The Green Papers
2012 Presidential Primaries, Caucuses, and Conventions
Copyright American Samoa Democrat
Presidential Nominating Process
Territorial Caucus: Tuesday 6 March 20121
Delegate Votes
Hard TotalFloor Vote
Obama, Barack Hussein 6.0  50.00%12.0 100.00%
Uncommitted 6.0  50.00% 
Total 12.0 100.00%12.0 100.00%

States Chronologically   States Alphabetically     Democratic Convention     American Samoa Republican    
American Samoa Primaries for Statewide offices and Congress
American Samoa State and Local Government


Starting on Tuesday 20 March 2012, a 15% pledged delegate bonus is awarded when clusters of 3 or more neighboring states begin on the same date. American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands are considered neighboring states of each other. [Reg 5.1.C Article I.C.2.b]


Tuesday 6 March 2012: Today's Territorial Caucus made up of interested voters meets to choose 6 of American Samoa's 12 delegates to the Democratic National Convention. The caucus is scheduled to take place between 9 AM local time (2000 UTC) and 11 AM local time (2200 UTC).

  • These 6 at-large delegates to the National Convention are elected in 'preference caucuses' at the Territorial Convention. The delegates are allocated to the presidential contenders in a way which reflects the percentage of support for the candidates at the Territorial Convention- a mandatory 15 percent threshold being necessary in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates.

The remaining 6 delegates (representing American Samoa's remaining 6 delegate votes) are Unpledged PLEOs who will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

  • This territory's Democratic Member of Congress (Eni F.H. Faleomavaega) (=a non-voting Delegate in the House of Representatives); the territorial Delegate is an "Unpledged PLEO" and casts 1 delegate vote.
  • This territory's Democratic Governor (Togiola T.A. Tulafono); the territorial Governor is an "Unpledged PLEO" and casts 1 delegate vote.
  • This territory's 4 Democratic National Committee members: each of these territorial DNC members casts 1 delegate vote.

6 March 2012 results from a Democrats select delegates for DNC. Thanks to Andrew Watiker for the link.

"The American Samoa Democratic Party ... cast its full 12 votes for their party's candidate, incumbent Barack Obama ... [Delegation Chair] Aliimau [JR Scanlan] said the local delegation will relay to the DNC their strong support for Obama ..."

Based on this report, we are assigning American Samoa's 6 pledged and 6 unpledged delegates to President Obama.


On 29 April 2011 Samoa News reported that the American Samoa Democratic Party will convene on 30 April 2011 in Fagatogo to discuss their 2012 delegate selection process. Read the article here.

Delegation to the National Convention

American Samoa Delegation (as posted at, 20 August 2012)

Daniel AgaPago Pago
Marilyn Ah ChingPago Pago
Eni FaleomavaegaPago Pago
Nina F GlaudePago Pago
Therese L HunkinPago Pago
Salu Hunkin-FinauPago Pago
Fagafaga D LangkildePago Pago
Sister LangkildePago Pago
Sean MorrisonPago Pago
Clara J ReidPago Pago
Patrick T ReidPago Pago
Caroline F RisingPago Pago
Aliimau "J.R." ScanlanPago Pago
Susan ScanlanPago Pago
Jesse ScanlanPago Pago
Corey SenePago Pago
Togiola TulafonoPago Pago

Links Links to other web sites

Election Authority
  American Samoa Government Election Office
  American Samoa Democratic Party
  American Samoa Democratic Party.
  Democratic Party of American Samoa; P.O. Box 1281; Pago Pago, American Samoa 96799; 684-252-7219
Media & others
  American Samoa, History, Tourism, Culture, Politics - AmSamoa.NET
  Manuatele.NET - Manu'a - American Samoa - American Samoa
  Samoa News
  Samoa Observer

1 Democratic Party's "First Determining Step" of the delegate selection process.


  Election 2012 - Presidential Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
  Presidential Candidates  
Rule Making and Process
  30 December 2009 - Democratic Change Commission's Recommendations for the 2012 Presidential Nominating Process  
  20 August 2010 - Democratic National Committee approves 2012 Call To Convention and Delegate Selection Rules  
  6 August 2010 - Republican Temporary Delegate Selection Committee's Recommendations for the 2012 Presidential Nominating Process  
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
  Weekly Delegate Distribution and Availability  
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  Democratic Detailed Delegate Allocation   --   Republican Detailed Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
  Primaries at a Glance  
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Statutory Election Information of the Several states / Presidential Primary  
  Dates of PRESIDENTIAL PRIMARIES re: selection and/or allocation/distribution of Delegates to Major Party National Conventions  
  Major Third Party (Constitution, Green, Libertarian) Presidential Nomination Process  
  Straw Polls