The Green Papers: 2017 General Election

Copyright All-up chart of Governors by election 'cycle'

Governors, in all states except New Hampshire and Vermont, serve 4 year terms.
The Governors of New Hampshire and Vermont serve 2 year terms.

Regular Gubernatorial elections are held the first Tuesday following the first Monday in November in all states except Louisiana. Louisiana will hold a non-partisan primary on Saturday 19 October 2019 and, if no candidate receives 50% of the vote, a Saturday 16 November 2019 runoff.

Off Year Election
[next regular election:
Tuesday 7 November 2017]
[next regular election:
Tuesday 6 November 2018]
Off Year Election
[next regular election:
Tuesday 5 November 2019]
Presidential Election
[most recent election:
Tuesday 3 November 2020]
New Jersey: Christie (R)Alabama: Ivey (R)Kentucky: Bevin (R)Delaware: Carney (D)
Virginia: McAuliffe (D)Alaska: Walker (I)Louisiana: Edwards (D) (next election Saturday 26 October 2019)Indiana: Holcomb (R)
 Arizona: Ducey (R)Mississippi: Bryant (R)Missouri: Greitens (R)
 Arkansas: Hutchinson (R) Montana: Bullock (D)
 California: Brown (D) North Carolina: Cooper (D)
 Colorado: Hickenlooper (D) North Dakota: Burgum (R)
 Connecticut: Malloy (D) Utah: Herbert (R)
 Florida: Scott (R) Washington: Inslee (D)
 Georgia: Deal (R) West Virginia: Justice (R)
 Hawaii: Ige (D)  
 Idaho: Otter (R)  
 Illinois: Rauner (R)  
 Iowa: Reynolds (R)  
 Kansas: Brownback (R)  
 Maine: LePage (R)  
 Maryland: Hogan (R)  
 Massachusetts: Baker (R)  
 Michigan: Snyder (R)  
 Minnesota: Dayton (D)  
 Nebraska: Ricketts (R)  
 Nevada: Sandoval (R)  
 New Hampshire: Sununu (R)  
 New Mexico: Martinez (R)  
 New York: Cuomo (D)  
 Ohio: Kasich (R)  
 Oklahoma: Fallin (R)  
 Oregon: Brown (D)  
 Pennsylvania: Wolf (D)  
 Rhode Island: Raimondo (D)  
 South Carolina: McMaster (R)  
 South Dakota: Daugaard (R)  
 Tennessee: Haslam (R)  
 Texas: Abbott (R)  
 Vermont: Scott (R)  
 Wisconsin: Walker (R)  
 Wyoming: Mead (R)  
7 November 2017
1 Democratic (D)
1 Republican (R)
6 November 2018
9 Democratic (D)
1 Independent (I)
26 Republican (R)
5 November 2019
1 Democratic (D)
2 Republican (R)
3 November 2020
4 Democratic (D)
5 Republican (R)
Grand Total
15 Democratic (D)
1 Independent (I)
34 Republican (R)

  2017 General Election Home  
2017 Primaries and Runoffs for Statewide offices/Congress
  Alphabetically   --   Alphabetically with Filing Deadlines  
  Chronologically   --   Chronologically with Filing Deadlines  
  Poll Closing Times (with time zones)  
General Election Poll Closing Times (with time zones)
  Alphabetically   --   Chronologically  
Poll Closing Times (list)
  All Elections     Primary/Special Elections     General Elections  
  Governors     Senate     House  
  Senators by 'Class'  
  Governors by election 'cycle'  
  Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance   --   Senatorial Primaries at a Glance  
  Open Governor's Chairs, Senate and House Seats (the incumbent is not running for re-election)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with no incumbent running for them  
  Uncontested Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats (one candidate running for office)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with multiple incumbents running for them  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with only one major party candidate running for office  
  2017 Partisan Composition by State  
  Political Parties  
  Senate Electoral Classes  
  Comparative Political Party Predominance in each State, 2000 thru 2016  
  Political Party Floor Leaders in the Congress of the United States  
  Dates of DIRECT PRIMARY Elections re: Major Party Nominations for Statewide and/or Federal Office  
  Length of Terms of Office of STATE Governors throughout American History