The Green Papers: State and Local Government
Copyright Tennessee
Governor:1(Term Limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 1 and 2)
2000 Census:5,700,037 (2.02% of 281,998,273)
2004, 2008 Electors:11(2.04% of 538)
2002-2010 Representatives:9(2.07% of 435)
2010 Census:6,375,431 (2.06% of 309,785,186)
2012, 2016, 2020 Electors:11(2.04% of 538)
2012-2020 Representatives:9(2.07% of 435)

  Alabama    Alaska    American Samoa    Arizona    Arkansas    California    Colorado    Connecticut    Delaware    District of Columbia    Florida    Georgia    Guam    Hawaii    Idaho    Illinois    Indiana    Iowa    Kansas    Kentucky    Louisiana    Maine    Maryland    Massachusetts    Michigan    Minnesota    Mississippi    Missouri    Montana    Nebraska    Nevada    New Hampshire    New Jersey    New Mexico    New York    North Carolina    North Dakota    Northern Marianas    Ohio    Oklahoma    Oregon    Pennsylvania    Puerto Rico    Rhode Island    South Carolina    South Dakota    Tennessee    Texas    Utah    Vermont    Virgin Islands    Virginia    Washington    West Virginia    Wisconsin    Wyoming 

States Alphabetically    Current Tennessee Statewide Office Holders

Official Name/Status   All States
 The STATE of Tennessee
 Status: STATE of the Union
 Organized as a Territory: 26 May 1790. 1 Stat. 123: as the "Territory South of the River Ohio" (informally, the "Southwest Territory"); previously, what would become Tennessee had been part of the State of North Carolina
 Admitted to the Union as a State: 1 June 1796 by an Act of Congress (1 Stat. 491) recognizing a State government already formed
  The 16th state.

Traditional Sections and Regions   All States
 Section: SOUTH
 Region: Upper ["Border"] South
 Survey: Metes & Bounds

Constitutions   All States     Links to State Constitutions
 Enabling Act: [Tennessee never had an Enabling Act prior to its Admission as a State]
1st (1796-1835) [Adopted: 6 February 1796 Convention convened, 11 January 1796, Ratified: 6 February 1796 not submitted to the People; effective upon Admission, 1 June 1796]
2nd (1835-1870) [Adopted: 30 August 1834 Convention convened, 19 May 1834, Ratified: 6 March 1835 ratified by a vote of 42,666 to 17,691]
3rd (1870-) [Adopted: 23 February 1870 Convention convened, 10 January 1870, Ratified: 26 March 1870 ratified by a vote of 98,128 to 33,872]

Executive Branch   All States
Chief Executive
Successor to a Vacancy
  Speaker of the State Senate
Major Executive Officers Elected Statewide   All States   2021 Office holders
  Governor: 4 year term, Election Cycle: 2018, 2022. Term Limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms. GOVERNOR is the only Statewide elected officer

Legislative Branch   All States
Upper House
Lower House
  House of Representatives

Judicial Branch   All States
Court of Last Resort
  Supreme Court
Intermediate Appellate Court
  Court of Appeals [IN: grand division FOR: State]
  Court of Criminal Appeals [IN: grand division FOR: State]

Local Government
  County [Type: Strong, Executive: Executive, Legislative: BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS]
   district [Type: None, Executive and Legislative: no associated governmental structure]
Incorporated Municipalities  All States

Statutory Election Information   All States
General Election   All States
  1st Tuesday after 1st Monday in November in even-numbered years
[TN Constitution Art.II, sec.7 re: members of both houses of the General Assembly; TN Constitution Art. III, sec. 2 specifically mandates that the Governor be chosen at the same time as members of the General Assembly in the General Election immediately preceding the end of the incumbent Governor's term of office]
Presidential Primary   All States
  (--2003) 2d Tuesday in March of Presidential Election years
[TN Code 2-13-205]
  (2003-2007) On the second Tuesday in February before presidential electors are elected, a presidential preference primary shall be held for each statewide political party.
[TN Code 2-13-205]
  (2007-2011) On the first Tuesday in February before presidential electors are elected, a presidential preference primary shall be held for each statewide political party.
[TN Code 2-13-205]
  (2011--) On the first Tuesday in March before presidential electors are elected, a presidential preference primary shall be held for each statewide political party.
[TN Code 2-13-205]
State Primary   All States
  1st Thursday in August
[TN Code 2-13-202]
(NOTE: this date happens to be the one set aside for that known as the "regular August election" at which "judicial and other civil officers" are elected per TN Constitution Art. VII, sec. 5 and TN Code 2-3-202; TN Code 2-13-202 mandates the nomination of State and Federal officers at this "regular August election")
Polling times   All States
  polls open: no later than 8 AM local time in the more populous counties
...but nothing shall prevent an earlier opening time in the discretion of the county election commission....
(in all counties, polls must be open no less than 10 continuous hours);
no polling place in the State may be open more than 13 continuous hours
polls close: 8 PM local time in the Eastern Time Zone;
7 PM local time in the Central Time Zone
[TN Code 2-3-201]

Links  Links to other web sites
Election Authority
  Department of State
  Division of Elections
  Tennessee Registry of Election Finance
Legislature    All States
  Tennessee General Assembly
  Tennessee General Assembly - House
  Tennessee General Assembly - Senate
  Tennessee Democratic Party
  Tennessee Republican Party
Third Party
  Constitution Party of Tennessee
  Green Party of Tennessee
  Green Party of Tennessee
  Libertarian Party of Tennessee
  Tennessee Right to Life
  The Unity Party of Tennessee
Media & others
  Citizen Tribune - Lakeway Region
  Cleveland Daily Banner
  Lebanon Democrat & Wilson County News - Tennessee
  Shelbyville Times-Gazette
  Southern Standard - McMinnville
  The Daily News Journal - Murfreesboro
  The Elizabethton Star
  The Knoxville News Sentinel
  The Oak Ridger - Oak Ridge
  The Tennessean - Nashville
  WATE TV - ABC - Knoxville
  WATN-TV - WLMT-TV - - ABC - Memphis
  WBBJ TV - ABC - Jackson
  WBIR TV - NBC - Knoxville
  WDEF TV - CBS - Chattanooga
  WJHL TV - CBS - Johnson City
  WKRN TV - ABC - Nashville
  WMC TV - NBC - Memphis
  WREG TV - Memphis
  WSMV TV - NBC - Nashville
  WTNZ TV - FOX - Knoxville
  WTVC - ABC - Chattanooga
  WTVF TV - CBS - Nashville
  WVLT TV - CBS - Knoxville

  State and Local Government Home  
  Historical Data in the STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT section  
  Traditional Sections and Regions   --   Explanation  
  Constitutions   --   Explanation   --   Links to State Constitutions  
  Official Name and Status History   --   Explanation  
  Executive Branch  
  Major Executive Officers Elected Statewide  
  Legislative Branch   --   Links to State Legislatures  
  Length of Terms of LEGISLATORS in the Several States of the American Union  
  Combined Executive and Legislative Branches  
  Judicial Branch - State Court Systems   --   Judiciary Links  
Local Government
  Primary and Minor Civil Divisions     Incorporated Municipalities     Combined Civil Divisions and Incorporated Municipalities  
  Statutory Election Information: General Election, Presidential and State Primary, Polling Times  
  Compilation of Statutes     United States STATUTES AT LARGE: Arrangement  
  United States Code: Arrangement     CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS: Arrangement