The Green Papers
2008 Presidential Primaries, Caucuses, and Conventions
Copyright Arkansas Republican
Presidential Nominating Process
Primary: Tuesday 5 February 2008
Special District Convention: Saturday 3 May 2008
State Committee Meeting: Saturday 14 June 2008
Delegate Votes
Hard TotalFloor Vote
Huckabee, Michael Dale "Mike"138,557  60.46%29  85.29% 
McCain, John Sidney, III46,343  20.22%1   2.94%34 100.00%
Romney, Mitt30,997  13.53%1   2.94% 
Paul, Ronald Ernest "Ron"10,983   4.79%  
Uncommitted987   0.43%3   8.82% 
Giuliani, Rudolph William658   0.29%  
Thompson, Fred Dalton628   0.27%  
Total229,153 100.00%34 100.00%34 100.00%

States Chronologically   States Alphabetically     Republican Convention     Arkansas Democrat    
Arkansas Primaries for Statewide offices and Congress
Arkansas State and Local Government


In addition, the Arkansas Secretary of State reports 512 undervotes and 217 overvotes.


Tuesday 5 February 2008: 31 of 34 of Arkansas's delegates to the Republican National Convention are pledged to presidential contenders in today's Arkansas Presidential Primary. Delegates are pledged in a manner that primarily depends on whether or not a presidential contender has received a majority of the vote in either a congressional district or statewide (as explained below).

  • 12 district delegates are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary results in each of the 4 congressional districts: each congressional district is assigned 3 National Convention delegates. These delegates are allocated to the presidential contenders as follows:
    • If a candidate receives a majority of the vote (more than 50%), that candidate is allocated all 3 of the district's delegates.
    • If no candidate receives a majority of the vote, the candidate with the plurality (most votes) is allocated 2 delegates and the candidate with the next highest number of votes is allocated 1 delegate.
  • 19 at-large delegates are allocated to the presidential contenders based on the statewide primary results. A mandatory 10% threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates at the statewide level.
    • Each presidential candidate receiving 10% percent of the statewide vote is allocated 1 delegate.
    • If a presidential candidate receives a majority of the statewide vote, that candidate is allocated the remaining at-large delegates.
    • If no presidential candidate receives a majority of the statewide vote, the remaining at-large delegates are allocated proportionally among the 3 highest vote-getters. Round fractions down to the nearest whole number. Award any remaining delegate positions to the candidate who received the most votes.

If there are more delegate positions allocated to a Presidential contender than there are delegates who have filed to be bound to that candidate, then those delegate positions which cannot be filled are reallocated to the candidate with the highest number of votes who delegates to fill the allocated positions. This rule applies to both the district and statewide contests.

National Convention Delegates shall remain committed to the Presidential Candidate designated on their filing form through the first ballot unless they are released by their designated Presidential Candidate.

In addition, 3 party leaders, the National Committeeman, the National Committeewoman, and the chairman of the Arkansas's Republican Party, will attend the convention as unpledged delegates by virtue of their position.

Here is how we compute the delegate tally:

  • The candidate receiving the most vote in each CD receives the 3 delegates from that CD.
  • Each candidate receiving 10% of the statewide vote receives 1 statewide delegate.
  • Huckabee, having received the greatest number of votes statewide receives the remaining at-large delegates.
CD146,294329,06462.781%38,93319.296% 6,06613.103% 
CD260,685334,43956.750%313,59822.408% 8,89114.651% 
CD373,062342,36457.984%314,75720.198% 11,03415.102% 
CD449,112332,69066.562%39,05518.437% 5,00610.193% 
Delegates 31  29  1  1

Saturday 3 May 2008 - Special District Convention. District delegates are elected according to the results of the primary.


Saturday 14 June 2008 - State Committee Meeting. At-Large delegates are elected according to the results of the primary.


  Election - Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
  Presidential Hopefuls  
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Poll Closing Times Chronologically   --   Poll Closing Times Alphabetically  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
  Weekly Delegate Distribution and Availability  
Delegate Counts
  State by State Summary  
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
  Democratic Unpledged Delegate Preferences  
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  Democratic Detailed Delegate Allocation   --   Republican Detailed Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
  Primaries at a Glance  
Ballot Access
  Democratic Candidates   --   Republican Candidates  
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Third Parties (Green, Libertarian)  
  Straw Polls