The Green Papers
2012 Presidential Primaries, Caucuses, and Conventions
Copyright New Mexico Democrat
Presidential Nominating Process
Primary: Tuesday 5 June 20121
State Party Central Committee and District Conventions: Saturday 9 June 2012
State Party Central Committee: Saturday 16 June 2012
Delegate Votes
Hard TotalFloor Vote
Obama, Barack Hussein121,769 100.00%39.0  78.00%48.0  96.00%
Uncommitted 11.0  22.00% 
Not Announced  2.0   4.00%
Total121,769 100.00%50.0 100.00%50.0 100.00%

States Chronologically   States Alphabetically     Democratic Convention     New Mexico Republican    
New Mexico Primaries for Statewide offices and Congress
New Mexico State and Local Government


The delegate selection processes herein was updated 28 May 2012 per the 2012 Delegate Selection Plan.

Starting on Tuesday 20 March 2012, a 15% pledged delegate bonus is awarded when clusters of 3 or more neighboring states begin on the same date.

The state received a 20% pledged delegate bonus for starting in Stage III (May and June).

5 June 2012 primary returns from an official source.


Participation in New Mexico's delegate selection process is open to all voters registered as Democrats.

Tuesday 5 June 2012: 39 of 50 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are pledged to presidential contenders based on the results of the voting in today's New Mexico Primary. A mandatory 15 percent threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates at either the congressional district or statewide level.

  • 26 district delegates are to be allocated proportionally to presidential contenders based on the caucus results in each of the State's 3 congressional districts.
    • CD 1: 9
    • CD 2: 8
    • CD 3: 9
  • In addition, 13 delegates are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the caucus vote statewide.
    • 9 at-large National Convention delegates
    • 4 Pledged PLEOs
Tuesday 5 June 2012 Primary
CD1  9
CD2  8
CD3  9
At-Large  9
Delegates  39

Saturday 9 June 2012: State Party Central Committee Meeting and District Conventions.

National Convention District delegates are elected by congressional district conventions according to the results of the Presidential Primary.

The State Central Committee elects National Convention Pledged PLEO delegates according to the results of the Presidential Primary.


Saturday 16 June 2012: State Party Central Committee Meeting.

The State Central Committee elects National Convention At-large delegates according to the results of the Presidential Primary.

The remaining 11 National Convention delegates consist of

  • 11 Unpledged PLEO delegates:
    • 6 Democratic National Committee members.
    • 4 Members of Congress (2 Senators and 2 Representatives).
    • 0 Governors.
    • 1 Distinguished Party Leader (Former DNC Chairman Fred R. Harris).

These 11 delegates and will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

Delegation to the National Convention

New Mexico Delegation (as posted at, 20 August 2012)

Gabe ApodacaAlbuquerque
Carla ArellanesLas Vegas
Mary Ann ArmijoGallup
Jeff BingamanWashington
Jim BuhausCedar Crest
Dan BurrellSanta Fe
Ana CanalesAlbuquerque
Jeff CarrEagle Nest
Jennie L ChambleeMedanales
Priscilla D ChavezLas Cruces
Timothy J ConyersBloomfield
Richard E CooleyAlbuquerque
Shannon Dale BushHobbs
Patrick DavisAlbuquerque
Nancy DenkerAlbuquerque
Pete DinelliAlbuquerque
Marjorie GermainAlbuquerque
Barbara GlazerAlbuquerque
Bealquin GomezLa Mesa
Javier GonzalesSanta Fe
Tracy GoodluckAlbuquerque
Joseph GrovesAlbuquerque
Mary Gail GwaltneyLas Cruces
Somah HaalandAlbuquerque
Fred R HarrisCorrales
Irvin HarrisonGallup
Martin T HeinrichAlbuquerque
Pamelya HerndonAlbuquerque
Teresa "Terri" M HollandAlbuquerque
Lela HolmesFarmington
Kristine "Kooch" JacobusAlbuquerque
Michael R JonesSanta Fe
Roxanne R LaraCarlsbad
James B LewisAlbuquerque
Ben R LujanSanta Fe
Antonio MaestasAlbuquerque
Janelle NakaiLaguna
Gerald O'HaraGallup
Judith A PachecoAlbuquerque
Mariana PadillaAlbuquerque
John PadillaAlbuquerque
Adrian PedrozaAlbuquerque
Lynne PortnoyFarmington
Maria Sonia RafteryRoswell
Timothy M RafteryRoswell
Maria RudolfoFarmington
Annadelle SanchezEspanola
Raymond G SanchezAlbuquerque
Kenneth SandovalAlbuquerque
Ben ShellyThoreau
Henry C SilentmanFarmington
Lorraine P SpradlingLos Lunas
Christine TrujilloAlbuquerque
Tom UdallAlbuquerque
Virginia VigilSanta Fe
Patty Villa CervantesCorrales
Alvin WarrenEspanola
Elizabeth "Liz" WatsonHolloman AFB
Charles WhitleyHobbs
Sheryl Williams StapletonAlbuquerque

Links Links to other web sites

Election Authority
  New Mexico Secretary of State
Legislature   Links to State Legislatures
  New Mexico Legislature
  New Mexico Democratic Party
Media & others
  Alamogordo Daily News
  Albuquerque Journal
  Carlsbad Current-Argus
  Farmington Daily Times
  Independent - Gallup
  KOB TV - NBC - Albuquerque
  KOB TV - NBC - Albuquerque
  KRQE TV - KREZ TV - KBIM TV - CBS - Albuquerque
  KUNM FM - Public Radio - Albuquerque
  Las Cruces Sun-News
  New Mexican - Santa Fe
  New Mexico Politics with Joe Monahan - New Mexico
  Ruidoso News
  The Taos News
  Valencia County News-Bulletin

1 Democratic Party's "First Determining Step" of the delegate selection process.


  Election 2012 - Presidential Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
  Presidential Candidates  
Rule Making and Process
  30 December 2009 - Democratic Change Commission's Recommendations for the 2012 Presidential Nominating Process  
  20 August 2010 - Democratic National Committee approves 2012 Call To Convention and Delegate Selection Rules  
  6 August 2010 - Republican Temporary Delegate Selection Committee's Recommendations for the 2012 Presidential Nominating Process  
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
  Weekly Delegate Distribution and Availability  
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  Democratic Detailed Delegate Allocation   --   Republican Detailed Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
  Primaries at a Glance  
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Statutory Election Information of the Several states / Presidential Primary  
  Dates of PRESIDENTIAL PRIMARIES re: selection and/or allocation/distribution of Delegates to Major Party National Conventions  
  Major Third Party (Constitution, Green, Libertarian) Presidential Nomination Process  
  Straw Polls