Footnotes for the Sessions of the
29th Congress, 1845-1847

session type convened adjourned President pro Tempore
of the Senate
Speaker of the House
of Representatives
SpecialSENATE4 March 184520 March 1845none- - - -

This Special Session of the SENATE was called by outgoing President John Tyler via executive Proclamation issued on 8 January 1845; no President pro Tempore was elected by the Senate, as Vice President George M. Dallas presided over the entire session.

1stlong1 December 184510 August 1846Sevier, Ambrose H.
(Dem.- Arkansas)
Davis, John W.
(Dem.- Indiana)
2ndshort7 December 18463 March 1847Atchison, David Rice
(Dem.- Missouri)


"Regular" Sessions of Congress
"Regular" Sessions prior to the adoption of the 20th Amendment (1933)
"Regular" Sessions after the adoption of the 20th Amendment (1933)
"Extra" Sessions
"Special SENATE" Sessions

Related information:
Political Party Floor Leaders in the Congress of the United States
A Brief History of Congressional Leadership