p PST5:00p AKST
4:00p HAST
10:00p AST
12:00p ChST
3:00p SST
New York
reportedly
0200 UTC9:00p EST8:00p CST7:00p MST6:00p PST5:00p AKST
4:00p HAST
10:00p AST
12:00p ChST
3:00p SST
North Carolina0030 UTC7:30p EST6:30p CST5:30p MST4:30p PST3:30p AKST
2:30p HAST
8:30p AST
10:30a ChST
1:30p SST
North Dakota (CST) *A0300 UTC10:00p EST9:00p CST8:00p MST7:00p PST6:00p AKST
5:00p HAST
11:00p AST
1:00p ChST
4:00p SST
North Dakota (MST) *A0400 UTC11:00p EST10:00p CST9:00p MST8:00p PST7:00p AKST
6:00p HAST
12:00a AST
2:00p ChST
5:00p SST
Northern Marianas
reportedly
0900 UTC4:00a EST3:00a CST2:00a MST1:00a PST12:00a AKST
11:00p HAST
5:00a AST
7:00p ChST
10:00p SST
Ohio0030 UTC7:30p EST6:30p CST5:30p MST4:30p PST3:30p AKST
2:30p HAST
8:30p AST
10:30a ChST
1:30p SST
Oklahoma0100 UTC8:00p EST7:00p CST6:00p MST5:00p PST4:00p AKST
3:00p HAST
9:00p AST
11:00a ChST
2:00p SST
Oregon (MST) *A0300 UTC10:00p EST9:00p CST8:00p MST7:00p PST6:00p AKST
5:00p HAST
11:00p AST
1:00p ChST
4:00p SST
Oregon (PST) *A0400 UTC11:00p EST10:00p CST9:00p MST8:00p PST7:00p AKST
6:00p HAST
12:00a AST
2:00p ChST
5:00p SST
Pennsylvania0100 UTC8:00p EST7:00p CST6:00p MST5:00p PST4:00p AKST
3:00p HAST
9:00p AST
11:00a ChST
2:00p SST
Rhode Island
South Carolina0000 UTC7:00p EST6:00p CST5:00p MST4:00p PST3:00p AKST
2:00p HAST
8:00p AST
10:00a ChST
1:00p SST
South Dakota (CST) *A0100 UTC8:00p EST7:00p CST6:00p MST5:00p PST4:00p AKST
3:00p HAST
9:00p AST
11:00a ChST
2:00p SST
South Dakota (MST) *A0200 UTC9:00p EST8:00p CST7:00p MST6:00p PST5:00p AKST
4:00p HAST
10:00p AST
12:00p ChST
3:00p SST
Tennessee (EST) *S
reportedly
0100 UTC8:00p EST7:00p CST6:00p MST5:00p PST4:00p AKST
3:00p HAST
9:00p AST
11:00a ChST
2:00p SST
Tennessee (CST) *S
reportedly
0100 UTC8:00p EST7:00p CST6:00p MST5:00p PST4:00p AKST
3:00p HAST
9:00p AST
11:00a ChST
2:00p SST
Texas (CST) *A
reportedly
Texas (MST) *A
reportedly
0200 UTC9:00p EST8:00p CST7:00p MST6:00p PST5:00p AKST
4:00p HAST
10:00p AST
12:00p ChST
3:00p SST
Utah
reportedly
0300 UTC10:00p EST9:00p CST8:00p MST7:00p PST6:00p AKST
5:00p HAST
11:00p AST
1:00p ChST
4:00p SST
Vermont0000 UTC7:00p EST6:00p CST5:00p MST4:00p PST3:00p AKST
2:00p HAST
8:00p AST
10:00a ChST
1:00p SST
Virgin Islands
reportedly
2300 UTC6:00p EST5:00p CST4:00p MST3:00p PST2:00p AKST
1:00p HAST
7:00p AST
9:00a ChST
12:00p SST
Virginia0000 UTC7:00p EST6:00p CST5:00p MST4:00p PST3:00p AKST
2:00p HAST
8:00p AST
10:00a ChST
1:00p SST
Washington0400 UTC11:00p EST10:00p CST9:00p MST8:00p PST7:00p AKST
6:00p HAST
12:00a AST
2:00p ChST
5:00p SST
West Virginia0030 UTC7:30p EST6:30p CST5:30p MST4:30p PST3:30p AKST
2:30p HAST
8:30p AST
10:30a ChST
1:30p SST
Wisconsin0200 UTC9:00p EST8:00p CST7:00p MST6:00p PST5:00p AKST
4:00p HAST
10:00p AST
12:00p ChST
3:00p SST
Wyoming0200 UTC9:00p EST8:00p CST7:00p MST6:00p PST5:00p AKST
4:00p HAST
10:00p AST
12:00p ChST
3:00p SST
No activity
Puerto Rico(no activity)
Copyright www.flags.net/UNST.htmUTCEasternCentralMountainPacificAlaska
Hawaii
Atlantic
Chamorro
Samoa
 

Notes


Polling places in states that span multiple time zones will close either synchronously or asynchronously.


Alaska General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 8:00p AKST (0500 UTC) / 8:00p HAST (0600 UTC). Alaska Time covers most of the state except for the Aleutian Islands west of Umnak Island (approximately half of Aleutian Islands). The media considers Alaska's polls to close at 8 PM Alaska Time and, thus, considers the State "callable" after that hour.

Colorado General Election: Polls close at 7:00p MST (0200 UTC). Colorado votes mostly by mail.

Florida General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 7:00p EST (0000 UTC) / 7:00p CST (0100 UTC). Relatively small portions of this state are in CT and so the vast majority of the polls are closed by the time indicated ET.

Hawaii General Election: Polls close at 7:00p HAST (0500 UTC). Hawaii votes by mail. Ballots must be received by 7p on Election Day.

Idaho General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 8:00p MST (0300 UTC) / 8:00p PST (0400 UTC). Local option allows polling places to open at 7 AM. A sizable part of IDAHO is in PT but, as the MT section is the much more populated portion of the state, the networks consider that "most of the polls in IDAHO" are closed by 8 PM MT.

Indiana General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 6:00p EST (2300 UTC) / 6:00p CST (0000 UTC). Although a portion of this state is in CT, the majority of the polls are closed by the time indicated ET when the networks feel they can project.

Kansas General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 7:00p MST (0200 UTC) / 7:00p CST (0100 UTC). For practical purposes, polling places open at 7 AM and close at 7 PM local time on Election Day. Technically, in the Central time zone, polling places open at 7 AM and close at 7 PM. However, a county may open the polls no earlier than 6 AM local time and close them no later than 8 PM. In the Mountain time zone, polling places open at 6 AM and close at 6 PM. However, a county may open the polls no earlier than 5 AM local time and close them no later than 7 PM.

Kentucky General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 6:00p EST (2300 UTC) / 6:00p CST (0000 UTC). Poll closing time could be rather problematic in KENTUCKY. A large chunk of the state is in Central Time [but the networks consider that "most of the polls have closed" in KENTUCKY by 6 PM Eastern Time and so, if they can, project at the same time they project INDIANA]. Central Time voters in KENTUCKY may note the networks' willingness/eagerness to project a winner as early as 6 PM Eastern Time.

Maine General Election: Polls close at 8:00p EST (0100 UTC). Voting places open between 6:00a Eastern Time and 10:00a Eastern Time depending on the size of the town.

Massachusetts General Election: Polls close at 8:00p EST (0100 UTC). By local option, municipalities may open their polls as early as 5:45 a.m.

Michigan General Election and Special Election: Polls close asynchronously at 8:00p EST (0100 UTC) / 8:00p CST (0200 UTC). Relatively small portions of this state are in Central Time and so the vast majority of the polls are closed by the time indicated Eastern Time, when the networks feel they can project.

Minnesota General Election: Polls close at 8:00p CST (0200 UTC). Voting begins at 10:00 AM in some townships.

Montana General Election: Polls close at 8:00p MST (0300 UTC). A polling place with less than 400 registered voters must be open at least from noon to 8 p.m. or until all registered electors have voted.

Nebraska General Election: Polls close synchronously at 8:00p CST (0200 UTC) / 7:00p MST (0200 UTC). The polls open and close at the same GMT/UTC time, that is, polls open and close at a particular local time in the advanced time zone and open and close one hour earlier local time in the lagging time zone.

New Hampshire General Election: Polls close at 8:00p EST (0100 UTC). Polls must open by 11 AM however most open between 7 AM and 8 AM. NEW HAMPSHIRE permits its 13 cities to keep their polls open until 8 PM Eastern Time by local option- however, as there ARE only 13 cities among New Hampshire's 234 County subdivisions [the 221 "non-cities", of course, being the proverbial New England Town(ship)], the fact is that the vast majority of NH's polls have closed by 7 PM Eastern Time and the networks have no problem considering this hour as the earliest hour of potential projection. Some locations open at 12:00 AM Eastern Time and remain open "until all have voted".

North Carolina General Election: Polls close at 7:30p EST (0030 UTC). In extraordinary circumstances, the county board of elections may direct that the polls remain open until 8:30 p.m.

North Dakota General Election and Special Election for Public Service Commissioner: Polls close asynchronously at 9:00p CST (0300 UTC) / 9:00p MST (0400 UTC). Voting places open between 7:00a to 12:00n and remain open until 7:00p to 9:00p depending on the size of the town. The western half of the state is in Mountain Time but that is, of course, the more sparsely populated part of the state, so it is not as problematic to the networks as might be otherwise suggested by simple geography. In 2018, polls closed at 8pm CST in Cass County and at 7pm CST or 7pm MST in most other polling places.

Oregon General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 8:00p MST (0300 UTC) / 8:00p PST (0400 UTC). Oregon votes by mail. Ballots must be in the hands of election workers or in an official drop-off location no later than 8 PM local time. OREGON is the reverse of the norm because the by far largest portion of the state is in the lagging time zone and the networks have no choice but to not consider the OREGON polls closed until 8 PM Pacific.

Rhode Island General Election: Polls close at 8:00p EST (0100 UTC). Most polls are open at 7am. However, polls may open as late as 9am by location.

South Dakota General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 7:00p CST (0100 UTC) / 7:00p MST (0200 UTC).

Tennessee General Election: Polls reportedly close synchronously at 8:00p EST (0100 UTC) / 7:00p CST (0100 UTC). The polls close at the same GMT/UTC time, that is, polls close at a particular local time in the advanced time zone and close one hour earlier local time in the lagging time zone. Poll opening times are set by county. In some counties, polls open at 9a in the prevailing time zone.

Texas General Election: Polls reportedly close asynchronously at 7:00p CST (0100 UTC) / 7:00p MST (0200 UTC). Only El Paso and Hudspeth Counties are in Mountain Time, so the vast majority of polls have closed in Texas by 7 PM Central Time.

Vermont General Election: Polls close at 7:00p EST (0000 UTC). Polls may open as early as 5:00a and no later than 10:00a as set by the Board of Civil Authority.

Washington General Election and Special General for Secretary of State: Polls close at 8:00p PST (0400 UTC). Washington votes by mail. Ballots must be postmarked no later than Midnight local time going into Election Day itself, or dropped off in a designated ballot box by 8 p.m. local time on Election Day itself.


Time zone abbreviations

UTC: Coordinated Universal Time (Greenwich England)
AST: Atlantic Standard Time (Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands), UTC - 4 hours
EST: Eastern Standard Time, UTC - 5 hours
EDT: Eastern Daylight Time, UTC - 4 hours
CST: Central Standard Time, UTC - 6 hours
CDT: Central Daylight Time, UTC - 5 hours
MST: Mountain Standard Time, UTC - 7 hours
MDT: Mountain Daylight Time, UTC - 6 hours
PST: Pacific Standard Time, UTC - 8 hours
PDT: Pacific Daylight Time, UTC - 7 hours
AKST: Alaska Standard Time, UTC - 9 hours
AKDT: Alaska Daylight Time, UTC - 8 hours
HAST: Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time, UTC - 10 hours
HADT: Hawaii-Aleutian Daylight Time (Hawii does not observe daylight time), UTC - 9 hours
ChST: Chamorro Standard Time (Guam, Northern Marianas), UTC + 10 hours
SST: Samoa Standard Time, UTC - 11 hours
m: midnight
a: AM
p: PM


Primary dates marked "presumably" and polling times marked "reportedly" are based on unofficial or estimated data (especially as regards local variations from a jurisdictionwide statutory and/or regulatory standard) and are, thereby, subject to change.


2022 General Election Outline


Modified .