The Green Papers
2008 Presidential Primaries, Caucuses, and Conventions
Copyright Virgin Islands Democrat
Presidential Nominating Process
Territorial Convention: Saturday 9 February 20081
Delegate Votes
Hard TotalFloor Vote
Obama, Barack Hussein1,772  89.95%3.0  33.33% 
Clinton, Hillary Rodham149   7.56%  
Uncommitted49   2.49%6.0  66.67% 
Edwards, John Reid   
(not voting)  9.0 100.00%
Total1,970 100.00%9.0 100.00%9.0 100.00%

States Chronologically   States Alphabetically     Democratic Convention     Virgin Islands Republican    
Virgin Islands Primaries for Statewide offices and Congress
Virgin Islands State and Local Government


Media article 21 January 2008

Unofficial results from St. Croix Source.

2008 V.I. Democratic Party Presidential Caucus Unofficial Results

  • Territory
    • Barack Obama: 1772 votes, 89.9% of the votes cast
    • Hillary Clinton: 149 votes, 7.6%
    • Other and Uncommitted: 49, 2.5%
  • St. Croix
    • Barack Obama: 628 votes, 84% percent of the St. Croix votes cast.
    • Hillary Clinton: 72 votes, 9.7%
    • Other and Uncommitted: 46, or 6.3%
  • St. Thomas
    • Barack Obama: 1144 votes, 93.5% of the St. Thomas votes cast
    • Hillary Clinton: 77 votes, 6.3%
    • Other and uncommitted: 3 votes, 0.2%

Senator Obama, the only candidate to receive more than the 15% threshold, will receive all 3 pledged delegates.

The results above are unofficial and there are still provisional ballots to count but not enough to change the outcome.

Unpledged delegates as of
29 January 2008: Clinton: 1, Obama: 1
16 February 2008: Clinton: 1, Obama: 2
15 March 2008: Clinton: 2, Obama: 2
11 May 2008: Clinton: 1, Obama: 4
28 May 2008: Clinton: 2, Obama: 3


Saturday 9 February 2008: A Territorial Convention meets to choose 9 of the Virgin Islands' 12 delegates to the Democratic National Convention (together representing 3 of the Virgin Islands' 9 delegate votes at the National Convention).

  • These 6 at-large delegates to the National Convention are elected in two "preference caucuses" at the Territorial Convention which allocate these delegates to the presidential contenders in a way which reflects the percentage of support for the candidates at the Territorial Convention- a mandatory 15 percent threshold being necessary in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates.
  • Each of these 6 Pledged delegates will only cast ½ (or .5) of a vote on the floor of the Democratic National Convention.

The remaining 6 delegates (representing the Virgin Islands' remaining 6 delegate votes) are Unpledged PLEOs who will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

The 6 "Unpledged" votes are cast by 6 actual delegates as follows:

  • This territory's Democratic Member of Congress (=a non-voting Delegate in the House of Representatives); territorial Delegate Donna M. Christensen is an "Unpledged PLEO" and casts 1 delegate vote.
  • This territory's Democratic Governor; territorial Governor John P. deJongh, Jr. is an "Unpledged PLEO" and casts 1 delegate vote.
  • This territory's 4 Democratic National Committee members: each of these territorial DNC members casts 1 vote apiece for a total of 4 delegate votes.

Delegation to the National Convention

Virgin Islands Delegation (as posted by, 11 August 2008)

Pledged District00
Pledged PLEO00
Pledged At-Large66
Total Pledged66
Alternate Pledged District00
Alternate Pledged PLEO00
Alternate Pledged At-Large11
Total Alternates11
Unpledged 6
Credentials Committee 1
Platform Committee 1
Rules Committee 1
Pages 1
Pledged At-LargeObamaArah C. LockhartSt.Thomas, VI
Pledged At-LargeObamaHon. Shawn-Michael MaloneSt. Thomas, VI
Pledged At-LargeObamaJames A. O'Bryan, Jr.St. Thomas, VI
Pledged At-LargeObamaSebastiano Paiewonsky-CassinelliSt. Thomas, VI
Pledged At-LargeObamaShawna K. RichardsFrederiksted, VI
Pledged At-LargeObamaRobert RiosChristiansted, VI
Alternate Pledged At-LargeObamaWanda MorrisFrederiksted, St. Croix, VI
Delegation Chair
 Cecil R. BenjaminChristiansted, VI
Delegation Vice Chair
 Marilyn A. StapletonSt. Thomas, VI
Unpledged Congressman Hon. Donna Christian-ChristensenWashington, DC
Unpledged DNC Member Carol BurkeSt. Croix, VI
Unpledged DNC Member Kevin A. RodriquezNashville, TN
Unpledged Governor Hon. John De JonghSt.Thomas, VI
Credentials Committee Hon. John De JonghSt.Thomas, VI
Platform CommitteeObamaHon. Donna Christian-ChristensenWashington, DC
Rules CommitteeObamaSebastiano Paiewonsky-CassinelliSt. Thomas, VI
Page Brad NugentChristiansted, St. Croix, VI

1 Democratic Party's "First Determining Step" of the delegate selection process.


  Election - Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
  Presidential Hopefuls  
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Poll Closing Times Chronologically   --   Poll Closing Times Alphabetically  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
  Weekly Delegate Distribution and Availability  
Delegate Counts
  State by State Summary  
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
  Democratic Unpledged Delegate Preferences  
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  Democratic Detailed Delegate Allocation   --   Republican Detailed Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
  Primaries at a Glance  
Ballot Access
  Democratic Candidates   --   Republican Candidates  
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Third Parties (Green, Libertarian)  
  Straw Polls