The Green Papers
2008 Presidential Primaries, Caucuses, and Conventions
Copyright South Dakota Democrat
Presidential Nominating Process
Primary: Tuesday 3 June 20081
State Party Central Committee: Saturday 28 June 2008
Delegate Votes
Hard TotalFloor Vote
Clinton, Hillary Rodham54,128  55.35%9.0  39.13% 
Obama, Barack Hussein43,669  44.65%6.0  26.09% 
Uncommitted 8.0  34.78% 
(not voting)  23.0 100.00%
Total97,797 100.00%23.0 100.00%23.0 100.00%

States Chronologically   States Alphabetically     Democratic Convention     South Dakota Republican    
South Dakota Primaries for Statewide offices and Congress
South Dakota State and Local Government


HB 1272, which would move the Presidential Primary from the last Tuesday in June to the last Tuesday in January failed in the South Dakota House of Representatives on 7and 8 February 2007.

Unpledged delegates as of
29 January 2008: Edwards: 1, Obama: 2
31 January 2008: Obama: 2
16 February 2008: Obama: 5
29 February 2008: Obama: 6
4 June 2008: Clinton: 2, Obama: 5


Having begun their first determining step in Stage III in 2008 (Tuesday 3 June 2008), South Dakota receives a 10% Bonus in district and at-large delegate votes (+1 district and +0 at-large).

Tuesday 3 June 2008: 15 of 23 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary results statewide as South Dakota has only a single at-large congressional seat. A mandatory 15 percent threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates at either the congressional district or statewide level.

  • 10 district delegates are to be allocated proportionally to presidential contenders based on the primary results in the State's single at-large congressional district.
  • In addition, 5 delegates are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary vote statewide.
    • 3 at-large National Convention delegates
    • 2 Pledged PLEOs

A person shall register their Democratic Party affiliation with the secretary of state on or prior to the last day to register to vote in the June 2008 State Primary Election, or affirm their affiliation with the Democratic Party before public notary to be eligible to participate in the delegate selection process.

Here is how we compute the delegate count:

  1. A candidate must receive 15% or more of the total popular vote to qualify for delegates. Discard votes cast for those candidates who do not qualify.
  2. Allocate Congressional District delegates from the qualified vote in each district. Allocate Pledged PLEO and At-Large delegates using the state-wide qualified vote.
  3. In each jurisdiction (CD and statewide):
    1. Total qualified vote = total votes cast for the qualifying candidates in the jurisdiction.
    2. Allocation = (delegates for the jurisdiction) (candidate's popular vote) (total qualified vote).
    3. Assign each candidate the WHOLE NUMBER of delegates.
    4. If delegates remain, allocate each of the remaining delegates to those candidates with the LARGEST REMAINDERS.
Tuesday 3 June 2008 Primary ResultsSource: South Dakota Secretary of State
Delegates  15  9  6

Saturday 28 June 2008: State Party Central Committee

The remaining 8 National Convention delegates consist of

  • 7 Unpledged PLEO delegates:
    • 4 Democratic National Committee members.
    • 2 Members of Congress (1 Senator and 1 Representative).
    • 0 Governors.
    • 1 Distinguished Party Leader (former Senate Majority Leader Thomas Andrew "Tom" Daschle).
  • 1 Unpledged "add-on" (selected during the State Party Central Committee meeting).

These 8 delegates and will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

Delegation to the National Convention

South Dakota Delegation (as posted by, 18 July 2008)

Pledged District15410
Pledged PLEO0202
Pledged At-Large0123
Total Pledged18615
Alternate Pledged District0213
Alternate Pledged PLEO0000
Alternate Pledged At-Large0101
Total Alternates0314
Unpledged   8
Credentials Committee   0
Platform Committee   0
Rules Committee   0
Pages   0
Pledged District 1ObamaRussell BlacksmithOglala, SD
Pledged District 1ClintonJames BurgWessington Spring, SD
Pledged District 1
Delegation Chair
(unknown)Malcom ChapmanRapid City, SD
Pledged District 1ClintonJames FeinsteinSioux Falls, SD
Pledged District 1ClintonMary Ann GiebinkSioux Falls, SD
Pledged District 1ObamaShirley HalleenSioux Fals, SD
Pledged District 1ObamaNed HorstedHarrisburg, SD
Pledged District 1ClintonPam NelsonSioux Falls, SD
Pledged District 1ObamaCatherine PiersolSioux Falls, SD
Pledged District 1ClintonJennifer Slaight-HansenAberdeen, SD
Pledged PLEOClintonCecilia J. Fire ThunderMartin, SD
Pledged PLEOClintonBill A. NibbelinkFlandreau, SD
Pledged At-LargeObamaJaunita F. LentzWatertown, SD
Pledged At-LargeClintonKay A. SolbergWatertown, SD
Pledged At-LargeObamaMartin YeungRapid City, SD
Alternate Pledged District 1ClintonMarc FeinsteinSioux Falls, SD
Alternate Pledged District 1ObamaBarry FosterSioux Falls, SD
Alternate Pledged District 1ClintonTrudie MyersEstelline, SD
Alternate Pledged At-LargeClintonLiz Himmel-RobertsHartford, SD
Delegation Chair
 Hon. Jack BillionSioux Falls, SD
Delegation Vice Chair
 Cheryl ChapmanRapid City, SD
Unpledged Add-On Mark W. AndersonSioux Falls, SD
Unpledged Congressman Hon. Stephanie Herseth SandlinWashington, DC
Unpledged Distinguished Party Leader Hon. Thomas A. DaschleWashington, DC
Unpledged DNC Member Hon. Nick NemecHolabird, SD
Unpledged DNC Member Sharon StroscheinMansfield, SD
Unpledged Senator Hon. Tim JohnsonSioux Falls, SD

1 Democratic Party's "First Determining Step" of the delegate selection process.


  Election - Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
  Presidential Hopefuls  
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Poll Closing Times Chronologically   --   Poll Closing Times Alphabetically  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
  Weekly Delegate Distribution and Availability  
Delegate Counts
  State by State Summary  
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
  Democratic Unpledged Delegate Preferences  
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  Democratic Detailed Delegate Allocation   --   Republican Detailed Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
  Primaries at a Glance  
Ballot Access
  Democratic Candidates   --   Republican Candidates  
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Third Parties (Green, Libertarian)  
  Straw Polls