The Green Papers
2010 Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance


This "at a glance" look at the primary in each State simply lists the winner (and, in many cases, the candidate who came in second) in each Primary in chronological order.

boldface followed by (inc) indicates the incumbent

2010 Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance
Date State Democrat
     Winner % Second %      Winner % Second %
Tuesday 2 February 2010 Illinois   Quinn (inc) N Hynes     Brady 20 Dillard 20
Tuesday 2 March 2010 Texas   White         Perry (inc) N Hutchison  
Tuesday 13 April 2010 Texas R         R        
Tuesday 4 May 2010 Ohio   Strickland (inc) U       Kasich U    
Tuesday 11 May 2010 Nebraska   Lakers U       Heineman (inc)      
The winner subsequently withdrew and was replaced by Meister
Tuesday 18 May 2010 Arkansas   Beebe (inc) P       Keet P    
Oregon   Kitzhaber L Bradbury     Dudley 40 Alley 32
Pennsylvania   Onorato 45 Wagner 24   Corbett L Rohrer  
Tuesday 25 May 2010 Idaho   Allred         Otter (inc) D    
Tuesday 1 June 2010 Alabama   Sparks L Davis     Byrne (28%) v. Bentley (25%) proceed to 13 July runoff
New Mexico   Denish U       Martinez N Weh  
Tuesday 8 June 2010 Arkansas R         R        
California   Brown         Whitman L Poizner  
Iowa   Culver (inc) U       Branstad N Vander Plaats  
Maine   Mitchell 35 Rowe 23   LePage 37 Otten 17
Nevada   Reid L Conquest     Sandoval D Gibbons  
South Carolina   Sheheen D Rex     Haley (49%) v. Barrett (22%) proceed to 22 June runoff
South Dakota   Heidepriem P       Daugaard N Munsterman  
Tuesday 22 June 2010 South Carolina R         R Haley L Barrett  
Utah   Corroon C       Herbert (inc) C    
Tuesday 29 June 2010 South Dakota R         R        
Tuesday 13 July 2010 Alabama R         R Bentley D Byrne  
Tuesday 20 July 2010 Georgia   Barnes L Baker     Handel (34%) v. Deal (24%) to 10 August runoff
Tuesday 27 July 2010 Oklahoma   Askins N Edmondson     Fallin D Brogdon  
Tuesday 3 August 2010 Kansas   Holland U       Brownback      
Michigan   Bernero D Dillon     Snyder 37 Hoekstra 26
Thursday 5 August 2010 Tennessee   McWherter U       Haslam 48 Wamp 29
Tuesday 10 August 2010 Colorado   Hickenlooper P       Maes N McInnis  
Connecticut   Malloy D Lamont     Foley 42 Fedele 39
Georgia R         R Deal N Handel  
Minnesota   Dayton 41 Anderson Kelliher 40   Emmer      
Tuesday 17 August 2010 Wyoming   Petersen 48 Gosar 37   Mead 29 Meyer 28
Tuesday 24 August 2010 Alaska   Berkowitz 49 French 39   Parnell (inc) 49 Walker 34
Arizona   Goddard U       Brewer (inc)      
Florida   Sink         Scott 46 McCollum 43
Oklahoma R         R        
Vermont   Shumlin 25 Racine 25   Dubie U    
Saturday 4 September 2010 Guam   Gutierrez U       Calvo D Cruz  
Saturday 11 September 2010 Virgin Islands   deJongh (inc) D Donastorg            
Tuesday 14 September 2010 Maryland   O'Malley (inc)         Ehrlich      
Massachusetts   Patrick (inc) U       Baker U    
New Hampshire   Lynch (inc)         Stephen L Kimball  
New York   Cuomo U       Paladino L Lazio  
Rhode Island   Caprio U       Robitaille L Moffitt  
Wisconsin   Barrett         Walker D Neumann  
Saturday 18 September 2010 Hawaii   Abercrombie D Hannemann     Aiona      


  • If a candidate wins 75.5% or more of the primary vote, the second place finisher is not listed.
  • U means that this candidate ran in the primary unopposed (that is, with no other candidates appearing on the ballot but him/her). Please note that write-ins do NOT count as such "other candidates on the ballot" but the appearance of "Uncommitted" (or equivalent, such as "None of the Above") on a ballot DOES.
  • L indicates a landslide majority [60.5 to 75.4% of the primary vote] for the winner.
  • D indicates a decisive majority [52.5 to 60.4% of the primary vote] for the winner.
  • N indicates a narrow majority [50.0(+1 vote) to 52.4% of the primary vote] for the winner.
  • Where a winning (or, in a runoff State, leading) candidate has failed to gain at least a majority of the primary vote, the winner(leader) of the primary and the candidate who came in second are both listed with their respective percentages of the primary vote rounded up or down to the nearest whole integer.
  • C indicates the Party's nominee was chosen by a Party-run process other than the Primary (State Convention, Party Central Committee or equivalent).
  • P indicates Primary cancelled / nomination by default because nominee was the only candidate to have filed for this Party's Primary for this office. P also applies to nominees-to-be by apparent Party consensus (i.e. no opposition at an ensuing Convention).
  • R indicates any Runoff which has been scheduled for this date.

  2010 Midterm Election Home  
  U.S. Senate Popular Vote and FEC Total Receipts by Party  
  Gubernatorial Popular Vote by Party  
  U.S. House Popular Vote and FEC Total Receipts by Party  
  Close Contests Summary - Decision by 2% or less  
  Contests Where No Candidate Received a Majority  
2010 Primaries and Runoffs for Statewide offices/Congress
  Alphabetically   --   Chronologically   --   Poll Closing Times  
General Election Poll Closing Times
  Alphabetically   --   Chronologically  
  Polling Hours  
  Governors     Senate     House  
  Senators by 'Class'  
  Governors by election 'cycle'  
  Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance   --   Senatorial Primaries at a Glance  
  Open Governor's Chairs, Senate and House Seats (the incumbent is not running for re-election)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with no incumbent running for them  
  Uncontested Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats (one candidate running for office)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with multiple incumbents running for them  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with only one major party candidate running for office  
  2010 Partisan Composition by State  
  Political Parties  
  Senate Electoral Classes  
  Change in Representation in U.S. House by REGION and Subregion between 2000 and 2002  
  Political Party Floor Leaders in the Congress of the United States