The Green Papers
2016 Poll Closing Times
for Statewide offices and Congress
Electoral College Chronologically

Primary Elections Chronologically
8 November 2016 General Election Alphabetically
8 November 2016 General Election Chronologically
8 November 2016 Electoral College Chronologically

related pages...
Polling Hours All Elections
Polling Hours Primary Elections
Polling Hours General Elections


Polls begin closing on Tuesday 8 November 2016 at 0000 UTC (7:00p EST). All polls are closed by Wednesday at 0600 UTC (1:00p EST).

This chart reflects the poll closing times used by the networks and other media outlets on Election Night. There is an "unenforced pledge" to not project a winner in a state until that state's polls have closed (which, to the media, means "most of the state's polls have closed").

Below the chart is an outline of potential difficulties which may occur where a state spans time zones. (Poll closing times are extended for voters still in line when the hour of poll closing has arrived.)
 


The table below counts the electoral votes at LATEST poll closing time for states that span multiple time zones.The EARLIEST poll closing time is shown with blanks in the electoral vote column. (Note that the media has historically called states when MOST rather than ALL of the polls have closed.)


 
Copyright www.flags.net/UNST.htm Electoral
Votes
UTC Eastern Central Mountain Pacific Alaska
Hawaii
Atlantic
Chamorro
Samoa
No electoral votes by 7:00p ChST (0900 UTC)
Northern Marianas No
Electors
0900
UTC
4:00a
EST
3:00a
CST
2:00a
MST
1:00a
PST
12:00a
AKST
11:00p
HAST
5:00a
AST
7:00p
ChST

10:00p
SST
No electoral votes by 8:00p ChST (1000 UTC)
Guam No
Electors
1000
UTC
5:00a
EST
4:00a
CST
3:00a
MST
2:00a
PST
1:00a
AKST
12:00a
HAST
6:00a
AST
8:00p
ChST

11:00p
SST
No electoral votes by 5:00p AST (2100 UTC)
Puerto Rico No
Electors
2100
UTC
4:00p
EST
3:00p
CST
2:00p
MST
1:00p
PST
12:00p
AKST
11:00a
HAST
5:00p
AST

7:00a
ChST
10:00a
SST
No electoral votes by 7:00p AST (2300 UTC)
Virgin Islands No
Electors
2300
UTC
6:00p
EST
5:00p
CST
4:00p
MST
3:00p
PST
2:00p
AKST
1:00p
HAST
7:00p
AST

9:00a
ChST
12:00p
SST
Indiana (EST) *A  2300
UTC
6:00p
EST
5:00p
CST
4:00p
MST
3:00p
PST
2:00p
AKST
1:00p
HAST
7:00p
AST
9:00a
ChST
12:00p
SST
Kentucky (EST) *A  
60 total (60 new) electoral votes by 7:00p EST (0000 UTC)
Florida (EST) *A  0000
UTC
7:00p
EST
6:00p
CST
5:00p
MST
4:00p
PST
3:00p
AKST
2:00p
HAST
8:00p
AST
10:00a
ChST
1:00p
SST
Georgia 16
South Carolina 9
Vermont 3
Virginia 13
Indiana (CST) *A 110000
UTC
7:00p
EST
6:00p
CST
5:00p
MST
4:00p
PST
3:00p
AKST
2:00p
HAST
8:00p
AST
10:00a
ChST
1:00p
SST
Kentucky (CST) *A 8
98 total (38 new) electoral votes by 7:30p EST (0030 UTC)
North Carolina 150030
UTC
7:30p
EST
6:30p
CST
5:30p
MST
4:30p
PST
3:30p
AKST
2:30p
HAST
8:30p
AST
10:30a
ChST
1:30p
SST
Ohio 18
West Virginia 5
276 total (178 new) electoral votes by 8:00p EST (0100 UTC)

This is the earliest at which a candidate could be projected to have been elected the next President of the United States, assuming a candidate has been projected to win the necessary 270 electoral votes to be elected.

Connecticut 70100
UTC
8:00p
EST
7:00p
CST
6:00p
MST
5:00p
PST
4:00p
AKST
3:00p
HAST
9:00p
AST
11:00a
ChST
2:00p
SST
Delaware 3
District of Columbia 3
Maine 4
Maryland 10
Massachusetts 11
Michigan (EST) *A  
New Hampshire 4
New Jersey 14
Pennsylvania 20
Rhode Island 4
Tennessee (EST) *S  
Alabama 90100
UTC
8:00p
EST
7:00p
CST
6:00p
MST
5:00p
PST
4:00p
AKST
3:00p
HAST
9:00p
AST
11:00a
ChST
2:00p
SST
Florida (CST) *A 29
Illinois 20
Kansas (CST) *A 6
Mississippi 6
Missouri 10
Oklahoma 7
South Dakota (CST) *A  
Tennessee (CST) *S 11
Texas (CST) *A  
282 total (6 new) electoral votes by 7:30p CST (0130 UTC)
Arkansas 60130
UTC
8:30p
EST
7:30p
CST
6:30p
MST
5:30p
PST
4:30p
AKST
3:30p
HAST
9:30p
AST
11:30a
ChST
2:30p
SST
429 total (147 new) electoral votes by 9:00p EST (0200 UTC)
New York 290200
UTC
9:00p
EST
8:00p
CST
7:00p
MST
6:00p
PST
5:00p
AKST
4:00p
HAST
10:00p
AST
12:00p
ChST
3:00p
SST
Louisiana 80200
UTC
9:00p
EST
8:00p
CST
7:00p
MST
6:00p
PST
5:00p
AKST
4:00p
HAST
10:00p
AST
12:00p
ChST
3:00p
SST
Michigan (CST) *A 16
Minnesota 10
Nebraska (CST) *S  
Wisconsin 10
Arizona 110200
UTC
9:00p
EST
8:00p
CST
7:00p
MST
6:00p
PST
5:00p
AKST
4:00p
HAST
10:00p
AST
12:00p
ChST
3:00p
SST
Colorado 9
Kansas (MST) *A  
Nebraska (MST) *S 5
New Mexico 5
South Dakota (MST) *A 3
Texas (MST) *A 38
Wyoming 3
450 total (21 new) electoral votes by 9:00p CST (0300 UTC)
Iowa 60300
UTC
10:00p
EST
9:00p
CST
8:00p
MST
7:00p
PST
6:00p
AKST
5:00p
HAST
11:00p
AST
1:00p
ChST
4:00p
SST
North Dakota (CST) *A
reportedly
 
Idaho (MST) *A  0300
UTC
10:00p
EST
9:00p
CST
8:00p
MST
7:00p
PST
6:00p
AKST
5:00p
HAST
11:00p
AST
1:00p
ChST
4:00p
SST
Montana 3
Oregon (MST) *A  
Utah 6
Nevada 60300
UTC
10:00p
EST
9:00p
CST
8:00p
MST
7:00p
PST
6:00p
AKST
5:00p
HAST
11:00p
AST
1:00p
ChST
4:00p
SST
535 total (85 new) electoral votes by 9:00p MST (0400 UTC)
North Dakota (MST) *A
reportedly
30400
UTC
11:00p
EST
10:00p
CST
9:00p
MST
8:00p
PST
7:00p
AKST
6:00p
HAST
12:00a
AST
2:00p
ChST
5:00p
SST
California 550400
UTC
11:00p
EST
10:00p
CST
9:00p
MST
8:00p
PST
7:00p
AKST
6:00p
HAST
12:00a
AST
2:00p
ChST
5:00p
SST
Idaho (PST) *A 4
Oregon (PST) *A 7
Washington 12
Hawaii 40400
UTC
11:00p
EST
10:00p
CST
9:00p
MST
8:00p
PST
7:00p
AKST
6:00p
HAST
12:00a
AST
2:00p
ChST
5:00p
SST
535 total (0 new) electoral votes by 8:00p AKST (0500 UTC)
Alaska (AKST) *A  0500
UTC
12:00a
EST
11:00p
CST
10:00p
MST
9:00p
PST
8:00p
AKST

7:00p
HAST
1:00a
AST
3:00p
ChST
6:00p
SST
American Samoa
reportedly
No
Electors
0500
UTC
12:00a
EST
11:00p
CST
10:00p
MST
9:00p
PST
8:00p
AKST
7:00p
HAST
1:00a
AST
3:00p
ChST
6:00p
SST

538 total (3 new) electoral votes by 8:00p HAST (0600 UTC)
Alaska (HAST) *A 30600
UTC
1:00a
EST
12:00a
CST
11:00p
MST
10:00p
PST
9:00p
AKST
8:00p
HAST
2:00a
AST
4:00p
ChST
7:00p
SST
 
 

Notes

Polling places in states that span multiple time zones will close either synchronously or asynchronously.

  • (Note *S) With synchronized closing, all the polls close at the same GMT/UTC time. For states with multiple time zones-- when polls close in the advanced local time zone, they will close one hour earlier in the lagging local time zone.
  • (Note *A) With asynchronous closing, the polls close at different GMT/UTC times in different parts of the state. Media outlets might decide to declare a winner before all the polls have closed.

Alaska General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 8:00p AKST (0500 UTC) / 8:00p HAST (0600 UTC). Alaska Time covers most of the state except for the Aleutian Islands west of Umnak Island (approximately half of Aleutian Islands). The media considers Alaska's polls to close at 8 PM Alaska Time and, thus, considers the State "callable" after that hour.

Colorado General Election: Polls close at 7:00p MST (0200 UTC). Colorado votes mostly by mail.

Florida General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 7:00p EST (0000 UTC) / 7:00p CST (0100 UTC). Relatively small portions of this state are in CT and so the vast majority of the polls are closed by the time indicated ET.

Idaho General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 8:00p MST (0300 UTC) / 8:00p PST (0400 UTC). Local option allows polling places to open at 7 AM. A sizable part of IDAHO is in PT but, as the MT section is the much more populated portion of the state, the networks consider that "most of the polls in IDAHO" are closed by 8 PM MT.

Indiana General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 6:00p EST (2300 UTC) / 6:00p CST (0000 UTC). Although a portion of this state is in CT, the majority of the polls are closed by the time indicated ET when the networks feel they can project.

Kansas General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 7:00p MST (0200 UTC) / 7:00p CST (0100 UTC). For practical purposes, polling places open at 7 AM and close at 7 PM local time on Election Day. Technically, in the Central time zone, polling places open at 7 AM and close at 7 PM. However, a county may open the polls no earlier than 6 AM local time and close them no later than 8 PM. In the Mountain time zone, polling places open at 6 AM and close at 6 PM. However, a county may open the polls no earlier than 5 AM local time and close them no later than 7 PM.

Kentucky General Election and Speciial Election US House CD 1: Polls close asynchronously at 6:00p EST (2300 UTC) / 6:00p CST (0000 UTC). Poll closing time could be rather problematic in KENTUCKY. A large chunk of the state is in Central Time [but the networks consider that "most of the polls have closed" in KENTUCKY by 6 PM Eastern Time and so, if they can, project at the same time they project INDIANA]. Central Time voters in KENTUCKY may note the networks' willingness/eagerness to project a winner as early as 6 PM Eastern Time.

Maine General Election: Polls close at 8:00p EST (0100 UTC). Voting places open between 6:00a Eastern Time and 10:00a Eastern Time depending on the size of the town.

Massachusetts General Election: Polls close at 8:00p EST (0100 UTC). By local option, municipalities may open their polls as early as 5:45 a.m.

Michigan General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 8:00p EST (0100 UTC) / 8:00p CST (0200 UTC). Relatively small portions of this state are in Central Time and so the vast majority of the polls are closed by the time indicated Eastern Time, when the networks feel they can project.

Minnesota General Election: Polls close at 8:00p CST (0200 UTC). Voting begins at 10:00 AM in some townships.

Montana General Election: Polls close at 8:00p MST (0300 UTC). A polling place with less than 400 registered voters must be open at least from noon to 8 p.m. or until all registered electors have voted.

Nebraska General Election: Polls close synchronously at 8:00p CST (0200 UTC) / 7:00p MST (0200 UTC). The polls open and close at the same GMT/UTC time, that is, polls open and close at a particular local time in the advanced time zone and open and close one hour earlier local time in the lagging time zone.

New Hampshire General Election: Polls close at 8:00p EST (0100 UTC). Polls must open by 11 AM however most open between 7 AM and 8 AM. NEW HAMPSHIRE permits its 13 cities to keep their polls open until 8 PM Eastern Time by local option- however, as there ARE only 13 cities among New Hampshire's 234 County subdivisions [the 221 "non-cities", of course, being the proverbial New England Town(ship)], the fact is that the vast majority of NH's polls have closed by 7 PM Eastern Time and the networks have no problem considering this hour as the earliest hour of potential projection.

North Carolina General Election: Polls close at 7:30p EST (0030 UTC). In extraordinary circumstances, the county board of elections may direct that the polls remain open until 8:30 p.m.

North Dakota General Election: Polls reportedly close asynchronously at 9:00p CST (0300 UTC) / 9:00p MST (0400 UTC). Voting places open between 7:00a to 12:00n and remain open until 7:00p to 9:00p depending on the size of the town. The western half of the state is in Mountain Time but that is, of course, the more sparsely populated part of the state, so it is not as problematic to the networks as might be otherwise suggested by simple geography. In 2012, polls closed at 8pm CST in Cass County and at 7pm CST or 7pm MST in most other polling places.

Oregon General Election and Special Election Governor: Polls close asynchronously at 8:00p MST (0300 UTC) / 8:00p PST (0400 UTC). Oregon votes by mail. Ballots must be in the hands of election workers or in an official drop-off location no later than 8 PM local time. OREGON is the reverse of the norm because the by far largest portion of the state is in the lagging time zone and the networks have no choice but to not consider the OREGON polls closed until 8 PM Pacific.

Rhode Island General Election: Polls close at 8:00p EST (0100 UTC). Most polls are open at 7am. However, polls may open as late as 9am by location.

South Dakota General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 7:00p CST (0100 UTC) / 7:00p MST (0200 UTC).

Tennessee General Election: Polls close synchronously at 8:00p EST (0100 UTC) / 7:00p CST (0100 UTC). The polls close at the same GMT/UTC time, that is, polls close at a particular local time in the advanced time zone and close one hour earlier local time in the lagging time zone. Poll opening times are set by county.

Texas General Election: Polls close asynchronously at 7:00p CST (0100 UTC) / 7:00p MST (0200 UTC). Only the area around El Paso is in Mountain Time, so the vast majority of polls have closed in Texas by 7 PM Central Time.

Vermont General Election: Polls close at 7:00p EST (0000 UTC). Polls may open as early as 5:00a and no later than 10:00a as set by the Board of Civil Authority.

Washington General Election: Polls close at 8:00p PST (0400 UTC). Washington votes by mail. Ballots must be postmarked no later than Midnight local time going into Election Day itself, or dropped off in a designated ballot box by 8 p.m. local time on Election Day itself.

 
 

Time zone abbreviations


UTC: Coordinated Universal Time (Greenwich England)
AST: Atlantic Standard Time (Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands), UTC - 4 hours
EST: Eastern Standard Time, UTC - 5 hours
EDT: Eastern Daylight Time, UTC - 4 hours
CST: Central Standard Time, UTC - 6 hours
CDT: Central Daylight Time, UTC - 5 hours
MST: Mountain Standard Time, UTC - 7 hours
MDT: Mountain Daylight Time, UTC - 6 hours
PST: Pacific Standard Time, UTC - 8 hours
PDT: Pacific Daylight Time, UTC - 7 hours
AKST: Alaska Standard Time, UTC - 9 hours
AKDT: Alaska Daylight Time, UTC - 8 hours
HAST: Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time, UTC - 10 hours
HADT: Hawaii-Aleutian Daylight Time (Hawii does not observe daylight time), UTC - 9 hours
ChST: Chamorro Standard Time (Guam, Northern Marianas), UTC + 10 hours
SST: Samoa Standard Time, UTC - 11 hours
m: midnight
a: AM
p: PM

Notes


Primary dates marked "presumably" and polling times marked "reportedly" are based on unofficial or estimated data (especially as regards local variations from a jurisdictionwide statutory and/or regulatory standard) and are, thereby, subject to change.

 
 


  2016 General Election Home  
 
  President Popular Vote and FEC Total Receipts by Party  
  115th U.S. Senate Popular Vote and FEC Total Receipts by Party  
  Gubernatorial Popular Vote by Party  
  115th U.S. House Popular Vote and FEC Total Receipts by Party  
  Close Contests Summary - Decision by 2% or less  
  Contests Where No Candidate Received a Majority  
 
Electoral College
  Allocation  
  How Appointed   --   Meeting Place   --   Tabulation Joint Session of Congress  
  Duly Appointed Electors  
  THE "FAITHLESS ELECTORS" - Presidential Electors who have defected in the past  
  May Electors Defect?  
  DATES OF U.S. PRESIDENTIAL ELECTION "EVENTS": 1789 to the present  
  "APPARENT" ELECTORAL VOTE for President of the United States: 1856 to present  
  ELECTORAL VOTE for President of the United States (as pledged and as officially counted)  
  ELECTORAL VOTE for Vice President of the United States (as pledged and as officially counted)  
 
2016 Primaries and Runoffs for Statewide offices/Congress
  Alphabetically   --   Alphabetically with Filing Deadlines  
  Chronologically   --   Chronologically with Filing Deadlines  
  Poll Closing Times (with time zones)  
....
General Election Poll Closing Times (with time zones)
  Alphabetically   --   Chronologically   --   Electoral College  
....
Poll Closing Times (list)
  All Elections     Primary/Special Elections     General Elections  
....
  Presidential Candidates     Presidential Candidates by State     Presidential Candidate Ballot Access by State  
....
  Governors     Senate     House  
....
  Senators by 'Class'  
  Governors by election 'cycle'  
....
  Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance   --   Senatorial Primaries at a Glance  
....
  Open Governor's Chairs, Senate and House Seats (the incumbent is not running for re-election)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with no incumbent running for them  
  Uncontested Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats (one candidate running for office)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with multiple incumbents running for them  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with only one major party candidate running for office  
....
  2016 Partisan Composition by State  
....
  Political Parties  
....
  Senate Electoral Classes  
....
  Statewide Political Party Strength going into the 2016 General Election  
  Statewide Political Party Strength coming out of the 2014 General Elections  
....
  Relative Political Party Strength by SECTION and Region going into the 2014 General Election  
  Relative Political Party Strength by SECTION and Region coming out of the 2014 General Elections  
....

....
  Comparative Political Party Predominance in each State, 2000 thru 2014  
....
History
  Political Party Floor Leaders in the Congress of the United States  
  Dates of DIRECT PRIMARY Elections re: Major Party Nominations for Statewide and/or Federal Office  
  Length of Terms of Office of STATE Governors throughout American History  
....
  Dates of U.S. Presidential Election "Events": 1789 to present  
....
  Complete Constitutional provisions for the election of the President and Vice-President  
  Complete Federal Law governing the election of a President and Vice-President and filling of vacancies of the same  
....
  (downloads)