The Green Papers: New Hampshire 2021 General Election
Flag images courtesy of The World Flag Database. Copyright New Hampshire
Elections for Statewide offices and Congress
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 2 and 3)
2022-2030 Representatives:2(0.46% of 435)
2010 Census:1,321,445 (0.43% of 309,785,186)
2012, 2016, 2020 Electoral Votes:4(0.74% of 538)
2012-2020 Representatives:2(0.46% of 435)

  Alabama    Alaska    American Samoa    Arizona    Arkansas    California    Colorado    Connecticut    Delaware    District of Columbia    Florida    Georgia    Guam    Hawaii    Idaho    Illinois    Indiana    Iowa    Kansas    Kentucky    Louisiana    Maine    Maryland    Massachusetts    Michigan    Minnesota    Mississippi    Missouri    Montana    Nebraska    Nevada    New Hampshire    New Jersey    New Mexico    New York    North Carolina    North Dakota    Northern Marianas    Ohio    Oklahoma    Oregon    Pennsylvania    Puerto Rico    Rhode Island    South Carolina    South Dakota    Tennessee    Texas    Utah    Vermont    Virgin Islands    Virginia    Washington    West Virginia    Wisconsin    Wyoming 

New Hampshire State and Local Government

The primary is for the Democratic, Libertarian, and Republican parties.


U.S. Senate  6 year term. No Term Limit. 117th Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 2 Democratic Senator  Jeanne Shaheen
First elected: 2008; re-elected: 2014, 2020.
Seat up for regular election: Tuesday 3 November 2026

Class 3 Democratic Senator  Margaret Wood "Maggie" Hassan
First elected: 2016
Seat up for regular election: Tuesday 8 November 2022
 Candidate list (3)
  Candidate Democratic     William Bryk
  Candidate Republican     Gerard Beloin
FEC S0NH00284
  Candidate Republican     Donald C. "Don" Bolduc
FEC S0NH00326

Governor  2 year term, Election Cycle: 2020, 2022. Term Limit: None. GOVERNOR is the only Statewide elected officer, All Governors

  Republican Governor  Chris Sununu
First elected: 2016; re-elected: 2018, 2020.
Chair up for regular election: Tuesday 8 November 2022

117th U.S. House of Representatives  2-year term. Election Cycle 2020, 2024. No Term Limit. 117th House
Partisan Composition (primary disposition):
2 Democratic (2 Undetermined)

Incumbent - 117th Congress
CD 1 Democratic Member of Congress  Christopher C. "Chris" Pappas
First elected: 2018
Seat up for regular election: Tuesday 8 November 2022

Incumbent - 117th Congress
CD 2 Democratic Member of Congress  Ann McLane "Annie" Kuster
First elected: 2012
Seat up for regular election: Tuesday 8 November 2022

Political Parties    Parties appear in parenthesis and italics when a candidate receives the endorsement of a given Party and/or official sources indicate a candidate's association with a particular Party but only where the Party in question does not appear on the actual ballot as such.

Major Parties   Those parties which received electoral votes through winning a plurality of a state's [or the District of Columbia's] popular vote in any presidential election between 1984 and 2016. See Classification of Political parties.
  Democratic (affiliates): 4 incumbents, 1 candidate
  Republican: 1 incumbent, 2 candidates
Major Third Parties   Any Party, other than a Major Party, receiving a minimum of 15/100ths of 1 percent of the nationwide popular vote in any presidential election between 1984 and 2016. See Classification of Political parties.
Other Third Parties
  Justice Party
  Natural Law (affiliates)
Candidates running under the banner of more than one party are counted towards each party's total. A candidate who has lost a primary or is apparently no longer a candidate is not counted.


Candidates for office appear on this page in italics where 'The Green Papers' does not yet have independent confirmation from a legal election authority that the person has been officially certified to appear on the ballot.

Primary dates marked "presumably" and polling times marked "reportedly" are based on unofficial or estimated data (especially as regards local variations from a jurisdictionwide statutory and/or regulatory standard) and are, thereby, subject to change.

"FEC" indicates the Federal Election Commission (FEC) Campaign Finance Summary.

When available, we post each candidate's FEC identification number, the date of their most recently filed Report of Receipts and Disbursements, their "Tot" [Total Receipts (contributions received or what came in: FEC Form 3, Line 16, Column B)] and their "Dsb" [Total Disbursements (expenditures or what was spent: FEC Form 3, Line 23, Column B)]. A link is provided to the Federal Election Commission's Summary Report for those who might wish to explore the details.

If a candidate raises or spends $5,000 or less, he or she is not subject to FEC reporting requirements.

Links Links to other web sites

Constitution   Links to State Constitutions
  State Constitution
Election Authority
  New Hampshire Secretary of State
  Secretary of State's Election Division
Legislature   Links to State Legislatures
  New Hampshire General Court
  New Hampshire Democratic Party
  New Hampshire Republican State Committee
Third Party
  Justice Party of New Hampshire
  Libertarian Party of New Hampshire
  Natural Law Party of New Hampshire
  New Hampshire Liberty Party
  The Unity Party of New Hampshire
Media & others
  Concord Monitor - Concord
  Foster's Daily Democrat - Dover
  Granite State News
  New Hampshire Business Review
  New Hampshire Gazette
  New Hampshire Public Radio
  New Hampshire Public Television (The Union Leader)
  NH Journal
  NH1 - Concord - New Hampshire - Seacoast Newspapers
  The Cabinet Press - Bedford - Hollis - Merrimack - Milford
  The Telegraph - Nashua
  The Union Leader and New Hampshire Sunday News
  WMUR TV - ABC - Manchester - Portsmouth


  2021 General Election Home  
2021 Primaries and Runoffs for Statewide offices/Congress
  Alphabetically   --   Alphabetically with Filing Deadlines  
  Chronologically   --   Chronologically with Filing Deadlines  
  Poll Closing Times (with time zones)  
General Election Poll Closing Times (with time zones)
  Alphabetically   --   Chronologically  
Poll Closing Times (list)
  All Elections     Primary/Special Elections     General Elections  
  Governors     Senate     House  
  Senators by 'Class'  
  Governors by election 'cycle'  
  Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance  
  Open Governor's Chairs, Senate and House Seats (the incumbent is not running for re-election)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with no incumbent running for them  
  Uncontested Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats (one candidate running for office)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with multiple incumbents running for them  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with only one major party candidate running for office  
  2021 Partisan Composition by State  
  Political Parties  
  Senate Electoral Classes  
  Comparative Political Party Predominance in each State, 2000 thru 2016  
  Political Party Floor Leaders in the Congress of the United States  
  Dates of DIRECT PRIMARY Elections re: Major Party Nominations for Statewide and/or Federal Office  
  Length of Terms of Office of STATE Governors throughout American History