The Green Papers
2008 Presidential Primaries, Caucuses, and Conventions
Copyright Hawaii Democrat
Presidential Nominating Process
Precinct Caucus: Tuesday 19 February 20081
State Convention: Friday 23 May - Sunday 25 May 2008
Delegate Votes
Hard TotalFloor Vote
Obama, Barack Hussein28,472  75.80%14.0  48.28%26.0  89.66%
Clinton, Hillary Rodham8,846  23.55%6.0  20.69%1.0   3.45%
Kucinich, Dennis J.138   0.37%  
Uncommitted65   0.17%9.0  31.03% 
Edwards, John Reid41   0.11%  
(not voting)  2.0   6.90%
Total37,562 100.00%29.0 100.00%29.0 100.00%

States Chronologically   States Alphabetically     Democratic Convention     Hawaii Republican    
Hawaii Primaries for Statewide offices and Congress
Hawaii State and Local Government



Here is how we compute the delegate count (based on uncertified returns from an party source as of 20 February 2008 4:00A HIST):

  1. A candidate must receive 15% or more of the total popular vote to qualify for delegates. Discard votes cast for those candidates who do not qualify. Clinton and Obama have qualified for delegates.
  2. Allocate Congressional District delegates from the qualified vote in each district. Allocate Pledged PLEO and At-Large delegates using the state-wide qualified vote.
  3. In each jurisdiction (CD and statewide):
    1. Total qualified vote = total votes cast for the qualifying candidates in the jurisdiction.
    2. Allocation = (delegates for the jurisdiction) (candidate's popular vote) (total qualified vote).
    3. Assign each candidate the WHOLE NUMBER of delegates.
    4. If delegates remain, allocate each of the remaining delegates to those candidates with the LARGEST REMAINDERS.


Unpledged delegates as of
29 January 2008: Clinton: 1, Obama: 1
16 February 2008: Clinton: 2, Obama: 1
9 May 2008: Clinton: 2, Obama: 2
12 May 2008: Clinton: 2, Obama: 4
25 May 2008: Clinton: 2, Obama: 7


Tuesday 19 February 2008: 20 of 29 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders based on the preferences expressed in a Presidential Preference Poll held during today's Hawaii Presidential Precinct Caucuses. [NOTE: Presidential Preference polling is scheduled for 7 PM to 7:30 PM local time (0500 to 0530 UTC) at each precinct caucus site]. A mandatory 15 percent threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates at both the Statewide and Congressional District Level.

  • 13 district delegates are to be allocated proportionally to presidential contenders based on the caucus results in each of Hawaii 2 Congressional Districts.
    • CD 1: 6
    • CD 2: 7
  • 7 delegates are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the caucus results statewide.
    • 4 at-large National Convention delegates
    • 3 Pledged PLEOs

Friday 23 May - Sunday 25 May 2008: Hawai'i Democratic State Convention: The 20 pledged delegates are actually chosen at this gathering. These 20 delegates must vote as pledged per the preferences expressed by participants in the 19 February Presidential Preference Poll.

The remaining 9 National Convention delegates consist of

  • 8 Unpledged PLEO delegates:
    • 4 Democratic National Committee members.
    • 4 Members of Congress (2 Senators and 2 Representatives).
    • 0 Governors.
    • 0 Distinguished Party Leaders.
  • 1 Unpledged "add-on" (selected by the State Party Committee on 25 May).

These 9 delegates and will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

Delegation to the National Convention

Hawaii Delegation (as posted by, 5 August 2008)

Pledged District4913
Pledged PLEO123
Pledged At-Large134
Total Pledged61420
Alternate Pledged District033
Alternate Pledged PLEO000
Alternate Pledged At-Large101
Total Alternates134
Unpledged  9
Credentials Committee  1
Platform Committee  1
Rules Committee  1
Pages  2
Pledged District 1ObamaCharles FreedmanHonolulu, HI
Pledged District 1ObamaDonna HoshideHonolulu, HI
Pledged District 1ClintonJadine NielsenHonolulu, HI
Pledged District 1ObamaKathleen "Kate" G. StanleyHonolulu, HI
Pledged District 1ClintonHon. John WaiheeHonolulu, HI
Pledged District 1ObamaAndrew S. WinerHonolulu, HI
Pledged District 2ClintonEdmond ArqueroWaianae, HI
Pledged District 2ObamaMichael E. FoxKapaa, HI
Pledged District 2ObamaKatherine "Kallie" A. Keith-AgaranWalluku, HI
Pledged District 2ObamaAlbert LewisWaimanalo, HI
Pledged District 2ClintonStephanie OhigashiWailuku, HI
Pledged District 2ObamaJohnathan StarrWailuku, HI
Pledged District 2ObamaJennifer L. TsujiWaikoloa, HI
Pledged PLEOClintonHon. Colleen HanabusaKapolei, HI
Pledged PLEOObamaHon. Mufi HannemannHonolulu, HI
Pledged PLEOObamaHon. Donna M. KimHonolulu, HI
Pledged At-LargeObamaJo-Ann M. AdamsHonolulu, HI
Pledged At-LargeObamaFaye KennedyHonolulu, HI
Pledged At-LargeClintonDayton NakaneluaKaneohe, HI
Pledged At-LargeObamaCaroline SinavaianaHonolulu, HI
Alternate Pledged District 1ObamaAlbert Lono LymanHonolulu, HI
Alternate Pledged District 2ObamaMelodie AdujaKaneohe, HI
Alternate Pledged District 2ObamaGilbert S. Keith-AgaranWalluku, HI
Alternate Pledged At-LargeClintonAnn S. FreedMililani, HI
Delegation Chair
 Hon. Daniel InouyeHonolulu, HI
Delegation Vice Chair
 Kari LunaWailuku, HI
Delegation Chair
 Brian SchatzHonolulu, HI
Unpledged Add-On Hon. James S. BurnsKailua, HI
Unpledged Congressman Hon. Neil AbercrombieHonolulu, HI
Unpledged Congressman Hon. Mazie HironoWashington, DC
Unpledged DNC Member Richard PortHonolulu, HI
Unpledged DNC Member Marie Dolly StrazarHilo, HI
Unpledged Senator Hon. Daniel AkakaHonolulu, HI
Credentials CommitteeObamaHon. Gary L. HooserKapaa, HI
Platform CommitteeObamaAlbert Lono LymanHonolulu, HI
Rules CommitteeClintonHon. Colleen HanabusaKapolei, HI
Page Veronica DuzonEwa Beach, HI
Page Edward HasegawaHonolulu, HI

1 Democratic Party's "First Determining Step" of the delegate selection process.


  Election - Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
  Presidential Hopefuls  
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Poll Closing Times Chronologically   --   Poll Closing Times Alphabetically  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
  Weekly Delegate Distribution and Availability  
Delegate Counts
  State by State Summary  
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
  Democratic Unpledged Delegate Preferences  
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  Democratic Detailed Delegate Allocation   --   Republican Detailed Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
  Primaries at a Glance  
Ballot Access
  Democratic Candidates   --   Republican Candidates  
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Third Parties (Green, Libertarian)  
  Straw Polls