The Green Papers: 2010 Midterm Election

Copyright All-up chart of Governors by election 'cycle'

Governors, in all states except New Hampshire and Vermont, serve 4 year terms.
The Governors of New Hampshire and Vermont serve 2 year terms.

Regular Gubernatorial elections are held the first Tuesday following the first Monday in November in all states except Louisiana. Louisiana will hold a non-partisan primary on Saturday 22 October 2011 and, if no candidate receives 50% of the vote, a Saturday 19 November 2011 runoff.

[next regular election:
Tuesday 2 November 2010]
Off Year Election
[next regular election:
Tuesday 8 November 2011]
[next regular election:
Tuesday 6 November 2012]
Off Year Election
[most recent election:
Tuesday 5 November 2013]
Alabama: Riley (R)Kentucky: Beshear (D)Delaware: Markell (D)New Jersey: Christie (R)
Alaska: Parnell (R)Louisiana: Jindal (R) (next election Saturday 22 October 2011)Indiana: Daniels (R)Virginia: McDonnell (R)
Arizona: Brewer (R)Mississippi: Barbour (R)Missouri: Nixon (D) 
Arkansas: Beebe (D) Montana: Schweitzer (D) 
California: Schwarzenegger (R) New Hampshire: 2-year term, previous regular election 2010 
Colorado: Ritter (D) North Carolina: Perdue (D) 
Connecticut: Rell (R) North Dakota: Hoeven (R) 
Florida: Crist (R) Utah: 4-year term, previous regular election 2008 
Georgia: Perdue (R) Vermont: 2-year term, previous regular election 2010 
Hawaii: Lingle (R) Washington: Gregoire (D) 
Idaho: Otter (R) West Virginia: Tomblin (D) 
Illinois: Quinn (D)   
Iowa: Culver (D)   
Kansas: Parkinson (D)   
Maine: Baldacci (D)   
Maryland: O'Malley (D)   
Massachusetts: Patrick (D)   
Michigan: Granholm (D)   
Minnesota: Pawlenty (R)   
Nebraska: Heineman (R)   
Nevada: Gibbons (R)   
New Hampshire: Lynch (D)   
New Mexico: Richardson (D)   
New York: Paterson (D)   
Ohio: Strickland (D)   
Oklahoma: Henry (D)   
Oregon: Kulongoski (D)   
Pennsylvania: Rendell (D)   
Rhode Island: Carcieri (R)   
South Carolina: Sanford (R)   
South Dakota: Rounds (R)   
Tennessee: Bredesen (D)   
Texas: Perry (R)   
Utah: Herbert (R)   
Vermont: Douglas (R)   
Wisconsin: Doyle (D)   
Wyoming: Freudenthal (D)   
2 November 2010
19 Democratic (D)
18 Republican (R)
8 November 2011
1 Democratic (D)
2 Republican (R)
6 November 2012
6 Democratic (D)
2 Republican (R)
5 November 2013
2 Republican (R)
Grand Total
26 Democratic (D)
24 Republican (R)

  2010 Midterm Election Home  
  U.S. Senate Popular Vote and FEC Total Receipts by Party  
  Gubernatorial Popular Vote by Party  
  U.S. House Popular Vote and FEC Total Receipts by Party  
  Close Contests Summary - Decision by 2% or less  
  Contests Where No Candidate Received a Majority  
2010 Primaries and Runoffs for Statewide offices/Congress
  Alphabetically   --   Chronologically   --   Poll Closing Times  
General Election Poll Closing Times
  Alphabetically   --   Chronologically  
  Polling Hours  
  Governors     Senate     House  
  Senators by 'Class'  
  Governors by election 'cycle'  
  Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance   --   Senatorial Primaries at a Glance  
  Open Governor's Chairs, Senate and House Seats (the incumbent is not running for re-election)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with no incumbent running for them  
  Uncontested Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats (one candidate running for office)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with multiple incumbents running for them  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with only one major party candidate running for office  
  2010 Partisan Composition by State  
  Political Parties  
  Senate Electoral Classes  
  Change in Representation in U.S. House by REGION and Subregion between 2000 and 2002  
  Political Party Floor Leaders in the Congress of the United States