The Green Papers: Election 2000 
Democratic PartyUtah Democrat
Primary: Friday, March 10, 2000
Popular VoteDelegate Votes
Floor VoteHard Total
Gore, Al  12,527  80%   29.  100%   21.   72%
Bradley, Bill  3,160  20%          3.   10%
Uncommitted                 5.   17%
Total  15,687 100%   29.  100%   29.  100%
Voter Eligibility: Open Primary (party and unaffiliated), Polls Close at 8 PM MST (0300 UTC)
Delegate Selection: Proportional Primary

29 total delegate votes - 16 district / 5 at-large; 3 Pledged PLEOs; 4 Unpledged PLEOs; 1 Unpledged add-on

Last modified Tuesday, December 26, 2000
States Chronologically    States Alphabetically    Democrat Convention    Utah Republican    Utah Links

19 March 2000: Unpledged delegate preference update: Gore 4, Bradley 0. Unpledged delegates appear in the "Soft Unpledged" field.

The Popular Vote above is based on official returns from the 10 March Primary. While this is an Open Primary, the Utah Democratic party has restricted their primary to party members and unaffiliated voters. Voters who are not registered with a political party are considered unaffiliated. Party registration in Utah is optional.

Here's how we compute the delegate count:

  1. A candidate must receive 15% or more of the total popular vote to qualify for delegates. Discard those votes cast for candidates who do not qualify.
  2. Allocate Congressional District delegates from the qualified vote in each district. Allocate Pledged PLEO and At-Large delegates using the statewide qualified vote. Bill Bradley, having withdrawn from the campaign, is not entitled to receive At-Large and PLEO delegates.
  3. In each jurisdiction:
    1. Total qualified vote = total votes cast for the qualifying candidates in the jurisdiction.
    2. Allocation = (delegates for the jurisdiction) × (candidate's popular vote) ÷ (total qualified vote).
    3. Assign each candidate the WHOLE NUMBER of delegates.
    4. If delegates remain, allocate each of the remaining delegates to those candidates with the LARGEST REMAINDERS.

Delegates 24  21  3

Friday 10 March 2000: 24 of 29 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders based on the results of the voting in today's Utah Presidential Primary.

  • "16 district delegates are to be allocated proportionally to presidential contenders based on the primary results in each of the State's 3 congressional districts. In addition, 5 at-large National Convention delegates plus 3 Pledged PLEOs are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary vote statewide. A mandatory 15 percent threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates at either the congressional district or statewide level."

The remaining 5 National Convention delegates consist of 4 Unpledged PLEOs and 1 Unpledged "add-on"; these 5 delegates will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

The breakdown of unpledged delegates is:

  • 4 Democratic National Committee members
  • 1 add-on

Utah has 29 counties and 3 congressional districts: 28 of the counties are undivided (those wholly within a given congressional district) while only 1 is divided (split between more than one congressional district).

UNDIVIDED COUNTIES: (wholly within one Congressional District)

  • CD # 1: Beaver, Box Elder, Cache, Davis, Iron, Juab, Millard, Rich, Tooele, Washington and Weber.
  • CD # 3: Carbon, Daggett, Duchesne, Emery, Garfield, Grand, Kane, Morgan, Piute, San Juan, Sanpete, Sevier, Summit, Uintah, Utah, Wasatch and Wayne.


  • Salt Lake County is divided among all 3 of Utah's Congressional Districts;

CD # 2 is wholly within Salt Lake County.

© Copyright 2000
Richard E. Berg-Andersson, Research and Commentary, E-Mail:
Tony Roza, Webmaster, E-Mail: