The Green Papers: State and Local Government
Copyright Idaho
Governor:1(Term Limit: None; 4-year term)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 2 and 3)
2000 Census:1,297,274 (0.46% of 281,998,273)
2004, 2008 Electors:4(0.74% of 538)
2002-2010 Representatives:2(0.46% of 435)
2010 Census:1,573,499 (0.51% of 309,785,186)
2012, 2016, 2020 Electors:4(0.74% of 538)
2012-2020 Representatives:2(0.46% of 435)

  Alabama    Alaska    American Samoa    Arizona    Arkansas    California    Colorado    Connecticut    Delaware    District of Columbia    Florida    Georgia    Guam    Hawaii    Idaho    Illinois    Indiana    Iowa    Kansas    Kentucky    Louisiana    Maine    Maryland    Massachusetts    Michigan    Minnesota    Mississippi    Missouri    Montana    Nebraska    Nevada    New Hampshire    New Jersey    New Mexico    New York    North Carolina    North Dakota    Northern Marianas    Ohio    Oklahoma    Oregon    Pennsylvania    Puerto Rico    Rhode Island    South Carolina    South Dakota    Tennessee    Texas    Utah    Vermont    Virgin Islands    Virginia    Washington    West Virginia    Wisconsin    Wyoming 

States Alphabetically    Current Idaho Statewide Office Holders

Official Name/Status   All States
 The STATE of Idaho
 Status: STATE of the Union
 Organized as a Territory: 3 March 1863. 12 Stat. 808: carved out of Dakota and Washington Territories
 Admitted to the Union as a State: 3 July 1890 by an Act of Congress (26 Stat. 215) recognizing a State government already formed
  The 43rd state.

Traditional Sections and Regions   All States
 Section: WEST
 Region: Intermountain
 Survey: Public Domain

Constitutions   All States     Links to State Constitutions
 Enabling Act: [Idaho never had an Enabling Act prior to its Admission as a State]
1st (1890-) [Adopted: 6 August 1889 Convention convened, 4 July 1889, Ratified: 5 November 1889 effective upon Admission, 3 July 1890]

Executive Branch   All States
Chief Executive
Successor to a Vacancy
  Lieutenant Governor [elected separately from GOVERNOR]
Major Executive Officers Elected Statewide   All States   2021 Office holders
  Governor: 4 year term, Election Cycle: 2018, 2022. Term Limit: None
  Lieutenant Governor: 4 year term, Election Cycle: 2018, 2022. Elected separately from Governor
  Secretary of State: 4 year term, Election Cycle: 2018, 2022
  Attorney General: 4 year term, Election Cycle: 2018, 2022
  Treasurer: 4 year term, Election Cycle: 2018, 2022
  Controller: 4 year term, Election Cycle: 2018, 2022
  Superintendent of Public Instruction: 4 year term, Election Cycle: 2018, 2022

Legislative Branch   All States
Upper House
Lower House
  House of Representatives

Judicial Branch   All States
Court of Last Resort
  Supreme Court Constitutional Court [IN and FOR: State]
Intermediate Appellate Court
  Court of Appeals (1982--) [IN and FOR: State]
General Trial Jurisdiction
  District Court Constitutional Court [IN: district FOR: county]
Limited Jurisdiction
  Justice of the Peace (--1971) Constitutional Court [IN: precinct FOR: county]
  Magistrate Division (1971--) [IN and FOR: county. part of the District Court: primarily intended to replace the Justices of the Peace as well as take on former Probate Court jurisdiction]
Special Jurisdiction
  Probate Court (--1971) Constitutional Court [IN and FOR: county. functions transferred to Magistrate Division]

Local Government
  County [Type: Strong, Executive and Legislative: BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS]
   precinct [Type: None, Executive and Legislative: no associated governmental structure]
Incorporated Municipalities  All States
    Idaho Civil Divisions and Municipalities

Key Statewide / Federal Officials  All States
  Idaho Officials

Statutory Election Information   All States
General Election   All States
  1st Tuesday after 1st Monday in November in even-numbered years.
(ID Code 34-601(2) )
Presidential Primary   All States
  (--2011) same date as the State Primary [4th Tuesday in May in even-numbered years. (ID Code 34-601(1) ) ] in Presidential Election years.
(ID Code 34-601(4) )
  (2011-2012) Presidential primary elections shall be held in conjunction with the primary election, on the third Tuesday of May in each presidential election year. [Idaho Statutes Title 34 Chapter 1. 34-102. s/ 23 February 2011]
  (2012-2015) Idaho House Bill H391, signed by Governor C.L. Butch Otter (Republican) on 1 March 2012 effective 1 March 2012 removes references to the Presidential primary from [Idaho Statutes Title 34 Chapter 1. 34-102].
  (2015--) A presidential primary shall be held on the 2nd Tuesday in March in each presidential election year ... Any party that intends to participate shall notify the Secretary of State no later than the last Tuesday in the November. [Idaho Statutes 34-102 (2); also 34-106 (d); 34-601. (4); 34-731 (1); s/ 9 April 2015]
State Primary   All States
  (--2010) A primary election shall be held on the fourth Tuesday in May, 1980, and every two (2) years thereafter on the above-mentioned Tuesday. [ID Code 34-601(1)]
  (2011--) Primary elections shall be held on the third Tuesday of May in each even-numbered year. [Idaho Statutes Title 34 Chapter 1. 34-102. s/ 23 February 2011]
Polling times   All States
  Polls open: 8 AM local time
(however, the County Clerk has the authority to open the polls in his/her County at 7 AM local time)
Polls close: 8 PM local time
(ID Code 34-1101(1) )
[NOTE: the bulk of 10 counties in the northern portion of IDAHO (the so-called "panhandle") are in the PACIFIC TIME ZONE... thus, the polling times in these counties are one hour relative to Universal Time (GMT) later than those in the other 34 counties of the State, which are in the MOUNTAIN TIME ZONE]

Links  Links to other web sites
Election Authority
  Idaho Secretary of State Election Division
Legislature    All States
  Idaho Legislature
  Idaho Legislature
  Idaho Democratic Party
  The Idaho Republican Party
Third Party
  America First Party of Idaho
  Christian Liberty Party of Idaho
  Green Party of Idaho
  Justice Party of Idaho
  Right to Life of Idaho
  The Constitution Party of Idaho 6 August 2018: Disaffiliates from National Party.
Media & others
  Coeur d'Alene Press
  Idaho Press-Tribune
  Idaho Public Television
  KIFI TV - ABC - Idaho Falls
  KMVT TV-11 (CBS - Twin Falls)
  KTVB TV - NBC - Boise
  Moscow-Pullman Daily News
  Pocatello Idaho State Journal - Idaho
  South Idaho Press
  The Challis Messenger
  The Lewiston Tribune
  The MountainGoat Report
  The Times-News - Twin Falls
  Wood River Journal - Hailey

  State and Local Government Home  
  Historical Data in the STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT section  
  Traditional Sections and Regions   --   Explanation  
  Constitutions   --   Explanation   --   Links to State Constitutions  
  Official Name and Status History   --   Explanation  
  Executive Branch  
  Major Executive Officers Elected Statewide  
  Legislative Branch   --   Links to State Legislatures  
  Length of Terms of LEGISLATORS in the Several States of the American Union  
  Combined Executive and Legislative Branches  
  Judicial Branch - State Court Systems   --   Judiciary Links  
Local Government
  Primary and Minor Civil Divisions     Incorporated Municipalities     Combined Civil Divisions and Incorporated Municipalities  
  Statutory Election Information: General Election, Presidential and State Primary, Polling Times  
  Compilation of Statutes     United States STATUTES AT LARGE: Arrangement  
  United States Code: Arrangement     CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS: Arrangement