The Green Papers: Wyoming 2017 General Election
This page is for offices up for election in 2017. Find 2018 elections here.

Flag images courtesy of The World Flag Database. Copyright Wyoming
Elections for Statewide offices and Congress
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 1 and 2)
2010 Census:568,300 (0.18% of 309,785,186)
2012, 2016, 2020 Electoral Votes:3(0.56% of 538)
2012-2020 Representatives:1(0.23% of 435)

  Alabama    Alaska    American Samoa    Arizona    Arkansas    California    Colorado    Connecticut    Delaware    District of Columbia    Florida    Georgia    Guam    Hawaii    Idaho    Illinois    Indiana    Iowa    Kansas    Kentucky    Louisiana    Maine    Maryland    Massachusetts    Michigan    Minnesota    Mississippi    Missouri    Montana    Nebraska    Nevada    New Hampshire    New Jersey    New Mexico    New York    North Carolina    North Dakota    Northern Marianas    Ohio    Oklahoma    Oregon    Pennsylvania    Puerto Rico    Rhode Island    South Carolina    South Dakota    Tennessee    Texas    Utah    Vermont    Virgin Islands    Virginia    Washington    West Virginia    Wisconsin    Wyoming 

Wyoming State and Local Government

1 February 2013: The Wyoming Supreme Court rules that Term Limits for Secretary of State, Auditor, Treasurer, and Superintendent of Public Instruction are unconstitutional. The Court did not provide direction on term limits for Governor.


U.S. Senate  6 year term. No Term Limit. 115th Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 1 Republican Senator John A. Barrasso
Appointed: 22 June 2007 by Governor Dave Freudenthal; first elected in a special election: 4 November 2008; re-elected: 2012
Seat up for regular election: Tuesday 6 November 2018
 Candidate list (2)
  Candidate Democratic     former Teton County School Trustee Gary Trauner
FEC S8WY00189
  Candidate Republican     Senator John A. Barrasso
FEC S6WY00068; 30 Sep 17; Tot $2,974,222; Dsb $722,888

Class 2 Republican Senator Michael B. "Mike" Enzi
First elected: 1996; re-elected: 2002, 2008, 2014
Seat up for regular election: Tuesday 3 November 2020

Governor  4 year term, Election Cycle: 2014, 2018. Term Limit: No more than 2 4-year terms in any 4-term period. The Wyoming Supreme Court determined on 4 May 2004 that term limits require an amendment to the state constitution rather than, as they were, imposed by a 1992 ballot initiative. At the time, the ruling was not applied to statewide offices. Reference: CATHCART v. MEYER, 2004 WY 49, 88 P.3d 1050, Case Number: 04-32, 04-33, 04-34, Decided: 05/04/2004, All Governors

  Republican Governor Matt Mead
First elected: 2010; re-elected: 2014
Chair up for regular election: Tuesday 6 November 2018
The current Governor is unaffected by the State's term limit.
Open Chair - 7 February 2017: Will not run for re-election in 2018.
 Candidate list (3)
  Candidate Democratic     former state Representative Mary A. Throne
  Candidate Republican     Bill Dahlin
  Candidate Republican     Harriet M. Hageman

115th U.S. House of Representatives  2-year term. Election Cycle 2018, 2020. No Term Limit. 115th House
Partisan Composition (primary disposition):
1 Republican (1 Undetermined)

Incumbent - 115th Congress
At-Large Republican Congressman Elizabeth "Liz" Cheney
First elected: 2016
Seat up for regular election: Tuesday 6 November 2018
 Candidate list (1) - 116th Congress
  Candidate Republican     Congressman Elizabeth "Liz" Cheney
FEC H6WY00159; 30 Sep 17; Tot $363,520; Dsb $213,837

Secretary of State  4 year term, Election Cycle: 2014, 2018

  Republican Secretary of State Ed Murray
First elected: 2014
Seat up for regular election: Tuesday 6 November 2018

Treasurer  4 year term, Election Cycle: 2014, 2018

  Republican Treasurer Mark Gordon
Appointed: 1 November 2012 re: passing of Treasurer Joseph B. "Joe" Meyer (Republican); first elected: 2014
Seat up for regular election: Tuesday 6 November 2018

Auditor  4 year term, Election Cycle: 2014, 2018

  Republican Auditor Cynthia I. Cloud
First elected: 2010; re-elected: 2014
Seat up for regular election: Tuesday 6 November 2018

Superintendent of Public Instruction  4 year term, Election Cycle: 2014, 2018

  Republican Public Instruction Superintendent Jillian Balow
First elected: 2014
Seat up for regular election: Tuesday 6 November 2018

Political Parties    Parties appear in parenthesis and italics when a candidate receives the endorsement of a given Party and/or official sources indicate a candidate's association with a particular Party but only where the Party in question does not appear on the actual ballot as such.

Major Parties   Those parties which received electoral votes through winning a plurality of a state's [or the District of Columbia's] popular vote in any presidential election between 1984 and 2016. See Classification of Political parties.
  Democratic (affiliates): 2 candidates
  Republican: 8 incumbents, 4 candidates
Candidates running under the banner of more than one party are counted towards each party's total. A candidate who has lost a primary or is apparently no longer a candidate is not counted.


Candidates for office appear on this page in italics where 'The Green Papers' does not yet have independent confirmation from a legal election authority that the person has been officially certified to appear on the ballot.

Primary dates marked "presumably" and polling times marked "reportedly" are based on unofficial or estimated data (especially as regards local variations from a jurisdictionwide statutory and/or regulatory standard) and are, thereby, subject to change.

"FEC" indicates the Federal Election Commission (FEC) Campaign Finance Summary.

When available, we post each candidate's FEC identification number, the date of their most recently filed Report of Receipts and Disbursements, their "Tot" [Total Receipts (contributions received or what came in: FEC Form 3, Line 16, Column B)] and their "Dsb" [Total Disbursements (expenditures or what was spent: FEC Form 3, Line 23, Column B)]. A link is provided to the Federal Election Commission's Summary Report for those who might wish to explore the details.

If a candidate raises or spends $5,000 or less, he or she is not subject to FEC reporting requirements.


  2017 General Election Home  
  Gubernatorial Popular Vote by Party  
  Close Contests Summary - Decision by 2% or less  
  Contests Where No Candidate Received a Majority  
2017 Primaries and Runoffs for Statewide offices/Congress
  Alphabetically   --   Alphabetically with Filing Deadlines  
  Chronologically   --   Chronologically with Filing Deadlines  
  Poll Closing Times (with time zones)  
General Election Poll Closing Times (with time zones)
  Alphabetically   --   Chronologically  
Poll Closing Times (list)
  All Elections     Primary/Special Elections     General Elections  
  Governors     Senate     House  
  Senators by 'Class'  
  Governors by election 'cycle'  
  Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance   --   Senatorial Primaries at a Glance  
  Open Governor's Chairs, Senate and House Seats (the incumbent is not running for re-election)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with no incumbent running for them  
  Uncontested Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats (one candidate running for office)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with multiple incumbents running for them  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with only one major party candidate running for office  
  2017 Partisan Composition by State  
  Political Parties  
  Senate Electoral Classes  
  Comparative Political Party Predominance in each State, 2000 thru 2016  
  Political Party Floor Leaders in the Congress of the United States  
  Dates of DIRECT PRIMARY Elections re: Major Party Nominations for Statewide and/or Federal Office  
  Length of Terms of Office of STATE Governors throughout American History