The Green Papers
Virginia 2002 Midterm Election Congressional Districts
Copyright Virginia

  Alabama    Alaska    Arizona    Arkansas    California    Colorado    Connecticut    Delaware    Florida    Georgia    Hawaii    Idaho    Illinois    Indiana    Iowa    Kansas    Kentucky    Louisiana    Maine    Maryland    Massachusetts    Michigan    Minnesota    Mississippi    Missouri    Montana    Nebraska    Nevada    New Hampshire    New Jersey    New Mexico    New York    North Carolina    North Dakota    Ohio    Oklahoma    Oregon    Pennsylvania    Rhode Island    South Carolina    South Dakota    Tennessee    Texas    Utah    Vermont    Virginia    Washington    West Virginia    Wisconsin    Wyoming 

Virginia Midterm Election

1992-2000 Congressional Districts
107th House, Elected 7 November 2000, Serving 2001-2002

Virginia has 95 counties and 41 so-called "independent cities" (which- as the term implies- are incorporated cities completely separate from any county): 83 counties and 32 independent cities are wholly within a given congressional district while 12 counties and 9 independent cities are divided between more than one congressional district.

UNDIVIDED COUNTIES AND INDEPENDENT CITIES (wholly within one Congressional District):

  • CD 1: the Counties of Accomack, Caroline, Gloucester, King George, Lancaster, Mathews, Middlesex, Northampton, Northumberland, Richmond, Stafford, Westmoreland and York plus the Independent Cities of Fredericksburg, Poquoson and Williamsburg.
  • CD 3: the Counties of Charles City, Essex, King and Queen, King William, New Kent and Surry.
  • CD 4: the Counties of Amelia, Brunswick, Dinwiddie, Goochland, Greensville, Isle of Wight, Louisa, Nottaway, Powhatan, Southampton and Sussex plus the Independent Cities of Chesapeake, Colonial Heights, Emporia and Franklin.
  • CD 5: the Counties of Appomattox, Buckingham, Campbell, Charlotte, Cumberland, Fluvanna, Franklin, Halifax, Henry, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Nelson, Patrick, Pittsylvania and Prince Edward plus the Independent Cities of Bedford, Charlottesville, Danville, Martinsville and South Boston.
  • CD 6: the Counties of Allegheny, Amherst, Augusta, Bath, Botetourt, Highland and Rockbridge plus the Independent Cities of Buena Vista, Clifton Forge, Covington, Harrisonburg, Lexington, Lynchburg, Roanoke, Salem, Staunton and Waynesboro.
  • CD 7: the Counties of Culpeper, Greene, Madison and Orange.
  • CD 8: the County of Arlington plus the Independent Cities of Alexandria and Falls Church.
  • CD 9: the Counties of Bland, Buchanan, Carroll, Craig, Dickenson, Floyd, Giles, Grayson, Lee, Montgomery, Pulaski, Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, Wise and Wythe plus the Independent Cities of Bristol, Galax, Norton and Radford.
  • CD 10: the Counties of Clarke, Fauquier, Frederick, Loudoun, Page, Rappahannock, Shenandoah and Warren plus the Independent Cities of Manassas, Manassas Park and Winchester.
  • CD 11: the Independent City of Fairfax.

DIVIDED COUNTIES AND INDEPENDENT CITIES (split between more than one Congressional District):

Counties of:

  • Albemarle- CDs 5 and 7
  • Bedford- CDs 5 and 6
  • Chesterfield- CDs 4 and 7
  • Fairfax- CDs 8, 10 and 11
  • Hanover- CDs 1 and 7
  • Henrico- CDs 3 and 7
  • James City- CDs 1 and 3
  • Prince George- CDs 3 and 4
  • Prince William- CDs 10 and 11
  • Roanoke- CDs 6 and 9
  • Rockingham- CDs 6 and 10
  • Spotsylvania- CDs 1 and 7

Independent Cities of:

  • Hampton- CDs 1 and 3
  • Hopewell- CDs 3 and 4
  • Newport News- CDs 1 and 3
  • Norfolk- CDs 2 and 3
  • Petersburg- CDs 3 and 4
  • Portsmouth- CDs 3 and 4
  • Richmond- CDs 3 and 7
  • Suffolk- CDs 3 and 4
  • Virginia Beach- CDs 2 and 4

2002-2010 Congressional Districts
108th House, To be elected 5 November 2002, Serving 2003-2004

CD 1: Caroline County, Essex County, Fauquier County, Fredericksburg City, Gloucester County, Hampton City, James City County, King and Queen County, King George County, King William County, Lancaster County, Mathews County, Middlesex County, Newport News City, Northumberland County, Poquoson City, Prince William County, Richmond County, Spotsylvania County, Stafford County, Westmoreland County, Williamsburg City, York County.

CD 2: Accomack County, Hampton City, Norfolk City, Northampton County, Virginia Beach City.

CD 3: Charles City County, Hampton City, Henrico County, New Kent County, Newport News City, Norfolk City, Portsmouth City, Prince George County, Richmond City, Surry County.

CD 4: Amelia County, Brunswick County, Chesapeake City, Chesterfield County, Colonial Heights City, Dinwiddie County, Emporia City, Franklin City, Greensville County, Hopewell City, Isle of Wight County, Nottoway County, Petersburg City, Powhatan County, Prince George County, Southampton County, Suffolk City, Sussex County.

CD 5: Albemarle County, Appomattox County, Bedford County, Bedford City, Brunswick County, Buckingham County, Campbell County, Charlotte County, Charlottesville City, Cumberland County, Danville City, Fluvanna County, Franklin County, Greene County, Halifax County, Henry County, Lunenburg County, Martinsville City, Mecklenburg County, Nelson County, Pittsylvania County, Prince Edward County.

CD 6: Alleghany County, Amherst County, Augusta County, Bath County, Bedford County, Botetourt County, Buena Vista City, Covington City, Harrisonburg City, Highland County, Lexington City, Lynchburg City, Roanoke County, Roanoke City, Rockbridge County, Rockingham County, Salem City, Shenandoah County, Staunton City, Waynesboro City.

CD 7: Caroline County, Chesterfield County, Culpeper County, Goochland County, Hanover County, Henrico County, Louisa County, Madison County, Orange County, Page County, Rappahannock County, Richmond City, Spotsylvania County.

CD 8: Alexandria City, Arlington County, Fairfax County, Falls Church City.

CD 9: Alleghany County, Bland County, Bristol City, Buchanan County, Carroll County, Covington City, Craig County, Dickenson County, Floyd County, Galax City, Giles County, Grayson County, Henry County, Lee County, Montgomery County, Norton City, Patrick County, Pulaski County, Radford City, Roanoke County, Russell County, Scott County, Smyth County, Tazewell County, Washington County, Wise County, Wythe County.

CD 10: Clarke County, Fairfax County, Fauquier County, Frederick County, Loudoun County, Manassas City, Manassas Park City, Prince William County, Warren County, Winchester City.

CD 11: Fairfax County, Fairfax City, Prince William County.


  Midterm Election Home  
  RACES TO KEEP AN EYE ON -- A Spectator's Guide To Election 2002  
  Contests To Watch (pre-election polls)  
Poll Closing Times:   5 November Chronologically   --   5 November Alphabetically   --   Primaries  
  2002 Primary and Runoff Elections Chronologically   --   2002 Primary and Runoff Elections Alphabetically  
  Governors     Senate     107th House (2001-2002)     108th House (2003-2004)  
  Open Governor's Chairs, Senate and House Seats (the incumbent is not running for re-election)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with no incumbent running for them  
  Uncontested Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats (one candidate running for office)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with multiple incumbents running for them  
  2002 Partisan Composition by State  
  Midterm Election Congressional Districts  
  Senate Electoral Classes  
  Governors of the States of the Union by REGION and subregion  
  "Class 2" U.S. Senate seats up for election in 2002 by REGION and Subregion  
  Change in Representation in U.S. House by REGION and Subregion between 2000 and 2002