The Green Papers: Election 2000 
Republican PartyWest Virginia Republican
Primary: Tuesday, May 9, 2000
Popular VoteDelegate Votes
Floor VoteHard Total
Bush, George W.  87,050  80%   18.  100%   18.  100%
McCain, John  14,121  13%            
Keyes, Alan  5,210   5%            
Forbes, Steve  1,733   2%            
Bauer, Gary  1,290   1%            
Total  109,404 100%   18.  100%   18.  100%
Voter Eligibility: Modified Open Primary, Polls Close at 7:30 PM EDT (2330 UTC)
Delegate Selection: Loophole Primary

18 total delegates - 6 base at-large / 9 re: 3 congressional districts / 3 bonus

Last modified Tuesday, December 26, 2000
States Chronologically    States Alphabetically    Republican Convention    West Virginia Democrat    West Virginia Links

The Popular Vote above is based on official returns from the 9 May Primary. This Presidential Primary coincides with a state/local primary. These coinciding primaries tend to have an impact upon voter turnout.

Delegates are directly elected in the West Virginia Republican Primary. Both the delegate's name and Presidential Preference are marked on the ballot. Here are the unofficial congressional district and at-large results:

CD 133 
CD 233 
CD 333 

Tuesday 9 May 2000: all of West Virginia's 18 delegates to the Republican National Convention will be directly elected in the West Virginia Presidential Primary, in which delegates are directly elected and listed on the ballot as individuals. This is a "Loophole" type primary in which there is also a presidential preference vote atop the ballot: a so-called "beauty contest", the results of which have no effect on the allocation of National Convention delegates.

  • "Each of the State's 3 congressional districts is assigned 3 National Convention delegates: a total of 9 district delegates to be directly elected by the voters and individually listed on the ballot with their presidential preferences indicated. In addition, 9 at-large delegates are to be elected directly and individually listed on the ballot with their presidential preferences indicated. Thus, each voter chooses 12 National Convention delegates (the 3 from his or her district plus the 9 at-large delegates)."

West Virginia has 55 counties and 3 congressional districts: all 55 counties are wholly within a given congressional district and no county is divided among more than one congressional district.

  • CD 1: Barbour, Brooke, Doddridge, Grant, Hancock, Harrison, Marion, Marshall, Mineral, Monongalia, Ohio, Pleasants, Preston, Ritchie, Taylor, Tucker, Tyler, Wetzel and Wood.
  • CD 2: Berkeley, Braxton, Calhoun, Clay, Gilmer, Hampshire, Hardy, Jackson, Jefferson, Kanawha, Lewis, Mason, Morgan, Nicholas, Pendleton, Putnam, Randolph, Roane, Upshur and Wirt.
  • CD 3: Boone, Cabell, Fayette, Greenbrier, Lincoln, Logan, McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Monroe, Pocahontas, Raleigh, Summers, Wayne, Webster and Wyoming.

© Copyright 2000
Richard E. Berg-Andersson, Research and Commentary, E-Mail:
Tony Roza, Webmaster, E-Mail: