The Green Papers
2018 Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance


This "at a glance" look at the primary in each State simply lists the winner (and, in many cases, the candidate who came in second) in each Primary in chronological order.

boldface followed by (inc) indicates the incumbent

2018 Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance
Date State Democrat
R Winner % Second % R Winner % Second %
Tuesday 6 March 2018 Texas   Valdez (43%) v. White (28%) proceed to 22 May runoff   Abbott (inc)      
Tuesday 20 March 2018 Illinois   Pritzker 46 Biss 26   Rauner (inc) N Ives  
Tuesday 8 May 2018 Ohio   Cordray L Kucinich     DeWine D Taylor  
Tuesday 15 May 2018 Idaho   Jordan D Balukoff     Little 37 Labrador 33
Nebraska   Krist D Ward     Ricketts (inc)      
Oregon   Brown (inc)         Buehler 48 Carpenter 30
Pennsylvania   Wolf (inc) U       Wagner 44 Mango 40
Tuesday 22 May 2018 Arkansas   Henderson L Sanders     Hutchinson (inc) L Morgan  
Georgia   Abrams         Cagle (39%) v. Kemp (26%) proceed to a 26 June runoff
Texas R Valdez D White   R        
Tuesday 5 June 2018 Alabama   Maddox D Cobb     Ivey D Battle  
California   Newsom 33       Cox 26    
Top Two Primary Top Two Primary
Iowa   Hubbell D Glasson     Reynolds (inc)   U  
New Mexico   Grisham (inc) L Apodaca     Pearce U    
South Dakota   Sutton P       Noem D Jackley  
Tuesday 12 June 2018 Maine   TBD   Moody D Mason  
Nevada   Sisolak N Giunchigliani     Laxalt L Schwartz  
South Carolina   Smith L Willis     McMaster (inc.) v Warren proceed to a 26 June runoff
Tuesday 19 June 2018 Arkansas R         R        
Tuesday 26 June 2018 Colorado                    
South Carolina R         R        
Tuesday 17 July 2018 Alabama R         R        
Tuesday 24 July 2018 Georgia R         R        
Thursday 2 August 2018 Tennessee                    
Tuesday 7 August 2018 Kansas                    
Saturday 11 August 2018 Hawaii                    
Tuesday 14 August 2018 Connecticut                    
South Dakota R         R        
Tuesday 21 August 2018 Wyoming                    
Tuesday 28 August 2018 Arizona                    
Oklahoma R         R        
Tuesday 4 September 2018 Massachusetts                    
Tuesday 11 September 2018 New Hampshire                    
Wednesday 12 September 2018 Rhode Island                    
Thursday 13 September 2018 New York                    
Tuesday 6 November 2018 Northern Marianas                    


  • If a candidate wins 75.5% or more of the primary vote, the second place finisher is not listed.
  • U means that this candidate ran in the primary unopposed (that is, with no other candidates appearing on the ballot but him/her). Please note that write-ins do NOT count as such "other candidates on the ballot" but the appearance of "Uncommitted" (or equivalent, such as "None of the Above") on a ballot DOES.
  • L indicates a landslide majority [60.5 to 75.4% of the primary vote] for the winner.
  • D indicates a decisive majority [52.5 to 60.4% of the primary vote] for the winner.
  • N indicates a narrow majority [50.0(+1 vote) to 52.4% of the primary vote] for the winner.
  • Where a winning (or, in a runoff State, leading) candidate has failed to gain at least a majority of the primary vote, the winner(leader) of the primary and the candidate who came in second are both listed with their respective percentages of the primary vote rounded up or down to the nearest whole integer.
  • C indicates the Party's nominee was chosen by a Party-run process other than the Primary (State Convention, Party Central Committee or equivalent).
  • P indicates Primary cancelled / nomination by default because nominee was the only candidate to have filed for this Party's Primary for this office. P also applies to nominees-to-be by apparent Party consensus (i.e. no opposition at an ensuing Convention).
  • R indicates any Runoff which has been scheduled for this date.

  2018 General Election Home  
2018 Primaries and Runoffs for Statewide offices/Congress
  Alphabetically   --   Alphabetically with Filing Deadlines  
  Chronologically   --   Chronologically with Filing Deadlines  
  Poll Closing Times (with time zones)  
General Election Poll Closing Times (with time zones)
  Alphabetically   --   Chronologically  
Poll Closing Times (list)
  All Elections     Primary/Special Elections     General Elections  
  Governors     Senate     House  
  Senators by 'Class'  
  Governors by election 'cycle'  
  Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance   --   Senatorial Primaries at a Glance  
  Open Governor's Chairs, Senate and House Seats (the incumbent is not running for re-election)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with no incumbent running for them  
  Uncontested Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats (one candidate running for office)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with multiple incumbents running for them  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with only one major party candidate running for office  
  2018 Partisan Composition by State  
  Political Parties  
  Senate Electoral Classes  
  Statewide Political Party Strength going into the 2018 Midterm Elections  
  Relative Political Party Strength by SECTION and Region going into the 2018 Midterm Election  
  Weighted Relative Political Party Strength by SECTION and Region  
  2018 Congressional Party Breakdown by Region  
  2018 STATE EXECUTIVE/LEGISLATIVE Political Party Breakdown by SECTION and Region  

  Comparative Political Party Predominance in each State, 2000 thru 2014  
  Political Party Floor Leaders in the Congress of the United States  
  Dates of DIRECT PRIMARY Elections re: Major Party Nominations for Statewide and/or Federal Office  
  Length of Terms of Office of STATE Governors throughout American History