The Green Papers
Governor's Chairs, Senate, and House Seats
up for Election on 2 November 2004
with no incumbent running for them

This table is updated after each state completes its nominating process. Currently, 51 jurisdictions have completed their nominating processes: AK, AL, AR, AZ, CA, CO, CT, DC, DE, FL, GA, HI, IA, ID, IL, IN, KS, KY, LA, MA, MD, ME, MI, MN, MO, MS, MT, NC, ND, NE, NJ, NH, NM, NV, NY, OH, OK, OR, PA, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, VT, WA, WI, WV, WY.

Governor's Chairs, Senate and House Seats...
Open (incumbent not running for re-election)
No incumbent running
Uncontested (one candidate running)
Multiple incumbents running

House CD 3
Republican - Dan Lungren
Democrat - Gabe Castillo
Libertarian - Douglas Arthur "Art" Tuma
House CD 20
Democrat - Jim Costa
Republican - Roy Ashburn
Senate Class 3
Democrat - Ken Salazar
Republican - Pete Coors
American Constitution - Douglas "Dayhorse" Campbell
Libertarian - Richard Randall
Independent - John R. Harris
Reform - Victor Good
Unaffiliated - Finn Gotaas
House CD 3
Democrat - John T. Salazar
Republican - Greg Walcher
Unaffiliated - Jim Krug
Senate Class 3
Republican - Mel Martinez
Democrat - former state Education Commissioner Betty Castor
Veterans - Dennis F. Bradley
House CD 14
Republican - Connie Mack
Democrat - Robert M. Neeld
House CD 20
Democrat - Debbie Wasserman Schultz
Republican - Margaret Hostetter
Senate Class 3
Republican - Congressman Johnny Isakson
Democrat - Congressman Denise L. Majette
Libertarian - Allen Buckley
House CD 4
Democrat - Cynthia McKinney
Republican - Catherine Davis
House CD 6
Republican - Tom Price
House CD 8
Republican - Lynn Westmoreland
Democrat - Silvia Delamar
Senate Class 3
Democrat - Barack Obama
Republican - Alan Keyes
Independent - Albert J. Franzen
Libertarian - Jerry Kohn
House CD 3
Democrat - Daniel William Lipinski
Republican - Ryan Chlada
House CD 4
Republican - Geoff Davis
Democrat - Nick Clooney
Independent - Michael E. Slider
Senate Class 3
Republican - Congressman David Vitter
Democrat - Congressman Chris John
Democrat - John Kennedy
Democrat - State Representative Arthur Morrell
Not affiliated with a recognized political party - Richard M. Fontanesi
Not affiliated with a recognized political party - R. A. "Skip" Galan
Democrat - Sam Houston Melton, Jr.
House CD 1
Republican - Piyush "Bobby" Jindal
Democrat - Roy Armstrong
Democrat - M. V. "Vinny" Mendoza
Democrat - Daniel Zimmerman
Democrat - "Jerry" Watts
Republican - "Mike" Rogers
House CD 3
Democrat - "Charlie" Melancon
Republican - W.J. "Billy" Tauzin, III
House CD 7
Republican - Charles Boustany, Jr.
Democrat - Willie Landry Mount
House CD 7
Republican - John H.J. "Joe" Schwarz
Democrat - Sharon Marie Renier
United States Taxpayers - David Horn
Green - Jason Seagraves
Libertarian - Kenneth Proctor
Republican - Matt Blunt
Democrat - Auditor Claire McCaskill
Libertarian - John M. Swenson
Constitution - Robert Wells
House CD 3
Democrat - Russ Carnahan
Republican - Bill Federer
Libertarian - Kevin C. Babcock
Constitution - William J. Renaud
House CD 5
Democrat - Emanuel Cleaver, II
Republican - Jeanne Patterson
Libertarian - Rick Bailie
Constitution - Darin Rodenberg
Democrat - Brian Schweitzer
Republican - Secretary of State Bob Brown
Green - Bob Kelleher
Libertarian - Stanley R. Jones
House CD 1
Republican - Jeff Fortenberry
Democrat - Matt Connealy
Green - Steven R. Larrick
New Jersey
Democrat - (pending)
Republican - Douglas Forrester
New Mexico
No Party Affiliation - Christina M. Vahlsing
New York
House CD 27
Democrat - Brian M. Higgins
Republican - Nancy A. Naples
House CD 29
Republican - State Senator John "Randy" Kuhl
Democrat - Samara A. "Sam" Barend
Conservative - Monroe County legislator Mark Assini
Independence - John Ciampoli
North Carolina
Senate Class 3
Republican - Congressman Richard M. Burr
Democrat - Erskine Bowles
Libertarian - Tom Bailey
House CD 5
Republican - Virginia Foxx
Democrat - Jim A. Harrell, Jr.
House CD 10
Republican - Patrick T. McHenry
Democrat - Anne N. Fischer
Senate Class 3
Republican - former Congressman Tom Coburn
Democrat - Congressman Brad Carson
Independent - Sheila Bilyeu
House CD 2
Democrat - Dan Boren
Republican - Wayland Smalley
House CD 8
Republican - Michael G. "Mike" Fitzpatrick
Democrat - Virginia Waters Schrader
Libertarian - Arthur L. Farnsworth
Constitution - Erich Lukas
House CD 13
Democrat - Allyson Schwartz
Republican - Melissa Brown
Constitution - John P. McDermott
Libertarian - Chuck Moulton
House CD 15
Republican - Charles W. Dent
Democrat - Joe Driscoll
Libertarian - Richard J. Piotrowski
Green - Greta Browne
South Carolina
Senate Class 3
Republican - Congressman Jim DeMint
Democrat - State Superintendent of Education Inez Tenenbaum
Constitution - Patrick Tyndall
Libertarian - Rebekah E. "Reb" Sutherland
United Citizens - Tee Ferguson
Green - Efia Nwangaza
House CD 4
Republican - Bob Inglis
Democrat - Brandon P. Brown
Green - C. Faye Walters
House CD 9
Democrat - Al Green
Republican - Arlette Molina
Libertarian - Stacey Lynn Bourland
House CD 10
Republican - Michael T. McCaul
Libertarian - Robert William Fritsche
House CD 11
Republican - Mike Conaway
Democrat - Wayne Raasch
Libertarian - Jeffrey C. Blunt
House CD 24
Republican - Kenny Marchant
Democrat - Gary R. Page
Libertarian - James Lawrence
House CD 28
Democrat - Henry Cuellar
Republican - James F. "Jim" Hopson
Libertarian - Ken Ashby
Republican - Jon M. Huntsman, Jr.
Democrat - Scott M. Matheson, Jr.
Personal Choice - Ken Larsen
House CD 2
Republican - Thelma D. Drake
Democrat - David B. Ashe
Democrat - Attorney General Christine Gregoire
Republican - Dino Rossi
Libertarian - Ruth Bennett
House CD 5
Republican - Cathy McMorris
Democrat - Don Barbieri
House CD 8
Republican - Dave Reichert
Democrat - Dave Ross
Libertarian - Spencer Garrett
West Virginia
Democrat - Secretary of State Joe Manchin, III
Republican - Monty Warner
Mountain - Jesse Johnson
House CD 4
Democrat - Gwendolynne "Gwen" Moore
Republican - Gerald H. Boyle
Independent - Tim Johnson
Independent - Robert R. Raymond
Constitution - Colin Hudson

  2004 General Election Home  
Electoral College
  Allocation     How Appointed     Meeting Place (13 December)  
  Duly Appointed Electors     Tabulation by Congress (6 January)  
  May Electors Defect?  
  THE "FAITHLESS ELECTORS" - Presidential Electors who have defected in the past  
  Contests to Watch and Polling Data  
2 November Poll Closing Times:   Alphabetically   --   Electoral College Chronologically  
2004 Primary/Runoff dates:   Alphabetically   --   Chronologically   --   Poll Closing Times  
  President (Details)     Governors     Senate     House  
  Senators by 'Class'   --   Senate Seats by Region and Subregion  
  Governors' by election 'cycle'   --   Governors by Region and Subregion  
  Senatorial Primaries at a Glance     Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance  
  Open Governor's Chairs, Senate and House Seats (the incumbent is not running for re-election)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with no incumbent running for them  
  Uncontested Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats (one candidate running for office)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with multiple incumbents running for them  
  2004 Partisan Composition by State  
  2004 Congressional Districts  
  Senate Electoral Classes  
  Relative Political Party Strength / Sectional and Regional Politics in Presidential Elections  
  1972-2000 Presidential Election State Voting Trends  
  Statewide Political Party Strength