The Green Papers: Off Year Election 2003
Copyright 2003 Governor's Chairs
by State

This is a list of the current Governors' seats, the incumbents occupying them, and the candidacy status of said incumbents. Chairs up for election in the year 2003 are marked as such.

  Alabama    Alaska    Arizona    Arkansas    California    Colorado    Connecticut    Delaware    Florida    Georgia    Hawaii    Idaho    Illinois    Indiana    Iowa    Kansas    Kentucky    Louisiana    Maine    Maryland    Massachusetts    Michigan    Minnesota    Mississippi    Missouri    Montana    Nebraska    Nevada    New Hampshire    New Jersey    New Mexico    New York    North Carolina    North Dakota    Ohio    Oklahoma    Oregon    Pennsylvania    Rhode Island    South Carolina    South Dakota    Tennessee    Texas    Utah    Vermont    Virginia    Washington    West Virginia    Wisconsin    Wyoming 

Governor Links

California  4 year term, Election Cycle: 2002, 2006. Term Limit: 2 4-year terms
Partisan Composition: 1 Republican
Governor Candidate Write-In . (Alphabetical list of 28 certified write-in candidates and their alternative names)
DONNIE ADLEN (Democrat); THOMAS "TOM" BENIGNO (Independent); HARRY WILLIAM BRAUN (Democrat); CHRISTY CASSEL (Independent); R. CHARLIE CHADWICK [aka: R. Charlie Chadwick, Charlie Chadwick, Charlie Chaplin, Charlie Chadwich, Chad, R. Charley Chadwick, Charley Chadwick, Charley Chaplin, Charley Chadwich, R. Charles Chadwick, Charles Chadwick, Charles Chaplin, Charles Chadwich, R. Chuck Chadwick, Chuck Chadwick, Chuck Chaplin, Chuck Chadwich, Go-Chad] (Independent); SHIRLEY COLY (Independent); PAULINE COOPER (Democrat); JANE H. DAWSON (Democrat); JASON ALAN GASTRICH (Republican); ROBERT D. GIBB [aka: Bob Gibb, Robert Gibb] (Democrat); YANCEY HAWKINS [aka: Yancy Hawkins, Y.H., Yancey, Yancy, Hawkins, Hawk] (Independent); CHARLES J. HENNEGAN (Republican); JACQUES-ANDRE ISTEL [aka: JAI] (Republican); MONTY MANIBOG (Democrat); CHRISTIAN F. MEISTER [aka: Master, Miester, Myster, Chris, Chris Master, Chris Miester, Chris Myster, Christian Master, Christian Miester, Christian Myster] (Democrat); VINCENT PALLAVER (Independent); LINCOLN PICKARD (Democrat); RUTH ANSON SOWBY (Republican); MATHILDA KAREL SPAK (Independent); RONALD W. SPANGLER (Independent); BILL THILL (Democrat); LYNDA L. TOTH (Democrat); JIM "POORMAN" TRENTON [aka: Poorman, Poor Man, James Trenton, Jim Trenton, Poorman Trenton, The Poorman, The Poor Man, James "Poorman" Trenton] (Republican); PAUL WALTON (Independent); DONALD P. WANG [aka: Donald Wang, Don Wang, D. Wang, D.P. Wang, Wang, The Wang, Wangster] (Republican); WIGNES K. WARREN (Democrat); JURLENE JEANNE KOKOA WHITE [aka: Jurlene Jeanne White, Jurlene J. Kokoa White, Jeri-Kokoa White, Jeri White, Kokoa White, Coco White, Jeanne White, Jean White] (Democrat); JOEL WIRTH (Republican).

Kentucky  4 year term, Election Cycle: 1999, 2003. Term Limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms
Partisan Composition: 1 Democrat
Governor Candidate Write-In Stacy C. Abner
Lt. Governor: Harvey Carroll, Jr.
Governor Candidate Write-In Jeffrey Loren Hillebrandt
Lt. Governor: Margarita Nancy Hillebrandt


  2003 Off Year Election Home  
2003 Election dates:   Chronologically   --   Alphabetically  
Poll Closing Times:   Chronologically   --   Alphabetically  
  Governors     Senate     House  
  Senators by 'Class'   --   Senate Seats by Region and Subregion  
  Governors' by election 'cycle'   --   Governors by Region and Subregion  
  Off Year Election Congressional Districts  
  2003 Partisan Composition by State  
  Senate Electoral Classes  
  Change in Representation in U.S. House by REGION and Subregion between 2000 and 2002