The Green Papers
2017 Poll Closing Times
for Statewide offices and Congress
Primary/Runoff/Special Elections Chronologically

Primary/Runoff/Special Elections Chronologically
7 November 2017 General Election Alphabetically
7 November 2017 General Election Chronologically

related pages...
Polling Hours All Elections
Polling Hours Primary/Runoff/Special Elections
Polling Hours General Elections

 
Copyright www.flags.net/UNST.htm UTC Eastern Central Mountain Pacific Alaska
Hawaii
Atlantic
Chamorro
Samoa
Tuesday 21 February 2017
Wisconsin - Spring Primary0200
UTC
9:00p
EST
8:00p
CST
7:00p
MST
6:00p
PST
5:00p
AKST
4:00p
HAST
10:00p
AST
12:00p
ChST
3:00p
SST
Tuesday 4 April 2017
Wisconsin - Spring Election0100
UTC
9:00p
EDT
8:00p
EST
8:00p
CDT
7:00p
MDT
6:00p
MST
6:00p
PDT
5:00p
AKDT
4:00p
HADT
3:00p
HAST
9:00p
AST
11:00a
ChST
2:00p
SST
California - Special Primary Election House CD 340300
UTC
11:00p
EDT
10:00p
EST
10:00p
CDT
9:00p
MDT
8:00p
MST
8:00p
PDT
7:00p
AKDT
6:00p
HADT
5:00p
HAST
11:00p
AST
1:00p
ChST
4:00p
SST
Tuesday 11 April 2017
Kansas - Special Election House CD 40000
UTC
8:00p
EDT
7:00p
EST
7:00p
CDT
6:00p
MDT
5:00p
MST
5:00p
PDT
4:00p
AKDT
3:00p
HADT
2:00p
HAST
8:00p
AST
10:00a
ChST
1:00p
SST
Tuesday 18 April 2017
Georgia - Special Election House CD 62300
UTC
7:00p
EDT

6:00p
EST
6:00p
CDT
5:00p
MDT
4:00p
MST
4:00p
PDT
3:00p
AKDT
2:00p
HADT
1:00p
HAST
7:00p
AST
9:00a
ChST
12:00p
SST
Tuesday 2 May 2017
South Carolina - Special Primary House CD 5
reportedly
2300
UTC
7:00p
EDT

6:00p
EST
6:00p
CDT
5:00p
MDT
4:00p
MST
4:00p
PDT
3:00p
AKDT
2:00p
HADT
1:00p
HAST
7:00p
AST
9:00a
ChST
12:00p
SST
Tuesday 16 May 2017
South Carolina - Special Runoff (GOP) House CD 52300
UTC
7:00p
EDT

6:00p
EST
6:00p
CDT
5:00p
MDT
4:00p
MST
4:00p
PDT
3:00p
AKDT
2:00p
HADT
1:00p
HAST
7:00p
AST
9:00a
ChST
12:00p
SST
Thursday 25 May 2017
Montana - Special Election House At-Large0200
UTC
10:00p
EDT
9:00p
EST
9:00p
CDT
8:00p
MDT

7:00p
MST
7:00p
PDT
6:00p
AKDT
5:00p
HADT
4:00p
HAST
10:00p
AST
12:00p
ChST
3:00p
SST
Tuesday 6 June 2017
New Jersey - Primary0000
UTC
8:00p
EDT

7:00p
EST
7:00p
CDT
6:00p
MDT
5:00p
MST
5:00p
PDT
4:00p
AKDT
3:00p
HADT
2:00p
HAST
8:00p
AST
10:00a
ChST
1:00p
SST
California - Special General Election House CD 340300
UTC
11:00p
EDT
10:00p
EST
10:00p
CDT
9:00p
MDT
8:00p
MST
8:00p
PDT
7:00p
AKDT
6:00p
HADT
5:00p
HAST
11:00p
AST
1:00p
ChST
4:00p
SST
Tuesday 13 June 2017
Virginia - Primary2300
UTC
7:00p
EDT

6:00p
EST
6:00p
CDT
5:00p
MDT
4:00p
MST
4:00p
PDT
3:00p
AKDT
2:00p
HADT
1:00p
HAST
7:00p
AST
9:00a
ChST
12:00p
SST
Tuesday 20 June 2017
Georgia - Special Runoff House CD 6
reportedly
2300
UTC
7:00p
EDT

6:00p
EST
6:00p
CDT
5:00p
MDT
4:00p
MST
4:00p
PDT
3:00p
AKDT
2:00p
HADT
1:00p
HAST
7:00p
AST
9:00a
ChST
12:00p
SST
South Carolina - Special General Election House CD 5
reportedly
Tuesday 15 August 2017
Alabama - Special Primary Senate Class 2
reportedly
0000
UTC
8:00p
EDT
7:00p
EST
7:00p
CDT
6:00p
MDT
5:00p
MST
5:00p
PDT
4:00p
AKDT
3:00p
HADT
2:00p
HAST
8:00p
AST
10:00a
ChST
1:00p
SST
Utah - Special Primary House CD 3
reportedly
0200
UTC
10:00p
EDT
9:00p
EST
9:00p
CDT
8:00p
MDT

7:00p
MST
7:00p
PDT
6:00p
AKDT
5:00p
HADT
4:00p
HAST
10:00p
AST
12:00p
ChST
3:00p
SST
Tuesday 26 September 2017
Alabama - Special Runoff (Republican) Senate Class 20000
UTC
8:00p
EDT
7:00p
EST
7:00p
CDT
6:00p
MDT
5:00p
MST
5:00p
PDT
4:00p
AKDT
3:00p
HADT
2:00p
HAST
8:00p
AST
10:00a
ChST
1:00p
SST
Saturday 14 October 2017
Louisiana - Open Primary - Special Election0100
UTC
9:00p
EDT
8:00p
EST
8:00p
CDT
7:00p
MDT
6:00p
MST
6:00p
PDT
5:00p
AKDT
4:00p
HADT
3:00p
HAST
9:00p
AST
11:00a
ChST
2:00p
SST
Saturday 18 November 2017
Louisiana - Open General (runoff)0200
UTC
9:00p
EST
8:00p
CST
7:00p
MST
6:00p
PST
5:00p
AKST
4:00p
HAST
10:00p
AST
12:00p
ChST
3:00p
SST
Tuesday 12 December 2017
Alabama - Special Election Senate Class 20100
UTC
8:00p
EST
7:00p
CST
6:00p
MST
5:00p
PST
4:00p
AKST
3:00p
HAST
9:00p
AST
11:00a
ChST
2:00p
SST
 
 

Notes

Polling places in states that span multiple time zones will close either synchronously or asynchronously.

  • (Note *S) With synchronized closing, all the polls close at the same GMT/UTC time. For states with multiple time zones-- when polls close in the advanced local time zone, they will close one hour earlier in the lagging local time zone.
  • (Note *A) With asynchronous closing, the polls close at different GMT/UTC times in different parts of the state. Media outlets might decide to declare a winner before all the polls have closed.

Kansas Special Election: Polls close on Tuesday 11 April 2017 at 7:00p CDT (0000 UTC). For practical purposes, polling places open at 7 AM and close at 7 PM local time on Election Day. However, a county may open the polls no earlier than 6 AM local time and close them no later than 8 PM.

Montana Special Election: Polls close on Thursday 25 May 2017 at 8:00p MDT (0200 UTC). A polling place with less than 400 registered voters must be open at least from noon to 8 p.m. or until all registered electors have voted.

 
 

Time zone abbreviations


UTC: Coordinated Universal Time (Greenwich England)
AST: Atlantic Standard Time (Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands), UTC - 4 hours
EST: Eastern Standard Time, UTC - 5 hours
EDT: Eastern Daylight Time, UTC - 4 hours
CST: Central Standard Time, UTC - 6 hours
CDT: Central Daylight Time, UTC - 5 hours
MST: Mountain Standard Time, UTC - 7 hours
MDT: Mountain Daylight Time, UTC - 6 hours
PST: Pacific Standard Time, UTC - 8 hours
PDT: Pacific Daylight Time, UTC - 7 hours
AKST: Alaska Standard Time, UTC - 9 hours
AKDT: Alaska Daylight Time, UTC - 8 hours
HAST: Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time, UTC - 10 hours
HADT: Hawaii-Aleutian Daylight Time (Hawii does not observe daylight time), UTC - 9 hours
ChST: Chamorro Standard Time (Guam, Northern Marianas), UTC + 10 hours
SST: Samoa Standard Time, UTC - 11 hours
m: midnight
a: AM
p: PM

Notes


Primary dates marked "presumably" and polling times marked "reportedly" are based on unofficial or estimated data (especially as regards local variations from a jurisdictionwide statutory and/or regulatory standard) and are, thereby, subject to change.

 
 


  2017 General Election Home  
 
2017 Primaries and Runoffs for Statewide offices/Congress
  Alphabetically   --   Alphabetically with Filing Deadlines  
  Chronologically   --   Chronologically with Filing Deadlines  
  Poll Closing Times (with time zones)  
....
General Election Poll Closing Times (with time zones)
  Alphabetically   --   Chronologically  
....
Poll Closing Times (list)
  All Elections     Primary/Special Elections     General Elections  
....
  Governors     Senate     House  
....
  Senators by 'Class'  
  Governors by election 'cycle'  
....
  Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance   --   Senatorial Primaries at a Glance  
....
  Open Governor's Chairs, Senate and House Seats (the incumbent is not running for re-election)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with no incumbent running for them  
  Uncontested Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats (one candidate running for office)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with multiple incumbents running for them  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with only one major party candidate running for office  
....
  2017 Partisan Composition by State  
....
  Political Parties  
....
  Senate Electoral Classes  
....
  Comparative Political Party Predominance in each State, 2000 thru 2016  
....
History
  Political Party Floor Leaders in the Congress of the United States  
  Dates of DIRECT PRIMARY Elections re: Major Party Nominations for Statewide and/or Federal Office  
  Length of Terms of Office of STATE Governors throughout American History  
....
  (downloads)