The Green Papers
2008 Presidential Primaries, Caucuses, and Conventions
Copyright Mississippi Republican
Presidential Nominating Process
Primary: Tuesday 11 March 2008
State Convention: Friday 9 May - Saturday 10 May 2008
Delegate Votes
Hard TotalFloor Vote
McCain, John Sidney, III113,074  78.91%36  92.31%39 100.00%
Huckabee, Michael Dale "Mike"17,943  12.52%  
Paul, Ronald Ernest "Ron"5,510   3.85%  
Romney, Mitt2,177   1.52%  
Thompson, Fred Dalton2,160   1.51%  
Giuliani, Rudolph William945   0.66%  
Keyes, Alan L.842   0.59%  
Hunter, Duncan414   0.29%  
Tancredo, Thomas Gerald "Tom"221   0.15%  
Uncommitted 3   7.69% 
Total143,286 100.00%39 100.00%39 100.00%

States Chronologically   States Alphabetically     Republican Convention     Mississippi Democrat    
Mississippi Primaries for Statewide offices and Congress
Mississippi State and Local Government


Tuesday 11 March 2008: 36 of 39 of Mississippi's delegates to the Republican National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders in today's Mississippi Presidential Primary.

  • 12 district delegates are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary results in each of the 4 congressional districts: each congressional district is assigned 3 National Convention delegates and the presidential contender receiving the greatest number of votes in that district will receive all 3 of that district's National Convention delegates. (Rule 3)
  • 24 at-large delegates (10 base at-large delegates plus 14 bonus delegates) are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the statewide primary vote. (Rule 4)
    • If one candidate receives a majority of the statewide vote (more than 50%), that candidate is allocated all 24 of the at-large delegates.
    • If no candidate receives a majority of the statewide vote, each presidential candidate receiving 15% or more of the vote statewide shall be allocated delegates accordingly based on their percentage of the vote total of those candidates who met the 15% threshold. Round fractional proportions of a delegate to the nearest whole number.

    In addition, 3 party leaders, the National Committeeman, the National Committeewoman, and the chairman of the Mississippi's Republican Party, will attend the convention as unpledged delegates by virtue of their position. (Rule 5)

    The State Convention will be held Friday 9 to Saturday 10 May 2008

    National Convention delegates are bound until released by their candidate. (Rules 8 and 9)

    Reference: Resolution Of The State Executive Committee Of The Mississippi Republican Party (June 21, 2007)

Friday 9 May - Saturday 10 May 2008: State Convention


  Election - Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
  Presidential Hopefuls  
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Poll Closing Times Chronologically   --   Poll Closing Times Alphabetically  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
  Weekly Delegate Distribution and Availability  
Delegate Counts
  State by State Summary  
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
  Democratic Unpledged Delegate Preferences  
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  Democratic Detailed Delegate Allocation   --   Republican Detailed Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
  Primaries at a Glance  
Ballot Access
  Democratic Candidates   --   Republican Candidates  
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Third Parties (Green, Libertarian)  
  Straw Polls