The Green Papers: General Election 2000

Copyright Arizona
Primary: Tuesday, September 12, 2000
2000 Electoral Votes:8(1.49% of 538)
Governor:1(Term Limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 1 and 3)
2000 Representatives:6(1.38% of 435)
1990 Census: 3,665,339(1.47% of 248,765,170)
Registered Voters (Nov 98): 2,265,879
Estimated Voting age population (Jan 98): 3,547,000 
Tuesday, November 7, 2000 Polls Close: 7 PM MST (0200 UTC)
Candidates seeking office
Natural Law:2
Last modified
States Alphabetically    States Chronologically    Arizona Links
  President (short)    President (long)    Governors    Senate    House  

President  Electoral votes: 8, Term limit: No more than 2 4-year terms in a lifetime; Electors: How Appointed, Meeting Place, How they voted; Total Popular Vote: 1,532,016; List of States: Short, Long

 CandidateDemocrat685,341 44.73% Vice President Albert A. "Al" Gore, Jr.
 CandidateGreen 45,645 2.98% Ralph Nader
 CandidateLibertarian 5,775 0.38% L. Neil Smith
A number of Libertarian activists formed the "Ad Hoc Conspiracy to Draft L. Neil Smith"; collected petition signatures; and obtained ballot access for Mr. Smith. Mr. Smith's running mate is Vin Suprynowicz. Harry Browne's name will NOT appear on the Arizona ballot.
 CandidateNatural Law 1,120 0.07% John Hagelin
 CandidateReform 12,373 0.81% Pat Buchanan
 WinnerRepublican781,652 51.02% Governor George W. Bush
(8 Electoral Votes)
 Candidate"Write-In"110 0.01% Howard Phillips
Running under the banner of the Constitution Party

Governor  Term limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms, Current Governors  

 Republican  Jane Dee Hull
As Secretary of State, succeeded to the office upon the resignation of Governor Fife Symington (Republican): 5 September 1997; first elected to a full term: 1998
Chair up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002. (The current Governor is NOT affected by this state's term limit).

Senate  6-year term, Current Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 1Republican  Jon Kyl
First elected: 1994; re-elected 2000
Renominated - 12 September 2000 Primary
 CandidateGreen  Vance Hansen
 CandidateLibertarian  Barry J. Hess, 2d
 WinnerRepublican  Senator Jon Kyl
 CandidateDemocrat  Stuart Starky
 CandidateIndependent  William Toel

Class 3Republican  John McCain
First elected: 1986; re-elected: 1992, 1998
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 2, 2004.

House of Representatives  2 year term, Current House  
1 Democrat
5 Republicans

CD 1Republican  Matt Salmon
Open Seat. Not a candidate.
 CandidateLibertarian  Jon Burroughs
 WinnerRepublican  Jeff Flake
 CandidateDemocrat  David Mendoza

CD 2Democrat  Ed Pastor
Renominated - 12 September 2000 Primary
 CandidateRepublican  Bill Barenholtz
 WinnerDemocrat  Congressman Ed Pastor
 CandidateNatural Law  Barbara Shelor
 CandidateLibertarian  Geoffrey Weber

CD 3Republican  Bob Stump
Renominated - 12 September 2000 Primary
 CandidateLibertarian  Edward R. Carlson
 CandidateDemocrat  Gene Scharer
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Bob Stump

CD 4Republican  John Shadegg
Renominated - 12 September 2000 Primary
 CandidateLibertarian  Ernest Hancock
 CandidateDemocrat  Ben Jankowski
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman John Shadegg

CD 5Republican  Jim Kolbe
Renominated - 12 September 2000 Primary
 CandidateDemocrat  George Cunningham
 CandidateGreen  Michael J. Green
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Jim Kolbe
 CandidateLibertarian  Aage Nost

CD 6Republican  J.D. Hayworth
Renominated - 12 September 2000 Primary
 CandidateLibertarian  Richard Duncan
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman J.D. Hayworth
 CandidateDemocrat  Larry Nelson
CANDIDATES: Kevin B. Harris, Larry Nelson

Congressional District

Arizona has 6 congressional districts and 15 counties: 9 counties are wholly within a given congressional district and 6 counties are divided among more than one congressional district.

UNDIVIDED COUNTIES (wholly within a Congressional District):

  • CD 2: Santa Cruz and Yuma
  • CD 3: La Paz, Mohave and Yavapai
  • CD 5: Cochise
  • CD 6: Apache, Gila and Greenlee

DIVIDED COUNTIES (split between more than one Congressional District):

  • Coconino: CDs 3 and 6
  • Graham: CDs 5 and 6
  • Maricopa: CDs 1, 2, 3, 4 and 6
  • Navajo: CDs 3 and 6
  • Pima: CDs 2 and 5
  • Pinal: CDs 2, 5 and 6

CDs 1 and 4 are wholly within Maricopa County.