The Green Papers: Off Year Election 2005

Copyright All-up chart of Governors by election 'cycle'

Governors, in all states except New Hampshire and Vermont, serve 4 year terms.
The Governors of New Hampshire and Vermont serve 2 year terms.

Regular Gubernatorial elections are held the first Tuesday following the first Monday in November in all states except Louisiana. Louisiana will hold a non-partisan primary on Saturday 20 October 2007 and, if no candidate receives 50% of the vote, a Saturday 17 November 2007 runoff.

Off Year Election
[most recent election:
Tuesday 8 November 2005]
[next regular election:
Tuesday 7 November 2006]
Off Year Election
[next regular election:
Tuesday 6 November 2007]
[next regular election:
Tuesday 4 November 2008]
New Jersey: Codey (D)Alabama: Riley (R)Kentucky: Fletcher (R)Delaware: Minner (D)
Virginia: Warner (D)Alaska: Murkowski (R)Louisiana: Blanco (D) (next election Saturday 20 October 2007)Indiana: Daniels (R)
 Arizona: Napolitano (D)Mississippi: Barbour (R)Missouri: Blunt (R)
 Arkansas: Huckabee (R) Montana: Schweitzer (D)
 California: Schwarzenegger (R) New Hampshire: 2-year term, previous regular election 2006
 Colorado: Owens (R) North Carolina: Easley (D)
 Connecticut: Rell (R) North Dakota: Hoeven (R)
 Florida: Bush (R) Utah: Huntsman (R)
 Georgia: Perdue (R) Vermont: 2-year term, previous regular election 2006
 Hawaii: Lingle (R) Washington: Gregoire (D)
 Idaho: Kempthorne (R) West Virginia: Manchin (D)
 Illinois: Blagojevich (D)  
 Iowa: Vilsack (D)  
 Kansas: Sebelius (D)  
 Maine: Baldacci (D)  
 Maryland: Ehrlich (R)  
 Massachusetts: Romney (R)  
 Michigan: Granholm (D)  
 Minnesota: Pawlenty (R)  
 Nebraska: Heineman (R)  
 Nevada: Guinn (R)  
 New Hampshire: Lynch (D)  
 New Mexico: Richardson (D)  
 New York: Pataki (R)  
 Ohio: Taft (R)  
 Oklahoma: Henry (D)  
 Oregon: Kulongoski (D)  
 Pennsylvania: Rendell (D)  
 Rhode Island: Carcieri (R)  
 South Carolina: Sanford (R)  
 South Dakota: Rounds (R)  
 Tennessee: Bredesen (D)  
 Texas: Perry (R)  
 Vermont: Douglas (R)  
 Wisconsin: Doyle (D)  
 Wyoming: Freudenthal (D)  
8 Nov 2005
2 Democratic (D)
7 Nov 2006
14 Democratic (D)
22 Republican (R)
6 Nov 2007
1 Democratic (D)
2 Republican (R)
4 Nov 2008
5 Democratic (D)
4 Republican (R)
Grand Total
22 Democratic (D)
28 Republican (R)

  2005 Off Year Election Home  
2005 Election Dates:   Chronologically   --   Alphabetically  
Poll Closing Times:   Chronologically   --   Alphabetically  
  Governors     Senate     House  
  Senators by 'Class'  
  Governors by election 'cycle'  
  Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance  
  Open Governor's Chairs, Senate and House Seats (the incumbent is not running for re-election)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with no incumbent running for them  
  Uncontested Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats (one candidate running for office)  
  2005 Partisan Composition by State  
  2005 Political Party Breakdown by State - "Traditional" Sections and Regions  
  Political Parties  
  Congressional Districts  
  Senate Electoral Classes  
  Statewide Political Party Strength  

The Green Papers Home