Footnotes for the Sessions of the
112th Congress, 2011-2013

session type convened adjourned President pro Tempore
of the Senate
Speaker of the House
of Representatives
1stodd5 January 201130 December 2011InouyeBoehner, John
(Rep.-Ohio)

The U.S. House of Representatives (112th Congress, 1st session) met for about an hour at 11 AM EST (1600 GMT) on 3 January 2012 as a continuation of the 30 December 2011 Legislative Day; at precisely Noon EST (1700 GMT), 3 January 2012, the 2nd session of the 112th Congress began and the House continued its meeting (while, at the same time, gaveling into session a newly convened 2d session) while the U.S. Senate of that same 2nd session first convened.

2ndeven(ld)3 January 20122 January 2013Inouye;
Leahy, Patrick
(Dem.-Vermont)
Boehner

Senate President pro Tempore Daniel K. Inouye died on 17 December 2012; Senator Leahy was elected President pro Tempore by the Senate and sworn as such the next day.

 

   

"Regular" Sessions of Congress
"Regular" Sessions prior to the adoption of the 20th Amendment (1933)
"Regular" Sessions after the adoption of the 20th Amendment (1933)
"Extra" Sessions
"Special SENATE" Sessions

Related information:
Political Party Floor Leaders in the Congress of the United States
A Brief History of Congressional Leadership