The Green Papers
2008 Presidential Primaries, Caucuses, and Conventions
Copyright Puerto Rico Republican
Presidential Nominating Process
Territorial Caucus: Sunday 24 February 2008
Territorial Convention: Saturday 8 March 2008
Delegate Votes
Hard TotalFloor Vote
McCain, John Sidney, III188  90.38%20  86.96%23 100.00%
Huckabee, Michael Dale "Mike"10   4.81%  
Paul, Ronald Ernest "Ron"9   4.33%  
Write-in1   0.48%  
Uncommitted 3  13.04% 
Total208 100.00%23 100.00%23 100.00%

States Chronologically   States Alphabetically     Republican Convention     Puerto Rico Democrat    
Puerto Rico Primaries for Statewide offices and Congress
Puerto Rico State and Local Government


Sunday 24 February 2008: Senator McCain, having received more than 2/3 of the vote, receives all 20 delegates.

  • Results from a media source (
  • McCain Wins 20 GOP Delegates ( Republican Party members in Puerto Rico have awarded all 20 national convention delegates to Arizona Senator John McCain. Runners-up Mike Huckabee and Ron Paul each won 5% of the vote but received no delegates.
  • Espaldarazo a McCain: "Unos 1,170 delegados tienen derecho a votar en la asamblea republicana."

17 January 2008 reference from a media source: Buscan atención los republicanos de la Isla. (Thanks to Manuel Alvarez-Rivera of

Puerto Rico revised its process based upon a lack of funding for a state primary. Obsolete reference to abandoned primary: The Republican Party of Puerto Rico - On the road to the White House


Sunday 24 February 2008: Territorial Caucus

20 of 23 of Puerto Rico's delegates to the Republican National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders in today's Puerto Rico Presidential Caucuses.

  • 20 delegates are to be allocated to the presidential contenders as follows:
    • If a candidate receives 2/3 of the vote, that candidate receives all 20 delegates.
    • If 3 candidates receive more than 15% of the vote, the delegates are distributed 10, 6, and 4, respectively.
    • If only 2 candidates receive more than 15% of the vote, the delegates are distributed 13 and 7, respectively.

Delegates are bound to endorse the presidential candidate which they are certified as supporting.


Saturday 8 March 2008: Territorial Convention

In addition, 3 party leaders, the National Committeeman, the National Committeewoman, and the chairman of the Puerto Rico's Republican Party, will attend the convention as unpledged delegates by virtue of their position.

Media reports state that the preferences of the three party leader delegates are-- Fortuño: Giuliani; Zoraida Fonalledas: Mitt Romney; Mayor of Aguadilla, Carlos Méndez: Fred Thompson.


  Election - Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
  Presidential Hopefuls  
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Poll Closing Times Chronologically   --   Poll Closing Times Alphabetically  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
  Weekly Delegate Distribution and Availability  
Delegate Counts
  State by State Summary  
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
  Democratic Unpledged Delegate Preferences  
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  Democratic Detailed Delegate Allocation   --   Republican Detailed Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
  Primaries at a Glance  
Ballot Access
  Democratic Candidates   --   Republican Candidates  
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Third Parties (Green, Libertarian)  
  Straw Polls