The Green Papers
2012 Presidential Primaries, Caucuses, and Conventions
Copyright Arkansas Republican
Presidential Nominating Process
Special Meeting of the County Conventions: Monday 23 April - Friday 11 May 2012
Primary: Tuesday 22 May 2012
Special District Convention: Saturday 9 June 2012
State Committee Meeting: Saturday 23 June 2012
Delegate Votes
Hard TotalFloor Vote
Romney, Willard "Mitt"104,200  68.39%33  91.67%36 100.00%
Paul, Ronald E. "Ron"20,399  13.39%  
Santorum, Richard J. "Rick"20,308  13.33%  
Gingrich, Newton Leroy "Newt"7,453   4.89%  
Uncommitted 3   8.33% 
Total152,360 100.00%36 100.00%36 100.00%

States Chronologically   States Alphabetically     Republican Convention     Arkansas Democrat    
Arkansas Primaries for Statewide offices and Congress
Arkansas State and Local Government


Unpledged delegate preferences as of
23 April 2012: Romney 1.
Source: Democratic Convention Watch 2012 GOP Superdelegate Endorsement List

The delegate selection processes herein, was updated on 21 December 2011.

Republican Party of Arkansas Rules - Edition 20110723 - State Committee Meeting - July 23, 2011 - Little Rock, Arkansas

22 May 2012 Primary returns from an offiical source.


Monday 23 April - Friday 11 May 2012: Each county holds a Special Meeting of the County Convention to elect delegates to the Special District Conventions. The Special Meeting is attended by qualified voters from that county who filed to be a Special Meeting delegate. The qualifying period is from 23 February to 1 March 2012.

  • Voting members of the State Committee, who will elect the National Convention At-Large Delegates, cannot be delegates to the Special District Convention.
  • There is no formal system applied in the Special Meetings to relate the presidential preference of the participants to the choice of the meeting's delegates.

Tuesday 22 May 2012: 33 of 36 of Arkansas's delegates to the Republican National Convention are bound to presidential contenders in today's Arkansas Presidential Primary.

  • 12 district delegates are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary results in each of the 4 congressional districts: each congressional district is assigned 3 National Convention delegates. These delegates are allocated to the presidential contenders as follows:
    • If a candidate receives a majority of the vote (more than 50%), that candidate is allocated all 3 of the district's delegates.
    • If no candidate receives a majority of the vote, the candidate with the plurality (most votes) is allocated 2 delegates and the candidate with the next highest number of votes is allocated 1 delegate.
  • 21 at-large delegates are to be allocated to the presidential contenders based on the statewide primary results.
    • Each presidential candidate receiving 15% of the statewide vote is allocated 1 delegate.
    • If a presidential candidate receives a majority of the statewide vote, that candidate is allocated the remaining at-large delegates.
    • If no presidential candidate receives a majority of the statewide vote, the remaining at-large delegates are proportionally allocated among the 3 highest vote-getters. Round fractions up for the candidate who received the most votes. We assume that the 2nd and 3rd positions would have their factions rounded down to the nearest whole number.

Note: If there are too few delegate candidates to fill the allocated delegate positions for a Presidential candidate, those positions are reallocated to the presidential candidate receiving the highest number of votes who has delegate candidates available to fill the positions. This rule applies to both the district and statewide contests

National Convention Delegates shall remain committed to the Presidential Candidate designated on their filing form through the first ballot unless they are released by their designated Presidential Candidate.

In addition, 3 party leaders, the National Committeeman, the National Committeewoman, and the chairman of the Arkansas's Republican Party, will attend the convention as unbound delegates by virtue of their position.

Tuesday 22 May 2012 Primary
CD121,244314,45168.024%32,78013.086% 2,77713.072% 1,2365.818% 
CD239,633326,79867.615%35,58214.084% 5,44213.731% 1,8114.569% 
CD355,578337,48567.446%37,82014.070% 7,75313.950% 2,5204.534% 
CD435,915325,47470.929%34,21911.747% 4,33612.073% 1,8865.251% 
Statewide152,37021104,20868.391%2120,40113.389% 20,30813.328% 7,4534.891% 
Delegates 33  33         
Statewide subtotal 15% threshold (1 delegate each): Romney.
Statewide subtotal 50% threshold: Romney (20 delegates).

Source: Arkansas Secretary of State
Certified 1 June 2012

Saturday 9 June 2012 - Special District Convention. District delegates are elected according to the results of the primary.


Saturday 23 June 2012 - State Committee Meeting. At-Large delegates are elected according to the results of the primary.

Links Links to other web sites

Constitution   Links to State Constitutions
  The Constitution of the State of Arkansas of 1874
Election Authority
  Arkansas Secretary of State Presents: Vote Naturally | Accurate, Accessible. For Arkansas
Legislature   Links to State Legislatures
  Arkansas General Assembly
  Arkansas House of Representatives
  Arkansas Senate
  The Republican Party of Arkansas
Media & others
  Arkansas - Little Rock
  Arkansas Democrat-Gazette - Little Rock
  Batesville Daily Guard
  Evening Times - West Memphis
  KAIT TV - ABC - Jonesboro
  KATV TV - ABC - Little Rock
  KLRT TV - FOX - Little Rock
  KTHV - CBS - Little Rock
  Lynch at Large
  Magnolia Reporter - Magnolia - Arkansas Democrat-Gazette - Fayetteville - Arkansas
  Talk Business River Rock Communications
  The Arkansas Project
  The Baxter Bulletin - Mountain Home
  The Jonesboro Sun
  The Leader - Jacksonville
  The Morning News - Springdale - Rogers - Bentonville - Fayetteville
  The Sentinel-Record - Hot Springs
  The Times Dispatch - Lawrence County
  The Times Record - Fort Smith - Log Cabin Democrat of Conway


  Election 2012 - Presidential Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
  Presidential Candidates  
Rule Making and Process
  30 December 2009 - Democratic Change Commission's Recommendations for the 2012 Presidential Nominating Process  
  20 August 2010 - Democratic National Committee approves 2012 Call To Convention and Delegate Selection Rules  
  6 August 2010 - Republican Temporary Delegate Selection Committee's Recommendations for the 2012 Presidential Nominating Process  
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
  Weekly Delegate Distribution and Availability  
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  Democratic Detailed Delegate Allocation   --   Republican Detailed Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
  Primaries at a Glance  
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Statutory Election Information of the Several states / Presidential Primary  
  Dates of PRESIDENTIAL PRIMARIES re: selection and/or allocation/distribution of Delegates to Major Party National Conventions  
  Major Third Party (Constitution, Green, Libertarian) Presidential Nomination Process  
  Straw Polls