Footnotes for the Sessions of the
111th Congress, 2009-2011

session type convened adjourned President pro Tempore
of the Senate
Speaker of the House
of Representatives
1stodd6 January 200924 December 2009ByrdPelosi
2deven(ld)5 January 201022 December 2010Byrd;
Inouye, Daniel K.

Senate President pro Tempore Robert C. Byrd died on 28 June 2010; Senator Inouye was elected President pro Tempore by the Senate the same day.



"Regular" Sessions of Congress
"Regular" Sessions prior to the adoption of the 20th Amendment (1933)
"Regular" Sessions after the adoption of the 20th Amendment (1933)
"Extra" Sessions
"Special SENATE" Sessions

Related information:
Political Party Floor Leaders in the Congress of the United States
A Brief History of Congressional Leadership