The Green Papers
2008 Presidential Primaries, Caucuses, and Conventions
Copyright American Samoa Democrat
Presidential Nominating Process
Territorial Caucus: Tuesday 5 February 20081
Delegate Votes
Hard TotalFloor Vote
Clinton, Hillary Rodham163  57.19%2.0  22.22% 
Obama, Barack Hussein121  42.46%1.0  11.11%9.0 100.00%
Gravel, Mike1   0.35%  
Uncommitted 6.0  66.67% 
Total285 100.00%9.0 100.00%9.0 100.00%

States Chronologically   States Alphabetically     Democratic Convention     American Samoa Republican    
American Samoa Primaries for Statewide offices and Congress
American Samoa State and Local Government


Unpledged delegates as of
29 January 2008: Clinton: 4, Obama: 1
12 February 2008: Clinton: 4, Obama: 2

Reference: Summary of State Delegate Selection Plan


Tuesday 5 February 2008: Today's Territorial Caucus made up of interested voters meets to choose 6 of American Samoa's 12 delegates to the Democratic National Convention (together representing 3 pledged delegate votes [of American Samoa's 9 total "delegate votes"] at the National Convention): Each of these 6 pledged delegates will only cast ½ (or .5) of a vote on the floor of the Democratic National Convention, thus the total of 3 pledged "delegate votes". The caucus is scheduled to take place between 9 AM local time (2000 UTC) and 11 AM local time (2200 UTC).

  • These 6 at-large delegates to the National Convention are elected in 'preference caucuses' at the Territorial Convention. The delegates are allocated to the presidential contenders in a way which reflects the percentage of support for the candidates at the Territorial Convention- a mandatory 15 percent threshold being necessary in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates.
  • Each of these 6 Pledged delegates will only cast ½ (or .5) of a vote on the floor of the Democratic National Convention.
  • A fine point: Pledged DELEGATE VOTES (of which there are 3) rather than pledged DELEGATES (of which there are 6) are allocated to presidential contenders according to the percentage of the caucus vote won by each candidate.

The remaining 6 delegates (representing American Samoa's remaining 6 delegate votes) are Unpledged PLEOs who will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

  • This territory's Democratic Member of Congress (**TBD**) (=a non-voting Delegate in the House of Representatives); the territorial Delegate is an "Unpledged PLEO" and casts 1 delegate vote.
  • This territory's Democratic Governor (**TBD**); the territorial Governor is an "Unpledged PLEO" and casts 1 delegate vote.
  • This territory's 4 Democratic National Committee members: each of these territorial DNC members casts 1 delegate vote.

Here is how we estimate the delegate count as compiled from a media source from the 5 February 2008 Caucuses):

  1. A candidate must receive 15% or more of the total popular vote to qualify for delegates. Discard votes cast for those candidates who do not qualify. Clinton and Obama have qualified for delegates.
  2. Allocate Congressional District delegates from the qualified vote in each district. Allocate Pledged PLEO and At-Large delegates using the state-wide qualified vote.
  3. In each jurisdiction (CD and statewide):
    1. Total qualified vote = total votes cast for the qualifying candidates in the jurisdiction.
    2. Allocation = (delegates for the jurisdiction) (candidate's popular vote) (total qualified vote).
    3. Assign each candidate the WHOLE NUMBER of delegates.
    4. If delegates remain, allocate each of the remaining delegates to those candidates with the LARGEST REMAINDERS.

Note that each of the 6 delegates casts one half vote at the convention for a total of 3 delegate votes.

Tuesday 5 February 2008 Territorial Caucus
District28528401630.000 1210.000 1  
PLEO28528401630.000 1210.000 1  
Delegates  3  2  1   

A report from the The Honolulu Advertiser.

Delegation to the National Convention

American Samoa Delegation (as posted by, 11 August 2008)

Pledged District0000
Pledged PLEO0000
Pledged At-Large2136
Total Pledged2136
Alternate Pledged District0000
Alternate Pledged PLEO0000
Alternate Pledged At-Large0011
Total Alternates0011
Unpledged   6
Credentials Committee   1
Platform Committee   1
Rules Committee   1
Pages   1
Pledged At-LargeObamaMarilyn AhChingPago Pago, AS
Pledged At-LargeObamaClara ReidPago Pago, AS
Pledged At-LargeClintonAliimau "JR" Scanlan, Jr.Pago Pago, AS
Pledged At-Large(unknown)Jacinta Titialii AbottPago Pago, AS
Pledged At-LargeObamaOreta TogafauPago Pago, AS
Pledged At-Large
Delegation Chair
(unknown)Galeai Moaaliitele TuufuliPago Pago, AS
Alternate Pledged At-LargeObamaMarcus LangkildePago Pago, AS
Delegation Vice Chair
 Therese L. HunkinPago Pago, AS
Delegation Chair
 Fagafaga D. LangkildePago Pago, AS
Unpledged Congressman Hon. Eni F. FaleomavaegaWashington, DC
Unpledged DNC Member Deanna FuimaonoPago Pago, AS
Unpledged DNC Member Nathaniel SavaliPago Pago, AS
Unpledged Governor Hon. Togiola TulafonoUtulei Village, AS
Credentials CommitteeObamaReupena TagaloaPago Pago, AS
Platform CommitteeObamaOreta TogafauPago Pago, AS
Rules CommitteeClintonAliimau "JR" Scanlan, Jr.Pago Pago, AS
Page Dennis FuimaonoPago Pago, AS

1 Democratic Party's "First Determining Step" of the delegate selection process.


  Election - Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
  Presidential Hopefuls  
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Poll Closing Times Chronologically   --   Poll Closing Times Alphabetically  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
  Weekly Delegate Distribution and Availability  
Delegate Counts
  State by State Summary  
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
  Democratic Unpledged Delegate Preferences  
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  Democratic Detailed Delegate Allocation   --   Republican Detailed Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
  Primaries at a Glance  
Ballot Access
  Democratic Candidates   --   Republican Candidates  
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Third Parties (Green, Libertarian)  
  Straw Polls