The Green Papers: General Election 2004
Copyright 108th Congress
House Seats by State

This is a list of the current House seats and the incumbents occupying them. All 435 of these seats are up for election on 2 November 2004.

There have been 1 death, 6 resignations, and 2 changes of party affiliation in the 108th House.

  • Hawaii CD 2: Democratic Congressman Patsy Takemoto Mink, a member of the 107th Congress, passed away on 28 September 2002. She was re-elected posthumously on 5 November 2002. Hawaii will hold a 4 Janaury 2003 Special Election to fill her seat.
  • Texas CD 19: On 12 November 2003, Republican Congressman Larry Combest announced that he will submit his resignation from Congress effective 31 May 2003.
  • South Dakota At-Large: On 8 December 2003, Congressman William Janklow (Republican) was convicted of second-degree manslaughter in the death of a motorcyclist during a traffic accident. The Congressman resigned on 20 January 2004.
  • Kentucky CD 6: Congressman Ernie Fletcher (Republican), who served in the U.S. House from 1999 through 2003, was elected Governor of Kentucky on 4 November 2003 and after resigning from the U.S. House, became Governor of Kentucky on 9 December 2003. Congressman A.B. "Ben" Chandler (Democrat) was elected to fill this vacant seat in a special election on 17 February 2004.
  • Texas CD 4: On 20 January 2004, the House received a communication from the Chairman of the Democratic Caucus notifying the House of the resignation of Congressman Ralph Hall from the Democratic Caucus, effective 5 January 2004. Congressman Hall is now affiliated with the Republican Party.
  • South Dakota At-Large: On 1 June 2004, the voters of South Dakota elected Democrat Stephanie Herseth to fill the seat vacated by former Republican Congressman William Janklow. Congressman Herseth took the oath of office on 3 June 2004.
  • North Carolina CD 1: Congressman Frank W. Ballance, Jr., submitted his resignation from the House on 8 June 2004 for health reasons. His resignation becomes effective at 11:59 p.m. on 11 June 2004.
  • North Carolina CD 1: In a 20 July 2004 Special Election, the voters of North Carolina elected Democrat G. K. Butterfield to fill the seat vacated by former Democratic Congressman Frank W. Ballance, Jr. Congressman Butterfield took the oath of office on 21 July 2004.
  • Louisiana CD 5: Congressman Rodney Alexander, who was first elected in 2002 as a Democrat, switched to Republican Party in August 2004.
  • Nebraska CD 1: Republican Congressman Doug Bereuter resigned from the House of Representatives effective at the close of business on 31 August 2004. On 16 December 2003 the congressman announced that he would not seek re-election in 2004.
  • Florida CD 14: Republican Congressman Porter J. Goss resigned from the House of Representatives effective close of business 23 September 2004. On 10 August 2004 Congressman Goss was nominated for Director of the Central Intelligence Agency by President George W. Bush. He was confirmed by the Senate on 22 September and sworn on 24 September 2004.

  Alabama    Alaska    Arizona    Arkansas    California    Colorado    Connecticut    Delaware    Florida    Georgia    Hawaii    Idaho    Illinois    Indiana    Iowa    Kansas    Kentucky    Louisiana    Maine    Maryland    Massachusetts    Michigan    Minnesota    Mississippi    Missouri    Montana    Nebraska    Nevada    New Hampshire    New Jersey    New Mexico    New York    North Carolina    North Dakota    Ohio    Oklahoma    Oregon    Pennsylvania    Rhode Island    South Carolina    South Dakota    Tennessee    Texas    Utah    Vermont    Virginia    Washington    West Virginia    Wisconsin    Wyoming 

Legislative Links


Nevada  2-year term. Election Cycle 2004, 2006. No Term Limit.
Partisan Composition: 1 Democrat, 2 Republicans
  Candidate Independent American 10,638 3.65% Janine Hansen
Total 291,079 100.00%  
  Candidate Independent American 6,053 2.03% Richard "Dick" O'Dell
Total 297,918 100.00%  


  2004 General Election Home  
Electoral College
  Allocation     How Appointed     Meeting Place (13 December)  
  Duly Appointed Electors     Tabulation by Congress (6 January)  
  May Electors Defect?  
  THE "FAITHLESS ELECTORS" - Presidential Electors who have defected in the past  
  Contests to Watch and Polling Data  
2 November Poll Closing Times:   Alphabetically   --   Electoral College Chronologically  
2004 Primary/Runoff dates:   Alphabetically   --   Chronologically   --   Poll Closing Times  
  President (Details)     Governors     Senate     House  
  Senators by 'Class'   --   Senate Seats by Region and Subregion  
  Governors' by election 'cycle'   --   Governors by Region and Subregion  
  Senatorial Primaries at a Glance     Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance  
  Open Governor's Chairs, Senate and House Seats (the incumbent is not running for re-election)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with no incumbent running for them  
  Uncontested Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats (one candidate running for office)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with multiple incumbents running for them  
  2004 Partisan Composition by State  
  2004 Congressional Districts  
  Senate Electoral Classes  
  Relative Political Party Strength / Sectional and Regional Politics in Presidential Elections  
  1972-2000 Presidential Election State Voting Trends  
  Statewide Political Party Strength