The Green Papers: Northern Marianas 2024 General Election
Flag images courtesy of The World Flag Database. Copyright Northern Marianas
Elections for Statewide offices and Congress
General Election: Tuesday 5 November 2024 (presumably)
General Election Runoff - Governor: Tuesday 19 November 2024 (presumably)
Tuesday 5 November 2024 (presumably) - General Election . Polling hours reportedly 7:00a-7:00p ChST (2100-0900 UTC).
Tuesday 19 November 2024 (presumably) - General Election Runoff - Governor . Polling hours reportedly 7:00a-7:00p ChST (2100-0900 UTC).
Capital:island of Saipan

  Alabama    Alaska    American Samoa    Arizona    Arkansas    California    Colorado    Connecticut    Delaware    District of Columbia    Florida    Georgia    Guam    Hawaii    Idaho    Illinois    Indiana    Iowa    Kansas    Kentucky    Louisiana    Maine    Maryland    Massachusetts    Michigan    Minnesota    Mississippi    Missouri    Montana    Nebraska    Nevada    New Hampshire    New Jersey    New Mexico    New York    North Carolina    North Dakota    Northern Marianas    Ohio    Oklahoma    Oregon    Pennsylvania    Puerto Rico    Rhode Island    South Carolina    South Dakota    Tennessee    Texas    Utah    Vermont    Virgin Islands    Virginia    Washington    West Virginia    Wisconsin    Wyoming 

Northern Marianas State and Local Government

Northern Marianas 2024 Presidential Primaries, Caucuses, and Conventions:
Democrats   Republicans

If no one receives a majority of the vote in the general election, the top two vote getters proceed to a runoff election 14 days after the vote is certified.


Governor  4 year term, Election Cycle: 2022, 2026

  Independent Governor Arnold Indalecio Palacios
First elected: 2022
Seat up for regular election: Tuesday 3 November 2026
Lieutenant Governor: David Mundo Apatang

Delegate to the House of Representatives  2 year term, Election Cycle: 2022, 2024. President George W. Bush signed S. 2739 on 8 May 2008 creating this office.

Seat up for regular election
Independent; (Democratic) Territorial Delegate  Gregorio Kilili Camacho "Kilili" Sablan
First elected: 2008; re-elected: 2010, 2012, 2014 (as an Independent), 2016, 2018, 2020, 2022.
Seat up for regular election: Tuesday 5 November 2024
Open Seat - 23 January 2024: "... the time has come to pass this responsibility to a new representative the people will elect this November ...."
 Candidate list (3)
  Candidate Democratic     island Representative  Edwin Kenneth "Ed" Propst
FEC H4MP01048
  Candidate Republican     Kimberlyn Kay King-Hinds
FEC H4MP01014 or H4MP01022 or H4MP01030

FEC H4MP01014; 31 Mar 24; Tot $13,211; Dsb $2,447
  Candidate Independent     John "Bolis" Gonzales

Political Parties    Parties appear in parenthesis and italics when a candidate receives the endorsement of a given Party and/or official sources indicate a candidate's association with a particular Party but only where the Party in question does not appear on the actual ballot as such.

Major Parties   Those parties which received electoral votes through winning a plurality of a state's [or the District of Columbia's] popular vote in any presidential election between 1984 and 2016. See Classification of Political parties.
  Democratic (affiliates): 1 incumbent, 1 candidate
  Republican: 1 candidate
  Independent: 2 incumbents, 1 candidate
Candidates running under the banner of more than one party are counted towards each party's total. A candidate who has lost a primary or is apparently no longer a candidate is not counted.


Candidates for office appear on this page in italics where 'The Green Papers' does not yet have independent confirmation from a legal election authority that the person has been officially certified to appear on the ballot.

Primary dates marked "presumably" and polling times marked "reportedly" are based on unofficial or estimated data (especially as regards local variations from a jurisdictionwide statutory and/or regulatory standard) and are, thereby, subject to change.

"FEC" indicates the Federal Election Commission (FEC) Campaign Finance Summary.

When available, we post each candidate's FEC identification number, the date of their most recently filed Report of Receipts and Disbursements, their "Tot" [Total Receipts (contributions received or what came in: FEC Form 3, Line 16, Column B)] and their "Dsb" [Total Disbursements (expenditures or what was spent: FEC Form 3, Line 23, Column B)]. A link is provided to the Federal Election Commission's Summary Report for those who might wish to explore the details.

If a candidate raises or spends $5,000 or less, he or she is not subject to FEC reporting requirements.

Links Links to other web sites

Election Authority
  Commonwealth Election Commission
  Commonwealth Election Commission
  Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands Election Commission
  Democratic Party of the Northern Marianas (facebook)
  Democratic Party of the Northern Marianas
  CNMI Republican Party
Media & others
  Marianas Business Journal
  Marianas Variety
  Saipan Tribune


  2024 General Election Home  
Electoral College
  How Appointed   --   Meeting Place   --   Tabulation Joint Session of Congress  
  Duly Appointed Electors  
  THE "FAITHLESS ELECTORS" - Presidential Electors who have defected in the past  
  May Electors Defect?  
  "APPARENT" ELECTORAL VOTE for President of the United States: 1856 to present  
  ELECTORAL VOTE for President of the United States (as pledged and as officially counted)  
  ELECTORAL VOTE for Vice President of the United States (as pledged and as officially counted)  
2024 Primaries and Runoffs for Statewide offices/Congress
  Alphabetically   --   Alphabetically with Filing Deadlines  
  Chronologically   --   Chronologically with Filing Deadlines  
  iCalendar Feed Subscriptions  
  Poll Closing Times (with time zones)  
General Election Poll Closing Times (with time zones)
  Alphabetically   --   Chronologically   --   Electoral College  
Poll Closing Times (list)
  All Elections     Primary/Special Elections     General Elections  
  Governors     Senate     House  
  Senators by 'Class'  
  Governors by election 'cycle'  
  Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance   --   Senatorial Primaries at a Glance  
  Open Governor's Chairs, Senate and House Seats (the incumbent is not running for re-election)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with no incumbent running for them  
  Uncontested Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats (one candidate running for office)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with multiple incumbents running for them  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with only one major party candidate running for office  
  2024 Partisan Composition by State  
  Political Parties  
  Senate Electoral Classes  
  Comparative Political Party Predominance in each State, 2000 thru 2016  
  Political Party Floor Leaders in the Congress of the United States  
  Dates of DIRECT PRIMARY Elections re: Major Party Nominations for Statewide and/or Federal Office  
  Length of Terms of Office of STATE Governors throughout American History