The Green Papers: General Election 2000

Copyright Minnesota
Primary: Tuesday, September 12, 2000
2000 Electoral Votes:10(1.86% of 538)
Governor:1(Term Limit: None; 4-year term)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 1 and 2)
2000 Representatives:8(1.84% of 435)
1990 Census: 4,375,665(1.76% of 248,765,170)
Registered Voters (Nov 98): 2,667,692
Estimated Voting age population (Jan 98): 3,483,000 
Tuesday, November 7, 2000 Polls Close: 8 PM CST (0200 UTC)
Candidates seeking office
Last modified
States Alphabetically    States Chronologically    Minnesota Links
  President (short)    President (long)    Governors    Senate    House  

President  Electoral votes: 10, Term limit: No more than 2 4-year terms in a lifetime; Electors: How Appointed, Meeting Place, How they voted; Total Popular Vote: 2,438,685; List of States: Short, Long

 CandidateConstitution 3,272 0.13% Howard Phillips
 WinnerDemocrat 1,168,266 47.91% Vice President Albert A. "Al" Gore, Jr.
(10 Electoral Votes)
 CandidateRepublican 1,109,659 45.50% Governor George W. Bush
 CandidateSocialist 1,022 0.04% James E. Harris, Jr.
 CandidateReform 22,166 0.91% Pat Buchanan
Running under the banner of "REFORM MINNESOTA"
 CandidateReform 2,294 0.09% John Hagelin
 CandidateLibertarian 5,282 0.22% Harry Browne
 CandidateGreen126,696 5.20% Ralph Nader
 Candidate"Write-In" 17 0.00% Bernard Marcus
Minnesota Secretary of State lists running mate as "To Be Determined" and party affiliation as "No Party".
 Candidate"Write-In" 7 0.00% Beatrice J Mooney
BEATRICE J. MOONEY's running mate is DEB HEIBERGER. Minnesota Secretary of State lists party affiliation as "No Party".
 Candidate"Write-In" 4 0.00% Gloria Dawn Strickland
GLORIA DAWN STRICKLAND's running mate is SHARON MARTLE. The Minnesota Secretary of State lists party affiliation as "No Party".

Governor  Term limit: None; 4-year term, Current Governors  

 Independent  Jesse Ventura
First elected: 1998 (under the banner of the Reform Party: left the Party February 2000)
Chair up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

Senate  6-year term, Current Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 1Republican  Rod Grams
First elected: 1994
Renominated - 12 September 2000 Primary
 WinnerDemocrat  Mark Dayton
 CandidateIndependence  James (Jim) Gibson
 CandidateRepublican  Senator Rod Grams
 CandidateLibertarian  Erik D. Pakieser
 CandidateConstitution  David Swan

Class 2Democrat  Paul D. Wellstone
First elected: 1990; re-elected: 1996
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

House of Representatives  2 year term, Current House  
6 Democrats
2 Republicans

CD 1Republican  Gil Gutknecht
Renominated - 12 September 2000 Primary
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Gil Gutknecht
 CandidateLibertarian  Rich Osness
 CandidateDemocrat  Mary Rieder

CD 2Democrat  David Minge
Renominated - 12 September 2000 Primary
 CandidateIndependence  Gerald W. Brekke
 CandidateLibertarian  Ron Helwig
 WinnerRepublican  Mark Kennedy
 CandidateDemocrat  Congressman David Minge
 17 November 2000 - Reports indicate Democratic Congressman David Minge will seek a recount. Republican Mark Kennedy leads by 150 votes.

CD 3Republican  Jim Ramstad
Renominated - 12 September 2000 Primary
 CandidateLibertarian  Bob Odden
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Jim Ramstad
 CandidateDemocrat  Sue Shuff

CD 4Democrat  (empty name)
Vacant Office. Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 7, 2000. Representative Bruce F. Vento died October 10, 2000. He was not a candidate for reelection.
 CandidateIndependence  Tom Foley
 WinnerDemocrat  Betty McCollum
 CandidateRepublican  Linda Runbeck

CD 5Democrat  Martin Olav Sabo
Renominated - 12 September 2000 Primary
 CandidateLibertarian  Chuck Charnstrom
 WinnerDemocrat  Congressman Martin Olav Sabo
 CandidateRepublican  Frank Taylor
 CandidateIndependence  Rob Tomich

CD 6Democrat  Bill Luther
Renominated - 12 September 2000 Primary
 CandidateRepublican  John Kline
 WinnerDemocrat  Congressman Bill Luther

CD 7Democrat  Collin C. Peterson
Renominated - 12 September 2000 Primary
 CandidateRepublican  Glen Menze
 WinnerDemocrat  Congressman Collin C. Peterson

CD 8Democrat  James L. Oberstar
Renominated - 12 September 2000 Primary
 CandidateRepublican  Warren L. Nelson
 WinnerDemocrat  Congressman James L. Oberstar

Congressional District

Minnesota has 87 counties and 8 congressional districts: 78 counties are wholly within a given congressional district; 9 counties are divided among more than one congressional district.

UNDIVIDED COUNTIES (wholly within one Congressional District):

  • CD # 1: Blue Earth, Dodge, Faribault, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Houston, Mower, Olmsted, Rice, Steele, Wabasha, Waseca and Winona
  • CD # 2: Big Stone, Brown, Carver, Chippewa, Cottonwood, Jackson, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Martin, Meeker, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Redwood, Renville, Rock, Sibley, Swift, Watonwan, Wright and Yellow Medicine
  • CD # 4: Ramsey
  • CD # 6: Anoka and Washington
  • CD # 7: Becker, Beltrami, Clay, Clearwater, Douglas, Grant, Hubbard, Kitson, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Otter Tail, Pennington, Polk, Pope, Red Lake, Roseau, Stevens, Todd, Traverse, Wadena and Wilkin
  • CD # 8: Aitkin, Carlton, Cass, Chisago, Cook, Crow Wing, Isanti, Itasca, Kanabec, Koochiching, Lake, Mille Lacs, Pine and St. Louis

DIVIDED COUNTIES (split between more than one Congressional District):

  • Benton: CDs 7 and 8
  • Dakota: CDs 1, 3, 4 and 6
  • Hennepin: CDs 3 and 5
  • LeSueur: CDs 1 and 2
  • Morrison: CDs 7 and 8
  • Nicollet: CDs 1 and 2
  • Scott: CDs 1, 2 and 3
  • Sherburne: CDs 7 and 8
  • Stearns: CDs 2 and 7

CD # 5 is wholly within Hennepin County